We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I came for a 1 night break with spa treatments for my boyfriends birthday. The overall service was inconsistent. Check in was hectic, we were not told check out times or breakfast times and I felt that the receptionist was a little unprofessional. The Porter was exceptionally happy and friendly and actually came to find us to tell us our room was ready which we really appreciated. The staff in the restaurant seemed away with the faeries and the service wasn't that great but the food was excellent - compliments to the chef. My partner is a head chef himself and really loved the food. As we were unsure of the breakfast times and these were not in the room either, we went down at 7.30am which were told was too early as breakfast was served at 8am. The manager was very helpful and told us we were welcome to get a coffee and wait. At 10 past 8 the waitress told us breakfast would be a few mins as they were waiting for sausages and bacon to come out. It did arrive at 8.15 but everything was luke warm - which we couldn't understand as it was 15 mins late! It was a special occasion and although some of your staff are excellent, some also really badly let it down. As I say inconsistent - dinner was great, breakfast disappointing, etc. I had the choice of 3 hotels: Mottram hall, Mere Golf resort or Shrigley Hall and although the scenery at Shrigley is breath taking, I almost wish i had book The Mere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Beverleyannefreeman,

Thank you for your review following your recent spa stay here with us. I must apologise for the experience you received during your special occassion stay; I will take your feeback back to the team to ensure our high standards of service are achieved and maintained, and especially to the chef for your lovely comments on the food. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,664)
There are newer reviews for Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,149 - 2,155 of 2,664 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Found a fantastic deal via Martin's Money Saving Expert email. Very, very disappointing experience redeemed only by the evening meal..The deal was dinner with wine, bed and breakfast for 2 for £125. On speaking to hotel at the point of booking, was asked if we wanted to upgrade to a premium room for a small additional charge. Asked what would be different to standard room and was given the same information as was on the website at the time - four poster bed, robes, slippers, large seating area and jacuzzi bath. Booked this without hesitation. arrived 5.30 reception staff courteous and polite. Room 116 was shabby and not as expected. None of the premium room features present. Rang reception to inquire if we we in the correct room. Advised that we were but that they had run out of robes and slippers (!) Asked about the jacuzzi bath and four poster was told that the jacuzzi bath had been taken out of that particular room and received no explanation about the missing dour poster. In response to being asked what could be done was advised that they would speak to the duty manager. After a short time had passed with no response went to reception and repeated the issues of concern and asked to be moved to an alternative premium room. Was eventually advised that there were no other premium rooms for us to be moved to and that the description on the website needed to be altered as there had been changes that meant information on the website was out of date. (have not checked the website as will not be staying there again...) After expressing significant disappointment was advised that the duty manager was happy to deduct the cost of the upgrade from the total bill or they could downgrade us to a standard room. (Couldn't believe it!) Asked to speak with the duty manager. Repeated the issues of concern and asked whether or not another room with a jacuzzi bath was available. The duty manager advised that if we wanted a jacuzzi bath then we would find one in the swimming pool area of the hotel. Realising that his sarcasm was not received well by the complaining customer, he quickly adopted a more conciliatory approach, apologised for the missing items and offered to reduce the bill by 50%. As we had driven for over an hour to get there and had yet to dine, we accepted. Getting dinner was a painful affair as the hotel was very busy -wedding and 21st birthday parties- fellow diners who queued with us got impatient and eventually asked if we could be seated (staff- including the duty manager - who were in and out of the restaurant evidently taking food to other parts of the hotel walked past the queue and made no attempt to speak with any of us). The saving grace was the food which was good. Will not be returning...

Room Tip: We were advised that room 116 is adapted for those with a disability. It is shabby. If you are wan...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JThomas247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear JThomas247,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here with us. I was upset to read about the problems you encountered during your stay and must sincerely apologise for this. Following your review I can now inform that we have altered the way we advertise our Premium and Four Poster rooms to make it clearer and easier when booking. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future to experience these changes.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

All the previous reviews on this hotel are spot on. Our room was quite dated and compact and I never understand why a four star hotel still has an old fashioned TV? (flat screen should be the norm these days). Our room was pleasant enough and didnt spoil our stay in any way. My wife and I got lost a few times on the way back to our room (which seemed to be the furthest away from the reception), however we laughed about getting lost together and didnt feel it was a negative. We booked the 'Sparkle' break direct on the hotel website which was dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine. I thought this was brilliant value for such a lovely old hotel. The best part of our stay was dinner, the guy playing the piano throughout our meal sets this hotel above any other Ive stayed at. I had beef and my wife duck for our main course and the food tasted amazing. Maybe the best I have ever tasted. The staff were very professional and polite but also friendly. The dining experience was so good I cant fault this hotel at all. Breakfast was nice too. If you want a nice night away including dinner then you cant go wrong here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Chowny,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm overjoyed to read of you and your wife's memorable stay. I will ensure to pass your great comments onto all the team and to our Piano player. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Quite rare to have live piano music played in the lounge of a hotel and the player had a huge range of musical knowledge. A very comfortable spot it was too and a lovely meal in the restaurant. The only slight downside was our room was in a far flung corner of the hotel (in the eaves) and was a little short on space. Otherwise it was tidy, clean and comfortable. The spa facilities are amazing, being in a converted chapel.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of extra space avoid the 'eaves rooms' overlooking the tennis courts.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Paul L,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed our live music entertainment in the Piano Bar and that it added to your experience, alongside our Spa facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were invited to a wedding at Shrigley and decided to stay in the hotel itself.
The hotel was not too bad. Quite a nice palce for a wedding all beit that the drinks were scandalously high
However our main issue was that for £120 a night we expected a bit of comfort in out room. Room was old and outdated. bathroom was grubby, bath broken and poorly repaired. In need of a good lick of paint !
Generally the hotel was nice but the rooms need a serious overhaul !


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 224Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear 224Clare,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here with us. I apologise for your experience regarding the room in which you stayed, the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which will address the issues highlighted. I hope you enjoyed the night at the wedding and that we can welcome you back in the future to see the positive changes being made.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We visited recently on a 'Sparkle' break for dinner, bed and breakfast + bottle of champagne. We were meeting up with another couple to celebrate two 70s birthdays. The visit fully met our expectations. The room was fully equipped and very comfortable; the food in the restaurant was excellent and the champagne hit the spot nicely. Bar prices a bit on the high side and the walk to the rooms quite long!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your nice comments following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm delighted you enjoyed your 'Sparkle' package and food and facilities met expections to enhance birthday celebrations. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Nowhere near as high quality as I was expecting. The rooms are tired, navigating your way around is complicated. The place feels a bit worn out and could do with a facelift. Restaurant and bar experience was good, food was very tasty. Car park is a distance from reception which would be problematic with lots of luggage/buggy etc. Disabled access is poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Claire E,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here with us. I was upset to read your response and must apologise for your experience. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment throughout, which will highlight the bedrooms and decor. Great you enjoyed the restaurant and bar with delicious food. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to show the positive changes we are making.

Kind Regards

Saffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
216 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,804 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing