We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay but we won't stay here again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Burnsville
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel is quite dated and in desperate need of renovations. But I guess you get what you pay for as the rates for this hotel are quite cheap.

Pros: Convenient location off the highway, not very expensive. Discount Valleyfair tickets available here. Free wi-fi internet but it was very slow to load pages.

Cons: No hairdryers or irons in the room, beds were very uncomfortable, thin towels that had holes in them. I never understand why some hotels only put out two large bath towels for a family of four? Our air conditioner sounded like a jet taking off it was so loud. I honestly thought the fan was going to blow or fly out of the air conditioner. But the pro to the loud air conditioner, was the fact it drowned out the noise of the kids running up and down the hall.

Free breakfast? I don't know about you, but I don't feed my teenagers coffee and donuts for breakfast. That was what was available.

Another odd event happened while staying here. We gave our teenagers money to call a taxi to take them to Valleyfair as we had to leave early that morning to watch the PGA Championships. I spoke to the front desk clerk the evening before and she called the company to find out it would cost them $28 to get there.
The next morning, the kids went to the front desk and asked the front desk clerk to call a taxi for them. A man showed up, shook hands with the front desk clerk and my kids said there was an exchange of money. Our teens heading into the "taxi" which was the drivers own personal vehicle. He told my children his taxi had broken down and he was using his own vehicle for the day. He took them to Valleyfair but did not go past the gate and let them out across the parking lot saying they could walk because he did not know how to get in the Valleyfair parking lot. My daughter thought the whole thing was strangely bizarre and yes, so did I. Not sure what is going on with that but I am not the least bit impressed about how that went down.

We won't be staying here again in the future but if a family is looking for a cheap place to crash and doesn't need any amenities, this is the hotel for them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank savvygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

Rooms and hotel very clean but furniture in bedroom showing wear. Beds comfortable. Carpet in hallway needs replacement due to stains. Staff friendly. Counter in lobby has tray of donuts and coffee for breakfast. Perkins Pancakes just down the street. Price and location to Bloomington excellent; easy access to highway to the Mall of America.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

When I pulled up to check in on Saturday night, there were nothing but fat drunks drinking and smoking outside. The lobby smelled musty, the pool area was disgusting. The hot tub was closed due to a child taking a dump in it. The rooms were vile. Towels had YWCA on them and the staff was rude. Halls were filled with fat people running up and down all night long yelling and banging doors. The breakfast was a tray of donuts and a pot of coffee. I checked out out the next morning, and the front desk staff was the same dude who was cleaning the poop out of the hot tub. I showered with flip flops and covered my pillow with a t-shirt. However, as the sign out front says, your tenth night is free.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrcub1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

The Prime Rate Motel was just wonderful. Terrific value for the price. Everything about it was excellent. The girls at the desk were so friendly and helpful, printing off local maps for me, etc., the bed was comfortable, with crisp, clean sheets, the bathroom was pristinely clean, with a nice tub and lots of clean towels, the TV was modern and had many channels from which to choose, and the whole room was beautifully clean. It was also a nice quiet motel- I never had issues with sounds from either the other rooms, the lobby or the surrounding buildings. It's also right next to the Burnsville Parkway (not noisy), which takes you right into downtown Minneapolis. This Canadian gal will be sure to return to this particular motel if and when I return to suburban Minneapolis (which I also loved). Thank you, Prime Rate, and keep up the wonderful work.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia-duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I had a very good experience at this Motel. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the pool and hot tub were wonderful, and the donuts were awesome. The staff are extremely nice, and even let me check out several hours late at no cost. I will stay there every time I go to Minneapolis.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank texaninfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

great room for the price great dougnots in the am

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emcdonald27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We have stayed at the Prime Rate many times over the years, most recently just after Christmas of '07. The cost is very reasonable and they often have nice saving coupons in the Minneapolis paper. It is a modest place but clean, friendly, roomy enough and has updated some of their facilities like the room tvs. They provide donuts and coffee or hot chocolate for breakfast and have a small indoor pool. There are a few places to eat within walking distance and the large Burnsville mall and other stores just a mile or so away.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnsville
0.3 mi away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis South / Burnsville
2 mi away
AmericInn Burnsville
AmericInn Burnsville
#3 of 9 in Burnsville
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Burnsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Burnsville
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Nicollet Inn
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Savage
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville

Address: 12850 W. Frontage Rd., Burnsville, MN 55337
Region: United States > Minnesota > Burnsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Burnsville
Price Range: £40 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Rate Motel - Burnsville Hotel Burnsville
Prime Rate Inn - Burnsville MN - Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing