We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Bridge Hotel(Prestbury)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legh Arms(Prestbury)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chadwick House Hotel(Macclesfield)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mottram Hall(Mottram St. Andrew)
US$420
US$407
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Macclesfield Central(Macclesfield)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Deanwater Hotel(Stockport)
    US$126
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$106
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (2,959)
    Filter reviews
    2,959 results
    Traveller rating
    925
    891
    635
    313
    195
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    925
    891
    635
    313
    195
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgolf coursecourtyard barafternoon teaold churchevening mealjacuzzi bathpeak districtdeluxe roomleisure facilitiesself serviceleisure clubthree course meallovely settinggolf breaknight breakbirthday treatshort break
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,226 - 2,231 of 2,959 reviews
    Reviewed 22 May 2014

    A lovely old house in splendid surroundings with dramatic views across the Cheshire Plains. Rooms were of a reasonable size and very clean and well maintained. Dinner and breakfast really good quality and well presented. If you are prepared to pay that little bit extra this hotel is well worth visiting. We shall return!

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Alan A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

    Dear Alan A,

    Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. It's great to read of your first rate experience during your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the good quality and well presented meals, along with our clean and maintained rooms. We certainly look forward to your return to encounter more of our dramatic surroundings.

    Kind Regards
    Saffron

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 May 2014

    Spa day package. Not worth the money even at the Travel Zoo Special offer . If paying full price would have been even more disappointed and expected a refund especially as the champagne never arrived nor was offered.
    The country club lacked atmosphere and service was not at a level expected for the venue. Therapist nice enough but did not really enjoy the treatments felt they could have invested more in the customer service and spent time with clients. It felt very methodical and as if bare minimum in treatment offered. Young lady on reception was most pleasant she/this was the best bit of the day. Fortunately I took my own bath robe as ONE SIZE FITS ALL seemed to be in place and the supplied robe was a meagre small size. The lighting in the pool area leaves a lot to be desired and for such a beautiful building it could be much improved to highlight its structural beauty. How on earth the therapist cope especially in the pedicure area is beyond belief. Would also have been better if lunch could have been bought within the complex. After all a spa day is about lounging around in a fluffy white robe and relaxing. Who wants to get re dressed and walk to another part of the hotel to buy lunch and then return to the spa area and undress all over again. Changing rooms need updating especially the shower areas only one of the three showers worked. Could do with a thorough clean too. Mildew. Thank goodness it was quiet Left after a couple of hours as I had had enough. Sorry but a lot would have to improve before I visit again. Such a shame as so much potential seems wasted and under appreciated this could be so much better.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Carol B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

    Dear Carol B,

    Thank you for your review following your recent Spa Day here with us. I'm upset to read that you left disappointed after your spa day, I agree it’s about lounging around in a bathroom and relaxing so I apologise this is not the feeling you left with. I will certainly pass all your review on to our Beauty Manager. We as a hotel offer a spa package that allows lunch to be brought to the Spa, so maybe this is something we could look at adding on for other offers. Thank you again for all your points highlighted in this review it helps us to go back to the team and work together to make the improvements to maintain our normally high standards. I do hope you will return in the near future.

    Kind Regards
    Saffron

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 May 2014

    On the edge of the Peak District, this hotel and Spa offers a relaxing break in beautiful countryside. The hotel has a long and interesting history and the decor is in place with the architecture. The rooms are well appointed and the free wifi is good. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the £25 menu had good choices and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and the way the bar manager, Jessica, dealt with a complaint was excellent, she snatched victory from potential disaster. Breakfast was very good (self-service). Good spa area with interesting pool area.

    Recommended

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 2eastwalk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

    Dear adrian evans,

    Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm delighted you enjoyed the picturesque surroundings in which our hotel is situated, along with the interesting history running throughout the hotel. I'm glad your evening meal and breakfast of good choice and excellent food. I will certainly pass on your nice comments to our Bars Manager Jasmine - it's great to read such great handling on that type of situation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Kind Regards
    Saffron

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2014

    2 couples stayed 2 nights Sun/Mon on ‘Secret Escapes’ offer. Good value including £75 per room credit. Lovely, isolated countryside setting - surrounding golf course with many walks. Standard rooms were a little dated, but clean and acceptable. Nice comfy bed, flat screen TV. Reasonable free wifi service. Nice leisure facilities in converted Church building – pool a bit shallow for keen swimmers though. Good breakfasts. First night meal taken in Restaurant – set menu with 3 courses for £25. Reasonable selection but a little ‘nouvelle cuisine’ and therefore a bit sparse, but good quality and service. We had a service issue with a bar meal on our second night, but this was resolved by Jessica (for which many thanks) swiftly and satisfactorily. We were blessed with good weather and had a very enjoyable stay. Recommended for a peaceful break.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jandlUk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

    Dear jandlUk,

    Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Lovely to read of your relaxing, short break and nice to know your thoughts on our new Food & Beverage room credit system we have put in place to allow guests the choice for evening meals. By the sounds of it both meals in restaurant and bar were enjoyed and I shall pass on your thanks to the team for resolving your issue. We hope to welcome you back in the future for more peaceful breaks.

    Kind Regards
    Saffron

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2014

    We were bowled over by this hotel from the moment we turned into the long winding driveway. We got a great deal and stayed in a deluxe room, which had a great view and a jacuzzi bath. Luxury toiletries in bathroom and excellent range of hot drinks in the room. Stunning setting, friendly and efficient staff, great facilities, good food, would definitely go again.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Cat_K25
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

    Dear Cat_K25,

    Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I'm thrilled to read of your wonderful stay with us and how wowed you were from the very first moment. Great that you wish to return and re-live the experience all over again. Myself and our friendly staff look forward to your return.

    Kind Regards
    Saffron

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews