We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,231)
Filter reviews
3,231 results
Traveller rating
1,012
957
684
354
224
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,012
957
684
354
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard bar afternoon tea old church evening meal jacuzzi bath deluxe room peak district leisure facilities self service leisure club three course meal lovely setting groupon deal night break birthday treat short break relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
1,360 - 1,365 of 3,231 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Stayed here for my sister in laws wedding May 13th 2016. The staff were very helpful at reception, helped us with a query. Upon arrival, the hotel looks promising; nice views, old characteristic features etc. However, it is clear that the hotel is in need of some much needed upkeep. The night before the wedding, family and friends were rather disappointed (never mind the bridal party) to discover that the car park and plants area was all dug up, in the precise location were the wedding photo's were going to be taken. There were plants in the dug up area by the time the wedding came, but it looked a bit miss match. There was also a bit of litter, probably from the golfers, but this could have easily been picked up by staff, had they been proactive. Once we had checked in at the reception, we made our way to our room. This took longer than it should have. The hotel is not very customer friendly in that the signs to the rooms aren't clear and the hotel is confusing to navigate around. We entered our room only to discover the uncomfortable heat that welcomed us. To make matters worse, the windows were sealed so that you could not open them and there was no ventilation or air conditioning. If there was a fire in the room, I don't know what I would have done. I called reception to request someone help with the uncomfortable heat but no one came. After the wedding, I called reception from another guest's room and asked that we be moved as it was too hot and uncomfortable in the room we were given. The member of staff kept stating that they would call me back, to my surprise, they didn't. I called the reception desk two more times but nothing was done. The next morning we had our breakfast, which was the highlight. The food is good. As we were checking out, I mentioned the complaint we had to which we were given a 25% discounted price for our room. The staff member was happy to help us. It's a real shame because it looks promising and pretty as you drive up to the hotel, but it's clear the cracks that have appeared through the years, are now showing and they are noticeable. I probably would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016
4  Thank Jamesefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shigleyhall2016, Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay was not to a standard that you would have expected please accept our sincere apologies that this was the case. I am pleased that the team addressed the issues that you encountered prior to your departure and processed a 25% discount. We do value all feedback here at the hotel and ensure corrective measures are put into place following this.
Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We were very optimistic about our stay here after reading previous reviews, we found Shrigley hall lovely, our rooms were very comfortable and clean, dinner was good and breakfast was lovely, the boys played golf on the Saturday they recommend getting a buggy it's a very hard walk apparently. Overall we had a lovely stay and the staff were very welcoming and helpful, would definitely come back there's some lovely sights to be seen there,

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank HELEN-MICK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shigleyhall2016, Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at Shrigley Hall. Great review to read. I do hope that you will visit us here at the hotel again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

excellent location for exploring the national park and visiting Tatton park garden show, room was spacious and well equipped . Staff,friendly ,knowledgeable keen to help. beautiful grounds and walks with amazing views across Cheshire. great value would definitely come again. plenty of space to sit and have a drink and relax, outdoor courtyard attractive.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a view of the golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shigleyhall2016, Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at Shrigley Hall. Great review to read. I hope that you will visit us here again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Having read some of the reviews posted about Shrigley Hall it was with trepidation that we approached this hotel. However from the moment we turned into the drive all our concerns were gone, not only is the setting fantastic with amazing views across the Cheshire plains but also the architecture and scale of the buildings are most impressive. The welcome we received inside the hotel was equally impressive and this set the tone for the entire weekend. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this nature. The scale of the hotel does mean that you will need to get your bearings and we did take a few detours that were not planned. Food and drinks were reasonably priced and of a good quality especially the breakfast which was amazing. Overall a fabulous hotel that is ideally located for either shopping trips to Manchester or for those looking to explore the stunning scenery of the Peak District. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Busy Wedding venue so ask for rooms awat from the function rooms. ....not a major issue though
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyB3795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shigleyhall2016, Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at Shrigley Hall. Great review to read and I hope we will have the pleasure in you visiting us here again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We booked a one night Groupon break including dinner wine and breakfast and for the price we paid it was very good.
We go on these breaks regularly as we enjoy spas especially using pools steam, rooms and jacuzzis. The spa here is in a converted church and quite different than others we have stayed at. The jacuzzi in our opinion isn't one it is so shallow when you sit down it just about covers your waist. The sauna was ok and pool not very big if you like doing lengths. The steam room was big but needed a refurbished as paint was peeling off ceiling.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the hotel itself is very nice, comfortable rooms. We would return on a promotional offer.

Room Tip: Front overlooking golf course
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shigleyhall2016, Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at Shrigley hall. Lovely review to read, I hope that you will visit us here again sometime in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews