We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country pub beef cheeks oysters the asian chicken salad kauri museum new zealand tui thirsty kumara picnic kaipara kiwi harbour
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Paparoa Hotel/The Thirsty Tui still has that old world charm of a typical NZ country pub and we didn’t mind that at all.
We stayed in “The Garden Flat” that has two queen sized bedrooms, a bathroom with shower and bath and an open plan lounge and kitchen. The flat was clean, quiet, well maintained for it’s era and had everything in it that we needed.
There are French doors that open out onto a small deck and big private sunny lawn with well kept herb gardens and rural views. The picnic table under the shade of the big Oak tree is the perfect place for afternoon drinks.
We had a marvellous dinner in the lovely little restaurant, local flounder and oysters and beef cheeks that melted in your mouth. The portion sizes were generous and great value.
All the staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and made our one night stay very enjoyable. We would happily eat and stay here again.

As Paparoa Hotel and The Thirsty Tui both have Tripadvisor pages we have posted this same review on TA under both names.

Room Tip: The Garden Flat - Old style but quiet with a lovely private lawn to enjoy afternoon drinks in drinks, under the shade of an old Oak tree.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We had dinner here and really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the friendly service.
Make sure you try the handcrafted chocolates made by Tatiana - they are to die for!! Nice and handy if you are visiting the Kauri Museum at Katakana.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

What a great place to stop and have a meal! We had the fish and chips and a home made meat pie - they were delicious, as was the cocktail I had. The staff and atmosphere made it a welcoming environment and we will definitely visit again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwitraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed two nights here and had such an amazing time, the room we were in was the 2 bedroom Flat out the back of the pub, it is so quiet and private you feel like you have the place to your self. There is a private garden with a picnic table, and beautiful old tree. The Flat is fully self contained, so perfect for families, however I wouldn't want to cook with the amazing selection of food the hotel dishes out. Every meal was perfect, the food fresh and nothing like what you would expect in a small town pub. Even if you stop in for a meal you will not regret it. In fact, you may as well book a night so you can wake up to wood pigeons and Tui dancing outside your window.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom Flat, you get a great garden, a deck, kitchen, bath. Just do it.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

The Paparoa Hotel is a 2 hour drive from Auckland whether you take SH 16 or SH 1. We set off at 3 pm on a blustery Saturday, canoe strapped to the rack. By 5pm we were sitting beside a cosy fire in the Hotel dining room, sipping a glass of wine. A delicious dinner soon followed and the natural pick from the menu was the locally caught flounder. Our room was comfortable, quiet and well appointed. I had been concerned that noise from the bar may keep me awake but I needn't have worried. Breakfast was sumptuous and fortified the canoeists for their trip down the Paparoa river to the harbour. I walked through town to a local market and ran into my brothers best friend from high school. This hotel is really unique. Take a drive for lunch or stay the night and enjoy the excellent hospitality and local surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliej592017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews