We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We just completed out first stay at obb. Great location, we really enjoyed the grounds and the kayaks. I would recommend the stay if you want seclusion, staff is helpful. We took the tips and had a car set up by obb, which did not work, no one was there when we arrived. We grabbed our own and he was helpful, limpy jones(242-478-4214) great guy and very dependable. Be prepared the ride is 70.00 one way plus tip. We were very disappointed in the food service, after reading the blogs, which are spot on. Food is better at tiki hut but they close very early, food at marina is way pricy and service was poor. I strongly suggest obb take it over,they are reflecting poorly on your business, the "new management theory is not working", food and beverage is a very important part, and you are letting it hurt the business, could be a deciding factor in not returning. You should consider keeping tiki hut open as well, after dark drinks on the beach is not possible? What a missed opportunity, I hope you take action.
You do a good job with keeping the grounds up, even when we had an issue with our door lock, your service crew did a great job fixing it and was very professional.
Travelers-I strongly recommend that if you need a car service call Eric Darville at 242-477-8313 he has cheap rental cars and also a driving service. great guy and very helpful. Also call to pink pearl restaurant, they are ten minutes away and will send a car to obb for a small tip! very good food and outstanding service!

Room Tip: All have a great view from 2nd floor, ours 1102 has the closest beach view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the new Dockside Grille. You have raised some very valid suggestions, and please be assured we will take your recommendations into very serious consideration. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We do very much you will return to Old Bahama Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Old Bahama Bay for our honeymoon. What an amazing resort! The accommodations were outstanding and the staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. After reading the reviews regarding the restuarant Dockside we were very surprised that people were disappointed. We ate there 4 nights and had everything from blackened Mahi Mahi, to grilled pork chops, peas and rice to pizza and enjoyed them all! Our last night there we even had cracked lobster, which was divine and it wasn`t even on the menu.
We enjoyed all of the relaxation at the resort from the hammocks, the couples massage, and the view of the Atlantic Ocean! The water activities including kayaks, sailing, etc. were readily available for our use on the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

First, congratulations on your wedding and we are honored that you choose Old Bahama Bay for your honeymoon. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly pass your kind words onto the staff, especially in Dockside Grille. We hope you will join us for many anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We came here with my husband's sister and brother and his wife because my husband and his brother are divers and wanted to dive with the tiger sharks which they did with Stewart's Cove and had the time of their lives.
The hotel is far from everything so we did rent a car. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! The location is absolutely beautiful.
Unfortunately, we all were eaten alive by the sand fleas. The hotel does not bomb the beach or grounds like many tropical resort's do. The pool is not heated but the ocean water is warm. It would have been nice to be able to spend more time in the pool but it was just a little too cold!
The main restaurant is horrible, pricey, and slow. We quickly learned to order from pool side restaurant before they close the grill at 4:30. It still was not the best but a better choice than main restaurant.
We barbecued the last night by the picnic cues by the marina. In Lucaya there is a regular grocery store called Solomon's where we got the steaks. I wish we would have done that more.
I'd recommend staying here if you want beauty and seclusion but just be prepared to take the good and bad together.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your recent visit and for your kind words about the staff and the location. We are sorry to hear that you were not overjoyed with everything at the resort. We JUST had a change in management in the Dockside Grille and are serving a brand new, much expanded menu. We sincerely apologize if we have not worked out all the kinks in the new system yet. Thank you so much for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great people, great room, great weather. Only complaint was dinner service. We ordered dinner to go and ate on the beach the second night. Highly recommend the coconut pancakes and getting up early for the beautiful sunrise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. How wonderful you got up to witness the amazing sunrises we have here in West End. New management has just taken over at the Dockside Grill and we will certainly pass your comments along and work with them on improving the dinner service. We do hope we are able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The setting is nice and the grounds well kept.
We came by boat for our second visit in 3 months.
The prices are extremely high for dockage, electricity, fuel and water for a boat.
The food in the restaurant is terrible.
We have tried it 2 times with the same results.
Wife had the pork chops with were so over spiced she could hardly eat them.
My pizza was so soft, and flooded with cheese, the cheese almost fell off the limp dough.
There are no eating alternatives so i don't think management cares.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

First, thank you so much for you frequent visits to Old Bahama Bay over the last few months. Please know we do care very much about all aspects of our guests’ stays with us. We JUST had a change in management in the Dockside Grille and are serving a brand new, much expanded menu. We sincerely apologize if we have not worked out all the kinks in the new system yet (ps we have reduced the amount of cheese on the pizza already). We very much hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our final stop on a 5-month cruise of the Bahamas. We visited islands as far south as Crooked Island, Exumas, Eleuthera and the Abacos. What a great way to end our cruise. We were late arriving at the marina but the marina manager waited for us after closing time to help with lines and welcome us to West End. This resort is well-kept and the entire staff did everything possible to make our stay a most pleasant experience. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are so glad to hear that your five month journey ended on such a high note. We will pass your kind words onto the staff. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Old Banana Bay is always on our list for lunch when we go to Freeport. This time it was a little disappointing that the restaurant is closed at lunch time. So, we ate at the beach-side bar/restaurant. The food and service was excellent. Enjoyed our relaxing time at this beautiful location. Well worth the drive out to West End from Freeport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for joining us at Teaser’s for lunch. We will certainly pass your kind words onto the Teaser’s team. Hopefully we will be able to have you as a hotel guest on your next visit to Grand Bahama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
25 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
256 reviews
25.6 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#4 of 14 in Freeport
1,007 reviews
25.4 mi away
Lighthouse Pointe at Grand Lucayan Resort - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range: £189 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing