We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”
Review of Ocean Buffet

Ocean Buffet
Ranked #46 of 56 Restaurants in Brooklyn Park
Description: Best asian buffet in the Twin Cities
Restaurant details
Description: Best asian buffet in the Twin Cities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm never ever going back again because of the bad service we received today!! There was a bad waitress who hoovered over my husband while he signed the receipt and saw that my husband did not put a tip on it and snap at my husband in bad English something about we need to add a tip because one was not applied. That's kind of obnoxious. We usually tip with cash so I thought it was rude and unprofessional for her to be asking for a tip on the receipt. Plus it's a buffet, some people tip and some don't especially when service was not even good. It wasn't like she did a whole lot anyway. She filled one person's water twice and cleared a few plates. I mean it was a pretty slow day and we did not even eat a lot because the food wasn't that great. Despite the rude experience, we still left a tip. Never going back and advising all my friends and family to not go as well. You can't do that. Not cool!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food cold”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

due to very cold weather, crowd down, food sat long time, not even hot, but cold....

$6.45 buffet with coupon, charged $7.25, seems excessive?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spalmberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is by far the worst buffet in Minnesota! !”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

All the food was gross.all the pans were empty.total waste of money.I complained to server and her response was come during dinner.Soon as I left me and my wife had stomach pains.Would never eat there again!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank minnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

While staying in Brooklyn Center, I passed by this restaurant. After shopping, I stopped and asked if I could take a look at the buffet before I committed. It has a really large selection of food: your typical Chinese buffet classics--chow mein, sweet and sour something, veggies, blah blah blah...but what really got me hooked was the selection of dim sum items they had, the Pho station for anyone who likes Vietnamese food, and the sushi station. (not just your typical California roll and shrimp on rice) they had plenty of different selections to choose from. Now, in all fairness, some of the fish they used did look questionable so I did not try them all, but I did have the inari with masago (tofu skin with rice and smelt eggs) which was really good, and shrimp tempura roll that wasn't dried out and hard like many places. There were plenty of salads, fresh fruits and desserts as well and I was stuffed by the end of the meal. I really enjoyed this place and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hbgirl-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Minnesota
Level Contributor
226 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious and Affordable”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ate at Ocean Buffet with business associates. There is a wide selection of authentic (like chicken feet) and Americanized Chinese foods. They have 6 separate buffet tables; one for salads and a wide variety of fruits, two for really authentic stuff and three for stuff like coconut shrimp (very good), sweet and sour chicken, rice, spare ribs, and wontons. Overall I was impressed by the selection and affordability of the buffet meal. We fed five people for $40. I'm lucky this place is so close to work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Knutey1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Buffet also viewed

 
Brooklyn Park, MN
Brooklyn Park, MN
 

Been to Ocean Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing