We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Bahama Bay”
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for a week, including Memorial Day and had a blast. We crossed in our boat and everything was great. Sharon at dock house and Dorothea at the front desk were the best!!!! The marina and dock hands were wonderful (many thanks to Cowboy Kevin). The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable -- ours was ocean front with a spectacular view. Beach was nice with many beach activities (kayaks, paddleboards, hobicat, snorkeling etc) or just a hammock/beach chairs. Restaurants were great - many thanks to Mary and her team at Teasers (breakfast = coconut french toast, lunch/dinner = grilled grouper and drinks = Kaliks or Pina Coladas or Yellowbirds). Fished our own boat several days and then bonefished with Tom Folley 2 days and caught fish both days. Quite a trip.....thanks for everything and we will be back...

Room Tip: 1172 Oceanfront was perfect.....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff78332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for both your visit and for your kind review of Old Bahama Bay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed their time with us. I am sure your tips will be very useful for future guests and we will certainly pass your kind words on to the staff, especially those you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We can’t wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Old Bahama Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rooms at the resort are very nice especially the ones closest to the ocean by the breakfast and lunch area. The pool area provides an excellent place to cool off. The beach and ocean are beautiful. This resort is not for everyone. You have to love to fish, love to read and love to relax on the beach. When you have had enough sun the balconies provide a nice place to relax too. There is not a whole lot to do as the location is really away from it all. The village did not attract me at all. It is a good resort for couples and for families with small children. I think teenagers might be bored here because of the lack of activities. Keep in mind the cab fare is high so once you get to the resort you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we have seen are nice. Most have an ocean view. I would avoid the ones overlook...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussytraveler440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. You are correct that we do strive to provide more tranquil and relaxing getaways, while still offering lots of activities such as paddleboarding, kayaking, snorkeling…. And we have added tennis courts since your last visit! We do hope you will visit us again the next time you are in need of a real escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The best place on Grand Bahama for you who don´t enjoy the over crowded Port Lucaya. The staff at Grand Bahama Bay are friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is great and the coconut-french toast for breakfast is delicious!!! The beach is a romantic place to spot the sunrise and the evening sunset can be viewed from the pier in the marina.
Simply a perfect place for relaxation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snaggles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

What a nice review – thank you so very much. We will certainly share with the staff and the chefs. We hope to have you both back with again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Looking for a place to escape then OBB is that place. From check-in to check-out the entire staff is there to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. The service is friendly but not fast, the food is good but not great, the rooms are nice but not opulent. This is not the place to go if your looking action but it is the perfect place for relaxation.

Mr. Harold is your beachside concierge always there to help. My wife had sunburn, Mr. Harold brought fresh aloe and the instruction on how to use it. My grand kids found coconuts, Mr. Harold taught them how to open them and to drink from them with a straw. Ms. Mary and all of the staff at the Teaser's Tiki Hut were wonderful. My son-in-law was determined to drink every cocktail on the menu which became a challenge the ladies joked and teased him about all day long. The grand kids slept in and were to late for the breakfast menu, not a problem the staff were happy to bend the rules and so it was coconut French toast at noon ( btw it is very tasty).

Best way to enjoy OBB is to take off your watch, put your electronic devices on airplane mode and relax. The beach is cleaned each day, the waters are calm and inviting and there is a simple feeling of tranquility.

Room Tip: We have been here five times and stayed in the same room each time. There is nothing better than the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We just love having your family with us year after year! We will certainly pass your kind words onto Harold and Mary and the rest of the staff, who I am sure are counting the days til your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Old Bahama Bay was our choice for a small intimate wedding. We could no be happier with the whole experience. The entire staff was wonderful. The best compliment I can convey is that we will return as often as possible.

Room Tip: Take the higher rate to be Oceanside. It is more than worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofredric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

We are so honored that you chose Old Bahama Bay for your wedding. We loved being part of your special and amazing day. We hope to have you back with us for many, many anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We just completed out first stay at obb. Great location, we really enjoyed the grounds and the kayaks. I would recommend the stay if you want seclusion, staff is helpful. We took the tips and had a car set up by obb, which did not work, no one was there when we arrived. We grabbed our own and he was helpful, limpy jones(242-478-4214) great guy and very dependable. Be prepared the ride is 70.00 one way plus tip. We were very disappointed in the food service, after reading the blogs, which are spot on. Food is better at tiki hut but they close very early, food at marina is way pricy and service was poor. I strongly suggest obb take it over,they are reflecting poorly on your business, the "new management theory is not working", food and beverage is a very important part, and you are letting it hurt the business, could be a deciding factor in not returning. You should consider keeping tiki hut open as well, after dark drinks on the beach is not possible? What a missed opportunity, I hope you take action.
You do a good job with keeping the grounds up, even when we had an issue with our door lock, your service crew did a great job fixing it and was very professional.
Travelers-I strongly recommend that if you need a car service call Eric Darville at 242-477-8313 he has cheap rental cars and also a driving service. great guy and very helpful. Also call to pink pearl restaurant, they are ten minutes away and will send a car to obb for a small tip! very good food and outstanding service!

Room Tip: All have a great view from 2nd floor, ours 1102 has the closest beach view,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and for your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the new Dockside Grille. You have raised some very valid suggestions, and please be assured we will take your recommendations into very serious consideration. Thank you also for posting your comments and feedback – these are very useful for us and for future guests. We do very much you will return to Old Bahama Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Old Bahama Bay for our honeymoon. What an amazing resort! The accommodations were outstanding and the staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. After reading the reviews regarding the restuarant Dockside we were very surprised that people were disappointed. We ate there 4 nights and had everything from blackened Mahi Mahi, to grilled pork chops, peas and rice to pizza and enjoyed them all! Our last night there we even had cracked lobster, which was divine and it wasn`t even on the menu.
We enjoyed all of the relaxation at the resort from the hammocks, the couples massage, and the view of the Atlantic Ocean! The water activities including kayaks, sailing, etc. were readily available for our use on the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view was great!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

First, congratulations on your wedding and we are honored that you choose Old Bahama Bay for your honeymoon. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly pass your kind words onto the staff, especially in Dockside Grille. We hope you will join us for many anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End
24.7 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
245 reviews
25.5 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
25.3 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#4 of 14 in Freeport
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,001 reviews
27.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
24.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Yacht Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range: £200 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation - set on the westernmost tip of Grand Bahama Island. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, fishing, snorkeling, eco-tours and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, tennis courts, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing