We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay at Shirgley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Leeds
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super stay at Shirgley”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a super time.

The hotel is beautifully placed with views for miles over Manchester and the lowlands of Cheshire. There are lovely walks from the hotel and the local town of Bollington has a canal and White Nancy to visit. Further a field is the wonderful countryside of the peak district.

Staff were welcoming and attentive and a special mention goes to Kath in the restaurant. Everywhere was spotlessly clean including the leisure facilities.

My only gripe would be that apart from the bar there was no where comfy to sit as the bar soon was at capacity.

Room Tip: A tip would be to use the drop off area when you arrive and it is a bit of a trek with your bags fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunholstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear sunholstan,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled to read of your super stay with us. It is great over your two days you managed to get out and explore our neighbouring towns and surroundings; it is a beautiful countryside to see. Thank you for your great praise for Kath in the Oakridge restaurant; I will ensure to tell her personally of your feedback. We do have a Piano Lounge which overlooks the front of the hotel and golf course other than the main bar, so maybe you could return in the near future and use this area of the hotel to relax in comfort.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    740
    538
    275
    152
See reviews for
344
1,246
21
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a couple of nights to visit Chatswoth. The hotel is quite stunning, set in lovely grounds including a golf course.
Having booked a package including dinner, this couldn't have been easier as there was a choice of a set menu or an allowance against a la carte. The food was beautifully cooked and delicious, with some unique puddings. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Graham N,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled you sought us to be a perfect place to be used as a base to explore the surrounding Peak District, along with our stunning grounds. It is great the package you booked offered all you needed and you thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food and unique puddings. Thank you for your lovely praise for our friendly and helpful staff.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. It is set in great grounds and has been well decorated and furnished.

The pool is warm and clean but not very deep or big, as others have said. Great for relaxing and bobbing about, not for doing a workout.

The rooms are well furnished and clean. Good linen, pillows, etc. Tea and coffee things are in the rooms.

Gorgeous main staircase.

Couldn't give a top review this time as there were some negatives. However, a key part of a hotel's success is how they reapond to the inevitable problems that arise, and I am not one of those types who thinks that everything in the world is perfect. Here are our difficulties that we experienced:-

Shower not working and dripping. No other rooms available as fully booked. Very apologetic concierge automatically refunded some of our payment and did his best to stop the dripping noise.

Slow service in bar caused by large numbers of people (45 mins for our food to arrive). Complained in a friendly way and food came instantly.

It's a big hotel! Some more signage might help in certain areas.


Staff at this hotel are lovely but on this weekend were all overworked. I think they coped magnificently but for the benefit of all guests I would recommend a review of staffing levels in relation to guest numbers on these busy weekends.

I would come again on a quieter weekend to see how things work when the pressure is off.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Ben C,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am glad you were impressed with the decor of the hotel, especially the grand staircase at the heart of the hotel. I do apologise you experienced an issue with the shower in your room and with being bank holiday we have been full the whole weekend, however like you mentioned it is the response and I am delighted Damon our porter was able to do his best to solve it and also a refund as an apology for the inconvenience. Thank you for your lovely praise for our staff who did an amazing job this weekend, considering how busy we were and we will certainly take your comments into consideration. I look forward to you both returning on another weekend in the future, to experience a quieter weekend and give us a top review.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherburn in Elmet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

It would not be fair on this venue not to share. This was a perfect day, handled in a perfect way. The hotel could not of done more. Wedding coordinator John gave 200per cent, all day, amazing man. Hotel immaculate, rooms immaculate. Food hot and tasty. Bar staff smiling and helpful all day and night. Spa great. Disabled Aunt ferried every where. Nothing was too much trouble. Keep up this amazing service, you are stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Maggy H,

Thank you for your great review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled your daughters wedding day was perfect on the Sunday just gone. Thank you for your praise for John and the rest of the team here at Shrigley, they certainly do us proud on such special days and I will ensure to let them know. I am thrilled the food was tasty and service amazing, especially with your Aunt being looked after. Congratulations to your daughter and husband, all the best and we hope you return to visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for friends wedding. Hotel is beautiful, very impressive staircase and ceiling at the top of the stairway. Our room was really nice, clean and well fitted out. just very difficulty to find, it's like a maze. Wedding reception was brilliant the food was excellent. Fantastic setting liked the fact that you didn't have to leave function rooms to get a drink . Toast master was great.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear den2801,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am delighted you had a lovely stay for your friends wedding, in which you found us to be a fantastic setting. Each of our main function rooms are very personal for weddings in the fact you don't need to leave them, so it’s nice you enjoyed this aspect. Thank you for your praise for our Toast Master on the evening and for the excellent food prepared and presented. I am glad you discovered the wow factor of the staircase decor in the main building, the ceiling is very impressive.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford Bridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We visited the hotel for a 2 night stay - dinner included on the first night. The hotel is gorgeous, the staff are fantastic, very friendly, excellent service without being too obtrusive. Dinner in the restaurant was beautifully cooked and tasted divine. The whole weekend would have been absolutely perfect if we had not had a room (123) directly above the function room and overlooking the courtyard which meant we could hear the guests "chatting" below. The hotel had functions both nights - not surprising given how lovely it is - but we could hear and feel the music in our room, it sounded as if there was a drumming competition - which unfortunately spoiied our stay a bit. That said it's an amazing place and I do want to go again - but only if I can have a room at the front and on the top floor as I think that would be quieter. We would recommend the walk around the golf course it is beautiful and look out for the deer !

Room Tip: Not overlooking the rear courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am delighted you enjoyed the excellent service experience within the Oakridge restaurant, along with beautifully divine food, I will pass compliments to the chef. I do apologise that you was disturbed by function noise over your stay, that room hasn't been noted for disturbance before so we will take this into consideration. I am glad that this hasn't stopped you wishing to return and into a quieter room to ensure your stay is unspoilt on your second visit. It is amazing you managed to spot the deer during the walk around the golf course, they are a great sight. And thank you for your lovely comments for our friendly staff, the praise is fantastic.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two-night stay here and I must say the setting and accessible varied walks through the extensive golf course make this venue a treat. The decoration throughout is extremely tasteful and emits an ambience of quality and well-being.
Everything, apart from the indoor pool, was enjoyable: food, service, cleanliness and spaciousness were all of a good standard. The pool, unfortunately, was far too small for any swimming workout - and this was my main reason for choosing this hotel! However all the other factors mentioned made up for this disappointment so we would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinsontar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Thomas R,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection. I am thrilled you and your wife enjoyed the accessible walking routes around our very scenic golf course. I am sorry the swimming pool wasn't as you expected, with our leisure department being situated in the converted chapel the swimming pool is at maximum size it can be. I am very glad the food, service and ambience more than made up for this. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pott Shrigley
3.6 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#4 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
23.0 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
14.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing