We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently stayed at Old Bahama Bay this past and felt that I had to write a letter thanking them for such an incredible stay. From the moment we were picked up at the airport by Kale Penn we instantly felt like we were going to have a wonderful weekend. He was so knowledgeable about everything, including Bahamian history and he really made the ride to the resort enjoyable.

Upon our arrival to the resort it just continued to get better and better. The front desk staff was very friendly and our bags were taken to our room for us as we walked through the resort. The room was so much more then what we expected, so clean and felt like home. The view however, and being able to literally just walk out onto the sand was just spectacular! I would also like to recognize Jerome Go. I emailed him a few times prior to our arrival and he was so helpful, he even arranged a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries at my request upon our arrival in the room. We truly felt welcome and relaxed as soon as we arrived.

The activities director Harold is just amazing. We went to him to see about possibly fishing during our stay. He recommended someone, Gupper (or showtime as we referred to him) and we booked for the next day. Showtime was fantastic! He took us on a little adventure and we were even able to catch our lunch for the day, he taught us how to clean our catch and Harold had the resort cook up our lunch that we caught. Such a great and unique experience!

The restaurant and bar staff were also extremely friendly and professional, the music on Friday evening, the beautiful sunsets at dinner, walking around the resort and admiring all of the incredible boats, and most of all the friendliness of not only the resort staff but of other guests as well. All of these things contributed to one of the best and most relaxing vacations I've ever been on.

We were referred by a good friend to stay at Old bahama bay, and we will most definitely be back. Thank you for such a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjax55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments. We will certainly share your review with the team, especially Harold, Jerome and Showtime! We do our best to provide a relaxing and tranquil experience, with just a little bit of spice – sounds like we were able to accomplish that for your vacation – yeah! We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    108
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
110
131
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Want serenity & hospitality? This is the place for you! Old Bahama Bay is a unique, charming & friendly Bahamian establishment.

My friends and I day tripped to Old Bahama Bay, after calling and ascertaining this was acceptable. After taking a town taxi (!) for the 40 minute ride ($5 each) from Freeport, we were warmly greeted by the hospitable staff. Beach boys set up umbrellas over comfy lounge chairs for us, the restaurant manager was friendly and informative, and we were given carte blanche to the pool, beach, kayaking and paddle boarding amenities.

Of course, we spent some $$$ having Pina Coladas, Margaritas, and a genuine Bahamian lunch at the outdoor restaurant. Deee-lish!

Snorkeling was outstanding, and the only fish we didn't see were sharks and eels, thank goodness. We did see snapper of all kinds, grouper, rays; you name it- we saw it.

We also saw, I think, either West Palm Beach or Ft. Lauderdale on the beautifully blue, clear day. Nobody could tell us for sure, but they were happy about whatever we wanted to believe. Super terrific place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireE424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. It sounds like you had a terrific day at the resort and we hope that on a future visit you are able to stay with us, and can enjoy Old Bahama Bay for more than a day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is my first time actually taking the time to review a hotel. We stayed over the 4th of July week and had an absolute blast for 3 days! We stayed at another hotel on the island first and I am so glad we decided to change it up. We rented a car and it took about 30 minutes. Well worth it! We definitely felt a little out of place as we didn't arrive by boat; but that quickly changed. The people and staff are so nice and laid back. Harold was wonderful to us by arranging a fishing charter one day and coordinating all of the activities. I truly wish we were there all week. The activities were perfect for our family. Hobie Cat, paddle boards, kayaking, snorkeling, tiki bar on the beach... it was truly paradise. Our kids are 6 and 8 and we felt safe to let them roam freely up and down the protected beach while we were on kayaks and paddle boards. Very nice place and we look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: We stayed on the beach which was beautiful but if money is a factor you will not lose out with a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so much for not only your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay but also for taking the time to write your first review! I know our TripAdvisor readers will appreciate hearing about how safe and wonderful Old Bahama Bay is for kids and families. We will pass your kind review onto the staff, especially Harold. We are looking forward to your next visit already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I travel the out islands of the Bahamas by boat quite often and when it come to lodging I don't expect too much, normally I'm happy with semi clean sheets and some dripping brackish water from the shower, but not here at Old Bahama Bay, it's first class. we used to come through West End back in the days when this area was the Jack Tar Hotel and when if went into demise we changed our routing, but I am glad we decided to come check it out this time. When I noticed it was now part of the Guy Harvey Outposts I knew we needed to stop. We planned to just spend a night but extended it to 3 nights after we got here, my wife and kids did not want to leave.

The service was not the typical "Bahamas time" service either, the desk and marina people where soo friendly helpful, the marina crew quickly shagged the bags from the boat to the room, brought ice to the boat without delay and came around each evening to refill the coolers with ice. I have never had such good marina service anywhere.

The atmosphere was tremendous too, there was impromtu dock parties each night and we made several friends just on the dock.

The restaurant was good but the beach grill for breakfast was 5 STAR, open tto and right on the most beautiful beach.

Now if you are looking for stuff to do, you need a boat, I can't say what there is to do since we came by boat but we went out fishing, diving and spearfishing and the surrounding waters are spectacular. The spearfishing for lion fish was a ton of fun too. We hooked up on marlin and dorado each day.

I would say this is an oasis out there that is real, I had to pinch myself to make sure this was not a dream.

I made reservtions with the Guy Harvey Outpost, http://www.guyharveyoutpost.com/destinations/bahamas/west-end-grand-bahama-island.html
and they helped me make sure everything was perfect, and it was, my rooms were perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments. We will certainly share your review with the team. Old Bahama Bay is a Guy Harvey Expedition Property, not a full Outpost managed property, but we do enjoy our affiliation with such a great company. We can’t wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We always enjoy our time at Old Bahama Bay. The people who work there could not be nicer! They are so helpful. We loved the new bicycles that are now available. The nice, thick towels provided by the pool were also special. The grounds are very well maintained and for boaters, clearing customs there is very convenient. Some boaters make this a quick stop before moving on to another destination---they should make Old Bahama Bay their destination!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen__47__67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We've stayed at Old Bahama Bay Marina several times over the last 4 years. It's always a pleasant place to stay! The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. The gentle waves at the beach were perfect for ours guest's 4 year old. Beautiful pool and well kept facilities. Priced very similar to Florida. Just sorry we were running late with our crossing and missed the "bread lady" selling her fresh, hot bread on the docks. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlancheZBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Old Bahama Bay is my favorite spot in the Bahamas - gorgeous rooms within 20 feet of the beach, quiet and relaxing. The best part of the resort is the people they have working there - Harold is so helpful, so friendly, always there to help us plan anything we need. Angie and all of the bar staff are so great, friendly and relaxed. I love buying shells from Ann! My husband fishes with Tommy when we go, always gets put on great bone fish. The front desk staff always helps us get a great room, making us feel very welcome. They couldn't be better. With new bikes, kayaks and stand up paddle boards free to use, we never ran out of things to do. Just keep in mind it is very remote, so no casinos or any night life (thankfully!). We go into the village usually every night for fresh seafood and cheap dinner prices - Coffees, Chicken Nest and Ellas to name a few of the great local restaurants Don't be intimidated - everyone is welcoming and extremely friendly, so go out a few times and meet the locals! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennandchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for choosing Old Bahama Bay for your vacation and for noticing all the fun new activities we have to offer. And I am sure future guests will appreciate your tips on where to go in the village. Our team really appreciates receiving your kind feedback. If you have not already done so, please sign up for our newsletter on our website which provides terrific offers for future getaways. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
24.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Property: Old Bahama Bay
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing