We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Post Office Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview Motel(Dargaville)
US$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Oaks Motel(Mangawhai)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dargaville Motel(Dargaville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
28
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadhome madewonderful guesthouseb bwealth of informationkauri museumother guestswe loved our stayclean roomskauri coastthe kitchendebsoaphostaucklandmuselibathtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I was visiting the area to reminisce over past times, and dragged two friends with me. I knew of the place, but had never stayed there before. Deb & Kev were the perfect hosts. Deb has local roots, so knew a lot about the area and its history. She is also a hoot to be around. The place is very cosy, and offers a few rooms. We were lucky to be the only ones there, so we had the run of the whole house. Each room is individual and differently decorated, with homely touches like potpourri and chocolate by the bedside. I particularly appreciated the electric blanket. Early evening, Deb brought us some homemade banana cake.

The house itself is very comfortable, with lounge and kitchen areas. The lounge has lots of different videos, including some NZ ones. The bedrooms were comfortable enough. There was plenty of hot water in the morning, although pressure wasn't great.

The continental breakfast was superb, including cereal, some fruit, and toast with home-made toppings like lemon curd and Pahi honey. Deb had made the bread, which had a variety of healthy supplements in it.

The cost per person was $NZ55, which was reasonable. I heartily recommend staying here, for both the comfort and the hospitality. Don't just pass through. Have a look at Pahi down the road, the Kauri Bushman's Memorial Reserve, and the excellent Kauri Museum in Matakohe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldPostOfficePaparoa, Owner at The Old Post Office Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Hi,
thanks so much for your review. Looks like you liked the Matakohe museum, hope your friends did too. Really enjoyed meeting you all and enjoyed your sense of humour. Will be keeping in mind the discussion re long drop type facility...ran it past Kevin, he didn't seem so enthused....
Take care
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We arrived late, but were made to feel welcome from the off. Hosts were very friendly and we were greeted with home-made biscuits and the offer of home made bread and soup. We had a little one with us (18 month old) and we couldn't have felt more at ease. The place had a lot of character and we were delighted with what was the first night of a 10-day road trip in Northland. Highly recommended. The perfect example of a B&B experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldPostOfficePaparoa, Owner at The Old Post Office Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Hi,
I thought I had thanked you for your review ear;lier. However, I have just seen that there doesn't appear to be one. So, better late than never. Thank you! Cheers, Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This place is welcoming and comfortable, with lovely touches like fresh flowers and homemade preserves. It is located in a tranquil spot but is close to places of interest like Matakohe Kauri musuem. The hosts, Deb and Kevin, were friendly, helpful and witty too. They were very happy to give us guidance on local attractions, although it was difficult to tear ourselves away from sunbathing on the deck overlooking their abundant garden.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldPostOfficePaparoa, Owner at The Old Post Office Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review. If there is any thing further we can do to make your stays enjoyable please let us know. Have a lovely Christmas.
Deb and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldPostOfficePaparoa, Owner at The Old Post Office Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldPostOfficePaparoa, Owner at The Old Post Office Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews