We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spa day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spa day package. Not worth the money even at the Travel Zoo Special offer . If paying full price would have been even more disappointed and expected a refund especially as the champagne never arrived nor was offered.
The country club lacked atmosphere and service was not at a level expected for the venue. Therapist nice enough but did not really enjoy the treatments felt they could have invested more in the customer service and spent time with clients. It felt very methodical and as if bare minimum in treatment offered. Young lady on reception was most pleasant she/this was the best bit of the day. Fortunately I took my own bath robe as ONE SIZE FITS ALL seemed to be in place and the supplied robe was a meagre small size. The lighting in the pool area leaves a lot to be desired and for such a beautiful building it could be much improved to highlight its structural beauty. How on earth the therapist cope especially in the pedicure area is beyond belief. Would also have been better if lunch could have been bought within the complex. After all a spa day is about lounging around in a fluffy white robe and relaxing. Who wants to get re dressed and walk to another part of the hotel to buy lunch and then return to the spa area and undress all over again. Changing rooms need updating especially the shower areas only one of the three showers worked. Could do with a thorough clean too. Mildew. Thank goodness it was quiet Left after a couple of hours as I had had enough. Sorry but a lot would have to improve before I visit again. Such a shame as so much potential seems wasted and under appreciated this could be so much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for your review following your recent Spa Day here with us. I'm upset to read that you left disappointed after your spa day, I agree it’s about lounging around in a bathroom and relaxing so I apologise this is not the feeling you left with. I will certainly pass all your review on to our Beauty Manager. We as a hotel offer a spa package that allows lunch to be brought to the Spa, so maybe this is something we could look at adding on for other offers. Thank you again for all your points highlighted in this review it helps us to go back to the team and work together to make the improvements to maintain our normally high standards. I do hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    726
    529
    268
    148
See reviews for
336
1,222
21
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

On the edge of the Peak District, this hotel and Spa offers a relaxing break in beautiful countryside. The hotel has a long and interesting history and the decor is in place with the architecture. The rooms are well appointed and the free wifi is good. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the £25 menu had good choices and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and the way the bar manager, Jessica, dealt with a complaint was excellent, she snatched victory from potential disaster. Breakfast was very good (self-service). Good spa area with interesting pool area.

Recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eastwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear adrian evans,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm delighted you enjoyed the picturesque surroundings in which our hotel is situated, along with the interesting history running throughout the hotel. I'm glad your evening meal and breakfast of good choice and excellent food. I will certainly pass on your nice comments to our Bars Manager Jasmine - it's great to read such great handling on that type of situation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
657 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

2 couples stayed 2 nights Sun/Mon on ‘Secret Escapes’ offer. Good value including £75 per room credit. Lovely, isolated countryside setting - surrounding golf course with many walks. Standard rooms were a little dated, but clean and acceptable. Nice comfy bed, flat screen TV. Reasonable free wifi service. Nice leisure facilities in converted Church building – pool a bit shallow for keen swimmers though. Good breakfasts. First night meal taken in Restaurant – set menu with 3 courses for £25. Reasonable selection but a little ‘nouvelle cuisine’ and therefore a bit sparse, but good quality and service. We had a service issue with a bar meal on our second night, but this was resolved by Jessica (for which many thanks) swiftly and satisfactorily. We were blessed with good weather and had a very enjoyable stay. Recommended for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear jandlUk,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Lovely to read of your relaxing, short break and nice to know your thoughts on our new Food & Beverage room credit system we have put in place to allow guests the choice for evening meals. By the sounds of it both meals in restaurant and bar were enjoyed and I shall pass on your thanks to the team for resolving your issue. We hope to welcome you back in the future for more peaceful breaks.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were bowled over by this hotel from the moment we turned into the long winding driveway. We got a great deal and stayed in a deluxe room, which had a great view and a jacuzzi bath. Luxury toiletries in bathroom and excellent range of hot drinks in the room. Stunning setting, friendly and efficient staff, great facilities, good food, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cat_K25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Cat_K25,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm thrilled to read of your wonderful stay with us and how wowed you were from the very first moment. Great that you wish to return and re-live the experience all over again. Myself and our friendly staff look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I booked a holiday at Shrigley Hall back in December, and a couple of weeks prior to it starting was informed that they could no longer accommodate our group as they had a conference booked. I am very disappointed that they consider business customers more important than those of us who booked months in advance for a walking holiday. A polite email, and a visit to see their management did not result in a satisfactory explanation as to why we were booted out in favour of the conference delegates.
We visited the "spa" and pool, which was disappointing. The pool is small and children were having swimming lessons in it. The water was cold, and the changing facilities were poor.
The location is beautiful and would have been a much nicer place to be than the location of the very inferior hotel where they relocated us. I could certainly not recommend Puma hotels from this experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for my 40th birthday this weekend. My husband upgraded to a deluxe room, which was lovely and huge! Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional, and breakfast the following morning was also very tasty. The staff were helpful and friendly without being overbearing. There is a lovely walk around the golf course. Facilities were clean and tidy, and the pool looked lovely. We had such a relaxing stay, can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MummyHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear JacobsMummy,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm delighted to read of your great 40th Birthday stay and glad you got to enjoy a surprise upgraded room. Thank you for your lovely comments towards the staff and for the exceptional and tasty food you enjoyed - I will pass compliments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay. And a Happy Birthday for last weekend.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for a conference over 4 nights. I arrived early but didn't get my room till 1pm. The folks at the hotel were polite (minus a few at registration). The restaurant has an excellent breakfast and meals, with good accommodation for food restrictions. The spa and gym are good as well (not like a five star resort, but fair enough). The room itself was spacious (at least the wing I was in), had some quirky historic touches that were hilarious to use. For example finding a dryer in a drawer, a towel heater, pants wrinkle relieving gadget, etc. The bathroom was old and needs some updates. The wireless works in some rooms and not so well in others. Lots of public areas to sit around and use the public wireless. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear A J,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Nice to read of your comfortable 4 night stay whilst here for a business conference. I'm glad you made full use all of our hotels amenities during your stay and enjoyed all the excellent meals on offer. It's joy that you liked our historic features throughout the hotel and amusing moments with some of the equipment in your room. We as a team thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,513 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing