We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

superb location, just in front of the beach, but extremely overpriced. Very poor internet connection. Nice room, but smelling bad. Dirty dust under the bed (found one dead bug) even though the room cleaned every day. Very poor food quality at restaurant, though expensive.
Charged 140-dollar bill at restaurant, though we spent 54. 20 minutes to solve the problem at check out and no excuses.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aleb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest, we would like to assure you that your feedback has been very carefully noted, and would like to thank you for bringing these details to our attention. Management has covered and discussed and a proper action plan to rectify these issues has been executed. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the beach. We highly value the opinions and comments provided by guests and continuously strive to provide an exceptional quality holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Excellent customer service at the docks and in the office. Line handlers were waiting to tie off our vessel as we arrived. Shower facilities were exceptionally clean and well maintained. We were offered an overnite special of $1.50 a ft which was even more advantageous than the Royal Marsh Harbour membership discount.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay and we will pass your compliments on the marina team. We hope on your next visit we can welcome you in one of our suites, you will love those too! We look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Old Bahama Bay is a beautiful resort situated on the furthest tip of Grand Bahama Island, about 45 minutes from the Freeport airport. We travelled with another couple, and stayed 4 nights at the end of November. The staff and the “look” of the resort (rooms, beach, etc.) are its strength. The broken sports equipment and limited dining options are its weakness.
What we liked:
1) The staff was very friendly, responsive and corrected problems we encountered in room maintenance (e.g. light fixtures broken) and accommodated other requests (e.g. more towels and coffee needed in the room, soap for the dishwasher, fishing hooks and lines) in a timely manner.
2) The rooms are bright, well situated, and clean; it was particularly nice to be on the first (main) floor and have good access to the beach. The patios / verandas are comfortable, with lounge chairs and settees. The resort’s beach is long and clean, with hammocks and beach chairs available. There are lots of interesting fish to look at right in the marina: little sharks, puffer fish, gar, etc.
3) The Tiki Bar serves wonderful breakfasts, especially the Coconut French Toast. The Dock Side Bar and Grille / dinner options are adequate but we found the quality a bit inconsistent and some items listed on the menu were not always available.
What we did not like:
1) The resort is *not* maintaining its sports equipment. The sail boat (there is only *one*) was broken; the availability of hobie cats was advertised on one of the resort’s booking sites (Luxury Link) and we had been looking forward to this. The fishing rods were *all* broken. The staff did procure some fishing hooks and lines for us, but without rods and reels, we were unable to do much more than bait the hooks and feed the fish. The resort is quite remote, so there is no opportunity to seek out these activities elsewhere nearby.

2) The nearest town (Freeport) is 45 minutes away (and costs $ 150.00 round trip by taxi); Freeport offers the only other dining options, other than the resort Dock Side Bar and Grille.

Room Tip: We were two couples and stayed in an oceanfront 2-bedroom suite for $ 500.00/night. It was disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We will certainly pass your comments onto the staff. We do apologize that the sail boat was not working, but please be assured is has since been repaired, and we are looking into purchasing a second one for just this reason. We have 6 fishing rods so there was no reason to not have working one at the activity desk, and we will address the issue immediately. We would very much like you to know that we take our guest feedback very seriously and your review has been passed to senior management in that we may be able to continue to improve. While the resort does not operate the restaurants on site, we will share your comments with their management, as we want to ensure our guests receive exceptional service for every aspect of their stay. We certainly do hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I can't say enough about the staff. We stayed on site at a private home and had all the amenitys of the resort available to us. We stayed for a week and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff did everything they could to make our vacation perfect. Harold the activities director was delightful, accomadiating, friendly and we loved him! Kale showed us the island and I highly recommend him instead of renting a car, our experience was diffenitely enhanced because of his knowledge of the island and its happenings. The resort was clean, food great and we'll absolutely go back!

Stefanie Lagana

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This resort is on one of the most beautiful beaches with unobstructed views. The resort has a nice pool area, a fitness center and a activities center that can arrange for quite a number of things to do. Kayaks and bicycles are available for guests to enjoy. The spacious rooms are very inviting and the views are really nice too. If you want to relax this is the place to go. Take a good book and enjoy the fantastic views and wander through the lovely garden walks around the resort. Another thing we like about the resort its intimate size. Because of this you end up getting to know some of the other guests and you also get to know the staff on a first name basis. And if you love to eat fresh fish you will never find better fish anywhere. The restaurants do a great job and Chef Jessie is amazing with the many ways she prepares fish. A visit to this resort should be on your bucket list.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar and have a ocean view. They have two stories so we prefer the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussytraveler440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation at Old Bahama Bay. Sounds like you made the most out of everything that the resort has to offer, particularly the relaxation part, as we do strive to provide tranquil and relaxing getaways. We will pass your compliments onto Jessie as well. . Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I bought a vacation package for this property through LivingSocial. It was a gift to my cousin who just passed the Bar.

We went in late August, which is most people know is a terrible time to go to the Bahamas as it's in the middle of hurricane season. Or you run the risk of this weather being unbearably hot and humid.

We arrived late on Sunday evening and the hotel sent a van to pick us up for a charge. The airport is about a 40 minute drive from the property. Driver was very friendly and informative as we drove through the island in the dark, even though we were able to really see much he was able to point out some landmarks for us. This Island is very impoverished and there's not much to see...we were a little bit nervous actually. But once we entered the property we realized we were in a really lovely place.

You can see from the pictures this is not a traditional hotel with multiple rooms. It is actually several "houses" , each of which contains somewhere between 4 to 8 rooms. We had a junior oceanfront suite. It came with two queen size beds and a wet bar, with microwave and mini fridge. I had some friends stay there and they had a full kitchen in their room, not sure with the difference there is, but I didnt need a full kitchen.

We woke up Monday morning to a beautiful sunny day in the Bahamas. We walked right out of our room onto the beach, then 50 feet from the pool and tiki bar where they serve breakfast and lunch. I am from the south, so I love grits. We were so happy to see them on the menu we ordered them with eggs, so we felt like we were having a southern breakfast! Lunch there was also excellent...they really know how to prepare conch better than any place I've ever had. We had dinner over in the main dining room, with excellent fresh grouper one night, fresh flounder another night. Very good food. Great service.

The weather topped out at 82° and sunny with no humidity that day. We borrowed snorkels from the very friendly activity staff and went snorkeling right off of the beach. All within 50 feet of our room. We were able to get many conch shells, sea biscuits, Sandollar's etc. The pool is very large and well-kept. We spent aggregate of two hours in it.

That is representative of the four days that we spent there. Very low-key, not much of a nightlife, but that's not what we were looking for. We just wanted to relax. We both have very high-pressure jobs.

This location is also very popular among boaters. They would Dock their boats at the large marina by the main dining room and come in for dinner or lunch.

We did note that they were probably only 15 or 20 guests total of the property during our stay. This contributed to the availability of the lounge chairs set up on the beach with umbrellas for us, and maybe the staff attentiveness. We calculated if the resort was completely full there would not be enough lounge chairs for everybody on the beach.

Overall this was a wonderful experience, thanks to the staff and also mother nature for giving us a whole four days of beautiful weather when every other year it's been unbearably hot/humid.

One piece of advice, bring your bug spray and Benadryl anti-itch cream. There are sand fleas everywhere. So make sure you spray your ankles and your legs and your limbs before you leave your room!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask For oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We appreciate receiving your kind review. It sounds like you had a terrific and relaxing holiday. As you noted, some of our suites have mini kitchens and some have full kitchens – there is no difference in the rates between the two types. Any guest just need request what room type they would like when making reservations, otherwise reservations will just place each guest in best room available. We will pass along your compliments to the staff and we certainly hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I wanted a few days to relax, be pampered and enjoy each other. At Old Bahama Bay, we did this and so much more! The property us beautiful, the people that work there are wonderful (very professional with a personal twist) you feel like you have known them all your life.
The resort has gorgeous beaches, a huge dock for any size boat/yacht and the rooms are suites- it makes you feel like you are royalty! The food was delicious...
We enjoyed our stay so much, we were sad when it was time to leave.. We have stayed at Old Bahama Bay twice and we are planning our third trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will share this with all of staff as well. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
24.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
247 reviews
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,002 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range: £195 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing