We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful castle with Irish charm”

Review of Springfield Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Castle- Drawing room
East tower basement pub
Castle- Baron's room
Castle grounds
Pony and trap on castle avenue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
13 Bedrooms, 16 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Dromcollogher, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Pam M
Plano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle with Irish charm”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at Springfield Castle in July, 2013. It was a wonderful estate with plenty of room for the entire family. The weather was cool and rainy, which coming from Dallas, Texas in the summer, was exactly what we wanted. The hosts, Jonathan and Betty, were so helpful in planning our day trips and helping us navigate the roadways. Betty was kind enough to come and give us a history lesson over her family and their connection to the castle since the 12th century. Jonathan took my children on a tractor ride into the fields to pet and feed the deer. My kids also loved the dog, Fitzy, and the pet peacock who allowed them to feed him from their hands. Jonathan and Betty made us all feel as if we were truly their guests for the week. I'm sure that they tell the same stories each week and help with the same day trips, but we really felt like they took a personal interest in our family. They truly made us feel part of the Irish community, and that made for a wonderful experience. We also had a beautiful dinner prepared by Caroline and her daughter, Tilly, the first night we arrived at the castle. When we arrived there were candles burning on the beautifully set dining room table and a delicious, hot meal waiting. After a long drive on the tiny roads, it was a welcoming sight. All in all, Springfield Castle was way more than we hoped for - mostly due to our kind hosts and their Irish hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Edenbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Springfield Castle and Tower”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed in both the Tower and Castle, we were 22 all together with ages ranging from 12 to 76. We held a large gathering on the day after arriving to which some 70 relatives turned up, there was easily room for all and Jonathan and Betty (who host the castle) didn't turn a hair. As you are so remote you can make as much noise as you like, and truly relax, much was embibed and many a story told. The facilities are amazing, there is a full size snooker and table tennis table in the games room together with dart board and table air hockey, bikes for all to use etc. All bedding and towels are of superior quality and beds are super comfortable. We had a truly marvellous holiday, enjoyed many dinners/parties in the Tower dining room, went on many walks and returned home much refreshed with many happy memories. We would definately recommend that if you are looking for a venue that suits all - this is the one.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being away from it all.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful property set on a lovely estate with very helpful and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was a great place to stay for all ages in the group, there was something for everyone to enjoy. The adults could enjoy long scenic walks and drinks beside a roaring fire while the kids could cycle, play tennis, table tennis, use the playground or the toy cupboard and dress up box. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with lots of tips or good places to visit. The house was beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The large dining room allowed for great dinners and then the adults would retire to the large sitting room and the kids to the smaller one with the TV. All in all a wonderful place.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The freedom to do what you liked, so secluded
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.