We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, not so great food”
Review of Robin Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robin Hood Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Pecket Well B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A group of 6 of us went for a meal a few weeks ago on one of our regular meals out, the service was very good, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food however was quite poor really, it's not expensive but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be enjoyable, or at least have some taste. I don't think we'll bother again, which is a shame as it is in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Owner at Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Please could you let me know what was wrong with your meal because we take pride in our food and the majority of clients absolutely love our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We eat here regularly and are never disappointed. They serve one of the best steaks around and the homemade chips are lovely. Pepper sauce is excellent as well. We have also had the pie, hot beef baguette, lasagne, Cumberland sausage and gammon ( not all at the same time!) and everything has been excellent. Staff are friendly and the dining room is bright and cosy. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayaddict51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were allocated the family room at the top of the pub which is very large and has a double bed and two single beds.and a very large bathroom. The room was well presented and clean.but may be a struggle if you cannot manage two flights of stairs. The evening meal we had was well flavoured and reasonably priced and breakfast was also very good. We stayed here in order to attend a concert in Hebden Bridge which is only minutes away by car. ( The road down to Hebden Bridge is not really suitable for walking so you would be advised to use a taxi if you intend having a drink). All the staff we met were friendly and helpful and the pub itself has some interesting architectural aspects ie curve roofed meat store incorporated into the dining room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

a month we have a dinner club with 10 in the party.Last night it was the Robin Hoods turn.
What can I say! Fantastic food,fantastic service,and a wonderful atmosphere throughout.
A very well balanced menu reasonably priced for such quality.Try it you will be surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fonddrinker1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were just passing and decided to go in for a meal. What a good decision. The staff were very helpful and pleasant while we found the food to be excellent. It was reasonably priced and well cooked. There was a very relaxed atmosphere for customers and we'd be very happy to return. The Lancaster Brewery beer was on form too! Maybe the loos could do with upgrading although they aren't unusable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennine_man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

For a good number of years we lived in Calderdale and we like to go back once a year. Although we have many friends in the area, we don't like to impose ourselves on them. The area is outstandingly beautiful, which is one of the reasons we go back so often. However this visit was a bit special as our old Parish Church in Mytholmroyd, St Michael's was having an evening service for the Institution and Induction of a new vicar, Reverend Catherine Barbara Reardon and the Parochial Church Council asked me as a former Reader there to come and be involved in the ceremony as part of the procession of robed clergy. The Robin Hood Inn seemed an ideal pied a terre to stay for visits to old friends in Mytholmroyd and for the service. We stayed for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis. We also had an evening meal on the first of two nights. The dinner was pretty fair pub food. The two breakfasts we had were first class full English breakfast. Our room, Room 1 was a family room with en-suite. We could easily have put up two children sharing with us . The room was clean, neat and tidy and well supplied with towels and soap. But the main attraction is the Calderdale countryside and although the weather was somewhat unsettled, we had a fine morning walking in Hardcastle Cras to Gibson Mill for a nice morning coffee and cake. We would happlily go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We'd heard a lot about the steak night at the robin so we decided to give it a try, and might I say we're glad we did!!! We had 2 fillet steaks and a bottle of wine for £30 - BARGAIN!! When the steak came it was cooked to perfection and the fact that we could sit outside and look at the spectacular views while we ate made it all the more enjoyable. We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Louigi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecket Well
1.4 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moyles
Moyles
#6 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
54 reviews
1.5 mi away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#2 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#10 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
271 reviews
3.6 mi away
Far Moorside Farm
Far Moorside Farm
#1 of 1 in Cragg Vale
19 reviews
1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Inn

Address: Keighley Road, Pecket Well, Hebden Bridge HX7 8QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge > Pecket Well
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pecket Well
Price Range: £97 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Robin Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing