We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax Here; Enjoy Bahamas Hospitality”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relax Here; Enjoy Bahamas Hospitality”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is in fact part of a small resort consisting of a marina that power boats can reach easily from the U.S. coast in half a day or less, a small hotel with informal restaurant at night, villas (mostly 4 units per building), a pool, beachside lunch and bar spot, and plenty of sandy beach. It's a nice spot to bring kids -- without the commercialism of Atlantis. The water is turquoise and enticingly warm (and shallow a lot of the time for small tots). One can feel all the stress of busy life slipping off one's shoulders. It's a great introduction to laid-back Bahamas.

It could use more management of maintenance issues, but nothing happens fast in the Bahamas, so chill! Food is expensive in the Bahamas because almost everything is imported from the U.S., so it's important to understand the limitations that go with that. (Same goes for iffy WiFi service.) Nevertheless, the Bahamas are a great destination for people who want to unwind.

Room Tip: Most of the villas face the pool and beach so it's hard to get a room without a view. Neverthele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sippiwisett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We truly appreciate your kind review. You summarized our small resort just perfectly, and captured our more laid back, island way of life! We certainly hope you will return the next time you need the stress to slip off your shoulders!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    108
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
110
131
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

visited this hotel resort in march 2014 great location but has no atmosphere basic lunch on the beach which is beautiful but the place was dead if you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay. You are correct that we do strive to provide more tranquil and relaxing getaways, while still offering great service and lots of activities such as paddleboarding, kayaking, snorkeling….We are sorry that we are not the right resort for you, but we do hope you will return to the Bahamas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Pros: It's not a mega hotel with high rise buildings but instead a very quaint grouping of "large bungalows" each with 6 apartments (3 ground level and 3 on second floor). All units face the ocean & pool and have a nice porch (accessed by sliding doors) outfitted with comfortable chairs/cocktail tables. All units are convenient, very close to pool, beach, and beachside cafe ("Teasers"). I imagine upstairs rooms have a slightly better view (we had ground level). Rooms are spacious, pretty clean (as with most hotels, furniture is never dusted and tile floors are not particularly mopped clean); well appointed with a safe, good sized closet, drawers for clothes storage,working air conditioning, ceiling fan, small kitchenette, nice size TV (which we did not use but it's there) desk & 2 chairs, sofa bed (good for families). Bed is comfortable enough (with feather comforter; sheets aren't fabulous but good enough). Housekeeping promptly brings extra blankets, pillows as needed. Bathroom is large, has hair dryer, jetted tub, plenty of towels. Our shower had a significant ceiling leak from upstairs but we didn't really care and weren't up to placing a request for repair--just used tub instead. The bathroom offers good storage and the commode in a separate little room or privacy. Two bath robes were also provided along with some toiletries which were replenished daily. The kitchen has a full size fridge, cooktop, microwave, sink, coffee pot-we even made use of a toaster which staff promptly delivered upon request. A daily allowance of regular and decaf coffee pods are left in the room along with tea bags, non dairy creamer and sweeteners: so if you need coffee first thing before emerging, it's there to be made.Outside: lovely, well kept grounds; flowering plants, nice green space, palm trees.Two-tier pool is kept very clean; I don't think it's heated and it was a bit chillier than the ocean but felt wonderful. The staff is outstanding all around-lovely people responding to whatever guests need; very pleasant. The beach is very nice (not huge but good size); it's in a sort of protected bay so very calm and safe. There is one sailboat, several water boards, several sea kayaks, a volleyball net, a dozen bikes, a ping pong table, all available for complimentary use by guests; a little "activities hut" has snorkeling stuff if you don't have your own and even board games. They are supposed to have fishing equipment but did not have any when we asked ("coming next week").

The activities hut staff arranges local folks at the drop of a hat for fishing, snorkeling excursions (private services) but those are not inexpensive…examples: $150 for one snorkeling location and an island walk for 2; $350 for 3-4 hours of native fishing; $400 for 2 hours of bone fishing; $75 for driver to Port Lucaya or Freeport; add tips on those and it gets expensive really quick I suppose you can negotiate a cash payment with the locals instead of having the hotel bill you which would save something. The resort has a lovely old Bahama feel, like the name says, as opposed to a big hotel with hundreds of people-that, plus the really nice folks and the truly lovely beach are attractive. Think gray/blue heron, white egrets, few gulls, breezes, palm trees-, fantastic sun rises and sun sets---very bucolic.
The Marina on site at the resort, accommodates larger boats/yachts and appears well equipped.

Some cons o consider: The location is far from everything so a one way trip to Lucaya shopping or Freeport is $75 plus tip-same for your trip to/ from airport. So you need a car or you pay a driver each time you want to leave the resort.
There is no reef snorkeling from the beach--the water is gorgeous, low, warm-marine life is small fish, crabs, manta rays, star fish, conch--things that live and feed on sea grasses and plankton, low water…but no reef. So I would say the snorkeling is ok and very safe for novices and children but if you want more interesting and more serious snorkeling, you need a ride to get there (boat or car or driver).
The beachside eatery (Teasers) serves a fine breakfast; unfortunately coffee never seems hot (always tepid) and the OJ is artificial tasting (too bad not fresh squeezed) but other than that the breakfast food is really pretty good and the coconut french toast seems to be a great signature dish. Nice selection for breakfast, and as always, friendly staff.
Lunch and dinner are fundamentally poor, as most other reviews have said. It's fine for a couple of days/nights but at this level of a resort, if you are a guest staying a week or more, it really gets tiring-the "soup of the day" is non existent, the same "island catch" is there every day: mahi or snapper; the side dishes of mixed vegetable, mashed potatoes, rice, or plantains remained the same for 7 days and same side dishes are served with every main; a salad called the TIKI salad at Teasers is called something else on the Marina's dinner menu but is served as the exact same salad; forget looking for a vegetarian or healthier option,,,,just not enough selection and sadly, mediocre cooking. I really don't understand why the management continues saying that the dissatisfaction will be passed on to the third party running the 2 restaurants, but the everything remains status quo!
Teasers, we were told opened at 6:30 am but actually opened at 8 am, and closed at 5 pm; the Marina dinner restaurant ( the only dinner option) opens at 5 and serves basically the same menu. Wine is poor quality, and you choose from 3 low grade reds and maybe 2-3 whites; one scotch--worse than the food.

Our biggest disappointment was realizing that the place really caters to boaters more than to vacationers. I think it's a Marina first, which happens to have beautiful beach front vacation units on its property.The one and only dinner restaurant is in fact at the Marina. With the arrival of larger boating groups, arrived also some drunken stupor, loud harsh behavior, a dog roaming the restaurant….the elegant old bahama bay resort became a zoo. Let me just say this-on our last night (Saturday) the room next to us consisted of literally a hoard of screaming drunks, slamming doors, banging off the walls until 5am. I thought for sure someone would end up jumping from a balcony or breaking a leg. An absolute animal house...Um….kind of ruins the "bucolic old Bahama" feel. Thankfully we were departing the next day, but if this had been the case all week, we would have left.

Recommendations: pick up bottled water, snacks, fruit, whatever you want to stock your kitchen with, on your way from the airport-drivers are perfectly willing to stop at a market for you.
Take a room upstairs so you don't have to hear people walking above your heads.
If you have kids, stock up on food in your kitchenette…the menu(s) are very limited for children.
Go when occupation is low-and it's fantastic.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room to be had…upstairs may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review – this is very useful for us and for future guests. Please know that we JUST had a change in management in the Dockside Grille and are serving a brand new, much expanded menu. We do apologize if some of our marina guests were too rowdy. Being that we are a more upscale and boutique resort, we normally attract more family oriented boaters. We do hope you come back very soon and you can let us know what you think of the new Dockside Grille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Accommodation 4**** - Rooms are nice and spacious. We had one with a porch. Though rooms are cleaned every day there is dust and dirt on the floor and under the bed. We told them to clean the room more thoroughly but nothing happened. Every day black feet.

Food 3*** - We found the choice of dishes very limited. No cappuccino available.

Recreation 4**** - Gym is ok. Treadmills were broken when we wanted to use them.

Location 5***** - Beautiful beach and remote setting. If you like to be away from all the beach and club noise - this is the place to be. Please bear in mind that this resort is at the end of the island and it is a long way to get to Freeport or to other beaches like f. e. Lucaya.

Overall opinion: We liked it here but the resort is too expensive for what you get. Dirty floors should not happen in such a good hotel (we told them but they did nothing). Recommendable if you like to be away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. Since your visit in April 2013, we have made many changes, including new restaurant management and a new Dockside Grille menu, and new oversight of the housekeeping staff. We very much you return to our peaceful resort and experience first hand the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived and had dinner that night it was awesome, the next night we had dinner again, found out new management had taken over the restaurant, new menu, higher prices and waited over 2 hours to get our food, but not before were advised they had run out of what we wanted an hour and a half into the wait.The wait staff was very nice, but defiantly expect the learning curve to be vertical for the new folks running the place.

The staff here are great Harold does a great job explaining activities and things to do, any issues with the rooms are dealt with promptly and super helpful to make sure that end of things are fantastic.

As I said above the restaurant where dinner is served has turned out to be a huge disappointment after things changed from the night before when we arrived.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYG4G5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for visiting Old Bahama Bay. We certainly hope you enjoyed your stay at the resort. You are correct; you visited during the changeover of management for the Dockside Grille. Although we do not manage the restaurant, we do work closely with the new team and they are very aware that they had some opening night jitters, like some of the new staff not coming to work! The prices, however, really have not changed for those menu items that remained the same. Hopefully you did enjoy the much larger menu and we do hope you will return now that the restaurant is fully staffed and all menu items are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We just returned from an extra long weekend at Old Bahama Bay and were extremely pleased with the beautiful setting and wonderful accomodations. The beds were one of the most comfortable we have slept in anywhere and the room was a nice size with a wonderful ocean front view and nicely appointed with a wonderful big comfortable balcony. The staff made it though, Harold the hotel ambassador not only helped us with all our inquiries and needs but set up the most wonderful in room/balcony massage for us which made our weekend. Tanya was an excellent massage therapist and we wish we could have brought her home with us. If you like a beautiful peaceful, tranquil resort then old bahama bay is for you. If back on Grand Bahama it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views but Ocean Front is right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for both your visit and for your kind review of Old Bahama Bay. We will certainly pas your compliments onto Harold and Tanya and the rest of the staff. It is their number one goal to make sure each guest has a relaxing and memorable holiday. We do hope you return to Grand Bahama and to Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I thought I would provide an update since my last review was somewhat scathing. We did not stay in rooms this time around, just stayed onboard our boats. I was there for 4 nights over the last two weeks, mainly for fishing, but we did use some of the amenities of the resort.

Progress has been slow, but there has definitely been some improvements on the property. The biggest improvement is the opening of the main restaurant once again. The food is mediocre and the service still as slow as you can imagine (I am used to Bahamian travel, but this is really, really slow). The bartender was extremely friendly and while somewhat slow, poured a pretty good drink and (except for the Rumrunners which were not even close to right). She made a spectacular Piña Colada with fudge and boiled sugar.

On two of the nights we chose to eat fresh caught fish so we cooked on the boat and purchased side dishes of vegetables and peas and rice. That turned out to be an excellent choice. It was not only a good value, but very well prepared.

The landscaping and premises have definitely improved from two years ago and the marina bathrooms are now a C+ instead of the F I gave them two years ago. We didn't bother checking out the gym this time around. The last experience left us not looking to chance wasting our limited time their.

One of the friendly dock office staff has been moved into the hotel office and showed great improvement in the staff in their. Perhaps we may be willing to give the rooms another chance one of these days.

It's still expensive, but they do offer travel deals. It's still limited on activities, but the location is fantastic. The pool was excellent and warm, despite cool weather which warmed up later.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you so much for giving Old Bahama Bay another visit and for recognizing the efforts that are being made across the resort. Please know that a new management company is taking over the Dockside Grille in March with the intention of improving both food quality and consistency as well as service. Our activities roster is expanding all the time and we now have a full time activities director, Harold, who hopefully you had the chance to meet. You are correct that we do offer special travel incentives whenever possible, so please do sign up for our newsletter if you have not already, so you can always be up to date on resort deals and events. We hope you will try the rooms again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
24.9 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
984 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Property: Old Bahama Bay
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing