We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not overwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not overwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Room ok but nothing special, bathroom had a damp smell, restaurant was very busy and we couldn't eat at the time we wanted. By the time we got in, my choice of main course was unavailable, food was ok but not as good as we were expecting, wine was good, a nice New Zealand white, but then at £25 a bottle I would expect it to be. Pointed out bathroom smell when booking out but it seemed to have disapeared. Our stay was quite enjoyable, the whole place was busy mostly with large groups of people, we didn't feel that we got the luxurious treat that we were expecting, difficult to explain but a bit disappointed with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleymayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear lesleymayl,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel. I apologise that you have left feeling disappointed, I would hope that all our guests leave feeling luxurious and relaxed. I am sorry that your room wasn't as expected and that the restaurant times were limited, it is a very busy restaurant for timings and we are looking into distributing this demand into other outlets in the hotel. I am glad on a plus you enjoyed the New Zealand wine and your stay was quite enjoyable. I hope you will return in future to allow us to overwhelm you to make your experience a special one.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    725
    526
    267
    148
See reviews for
335
1,219
21
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent service, rooms spacious and comfortable. Perfect Hotel lovely views and walks around the hotel grounds. The leasure facilties were excellent. Looking for a few days away with friends or romantic getaway Shrigley Hall Hotel is perfect

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank happyfriends2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear happyfriends2014,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled you sought us to be the perfect getaway. I'm delighted you found the service to be excellent and you enjoyed the lovely views and walks, along with the excellent amenities on offer. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future to fulfil more special occasions with us.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night. All the staff were friendly and our party were booked in quickly and efficiently. We returned to the Courtyard Bar for drinks before our meal. There was a very relaxed atmosphere in both the bar and restaurant. We were given a good table and all enjoyed excellent meals with good wine. Earlier we'd been told the hotel was hosting two weddings so had anticipated some noise, however to have people outside making a noise until 2.30 in the morning isn't my idea of a four star hotel. Breakfast the following morning was the standard serve yourself but very good. However at one point there was a five minute wait for tables. Our rooms were a long way from reception so I'd request one closer if possible. Hosting more than one wedding per night appears to be the norm here but that still leaves a significant number of guests who simply want a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Bar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Paul_Bar55,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am delighted your party were quickly and efficiently looked after by our friendly staff and you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere with excellent food in both the bar and restaurant. I do apologise you was disturbed in the early hours of the morning by other guests, we are taking this feedback on board and looking into more walk rounds of the hotel floors when wedding guests are departing function rooms to minimise noise. I am glad you enjoyed a good breakfast the following morning before you departed.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Visited here for my birthday in July lovely room and bottle of champagne and chocolates from my partner in the room on arrival. The location was stunning and the hotel was beautiful inside. The service was good throughout the stay. The evening meal was exceptional and the piano playing added to the experience. I loved the whirlpool bath. Despite the fact the hotel was hosting two weddings on the Saturday service remained at a high standard. The pool and spa area were lovely and unusual being inside the church. Would definitely visit again. Having read some negative reviews all I can say is I could not fault my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear John B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am delighted upon reading you review you had a lovely birthday stay in our stunning location, and you found the hotel beautiful with the added twist of leisure and spa being in a converted church. A nice touch from your partner making the occasion more special with chocolates and champagne. We look forward to your return visit to experience more exceptional meals and service.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiral UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I plus our friends stayed here on the 4 night New Years Eve package (sorry I am late with the rebview).
The hotel / country club is situated in a very old school from the 1800s - it is beautiful both the outside and inside and has been preserved and maintained very well, although obviously moden for safety it still holds the old character and charm.
We stayed in the Downes Suite which is huge overlooking the golf couse - our friends stayed in a "normal room" which was well proportioned and presented.
The whole hotle / country club is set for relaxation, fine wine and fine eating - although we tayed for a New Years Eve package even when the party was over (the evening of the 2nd) the restaurant food was fantastic.
It is also pet friendly - so its on our list to go back with Mr Ruffles our Jack Russell ! who I am sure will enjoy the walks around the lake and countryside
A nice hotel, nice staff and a retun favourite

Room Tip: The Downes Suite (no balcony but overlooks goldf course) is wonderful - there is another suite exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveoffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Daveoffshore,

Thank you for your review following your New Year stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I will accept you’re sorry for the late review, thank you for posting. I am thrilled yourself and your wife along with friends enjoyed the 4 night New Years Eve package, it sure is a spectacular party here. I am glad you appreciated the old character of the building that’s been preserved, with the modern twist in parts and the Downes Deluxe room presented you with a wonderfully relaxed stay. We certainly do look forward to your return visit and I am positive Mr. Ruffles will love his long walks around our grounds and Peak District.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel through secret escapes. I couldn't believe it when we drew up- it was massive. So many rooms! The grounds were lovely and better still if you play golf (we don't ). The entrance was splendid. The staff friendly.
There was a nice cosy bar to sit and relax or the patio if the weather was nice. We ate in the restaurant in the evening - nice but rather over priced. On the other hand the breakfast was fab- so much to choose from and you could arrive up to 11 am !
The room we had was a basic one I think although clean and comfortable. One criticism though, it was very dull as everything was brown- curtains, wardrobes, wallpaper and Hugh net curtains that blocked out the light. Also- the sheet (valance ) had a huge rip. I would stay here again though- its near Lyme Park which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: I would up grade if you can- ours was rather dull and the view was poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear AmandaP21,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. It is so nice to ready you had the wow experience as you drove up our drive overlooking our lovely grounds. I am glad the longer breakfast period on a Sunday was of value to you and you enjoyed all the food on offer to you during breakfast and your evening meal. I will ensure to have the room looked at in regards to the valance. Thank you for your great comments for our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy a possible upgrade and more of Lyme Park.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed two nights dinner bed and breakfast, bar staff were good, breakfast staff on first morning were good but second morning, due maybe to a wedding party all having breakfast at the same time, was shambolic. No mugs at coffee machine, coffee machine not working, no menu, salt and pepper or sugar on table. Too few staff, the staff was trying but simply couldn't cope. The hotel itself looked very tired and in some parts maybe not as clean as it should be. The annex ground floor smells very damp. Not a four star in my opinion. We stayed on a special deal which still wasn't cheap if we had paid full price we would not have been happy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Uhdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Uhdcfc,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel. I do sincerely apologise you left disappointed after your two night stay. Our breakfast over the weekend has been fully staffed and we do offer a notice in all rooms with a traffic light system to show our guests the quieter and busier periods of breakfast, of course this is only a guideline to when guests actually decide to take breakfast; so I am sorry it was a little hectic on your second morning. However, small items such as salt, pepper and sugar should have been available so I apologise.
I of course will take your points back to the team to discuss and this week we are doing a full walk round of the hotel, we are throughout this year refreshing the hotel and have made vast improvements in recent months.
I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future to experience the positive changes that are being made throughout the hotel.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing