We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country pub beef cheeks oysters the asian chicken salad kauri museum new zealand tui thirsty kumara picnic kaipara kiwi harbour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

This little gem is the perfect place to base your tour of this historic area .
Its got a great local feel" and a "home away from home " atmosphere . Warm and friendly staff ( and locals ) tasty food and good value . This is a period piece , don't expect luxe , expect charm and old fashioned hospitality .

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantallencooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Last minute arrangements by my partner saw a group of eight of us staying two nights over Easter at this delightful hotel for my birthday. Rooms were clean and a good size. Loved the bathroom in each room which is unusual for a hotel. Meals were beautiful and the staff were friendly and the service great. Will definitely organise another weekend here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 1000marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Stopped in Paparoa over Easter weekend and ate here twice. Great food and not just Kiwi staples, flounder, Beef cheek, and meat pies, staff excellent, great locals adding to the atmosphere. Please get a decent IPA on tap though.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Paparoa Hotel/The Thirsty Tui still has that old world charm of a typical NZ country pub and we didn’t mind that at all.
We stayed in “The Garden Flat” that has two queen sized bedrooms, a bathroom with shower and bath and an open plan lounge and kitchen. The flat was clean, quiet, well maintained for it’s era and had everything in it that we needed.
There are French doors that open out onto a small deck and big private sunny lawn with well kept herb gardens and rural views. The picnic table under the shade of the big Oak tree is the perfect place for afternoon drinks.
We had a marvellous dinner in the lovely little restaurant, local flounder and oysters and beef cheeks that melted in your mouth. The portion sizes were generous and great value.
All the staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and made our one night stay very enjoyable. We would happily eat and stay here again.

As Paparoa Hotel and The Thirsty Tui both have Tripadvisor pages we have posted this same review on TA under both names.

Room Tip: The Garden Flat - Old style but quiet with a lovely private lawn to enjoy afternoon drinks in drinks, under the shade of an old Oak tree.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We had dinner here and really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the friendly service.
Make sure you try the handcrafted chocolates made by Tatiana - they are to die for!! Nice and handy if you are visiting the Kauri Museum at Katakana.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wensb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews