We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh, Dear” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol De Mexico Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Sol De Mexico Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Spanish, Mexican
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, Dear”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

How hard is it to screw up a simple enchilada order? They found it an easy chore here. Well, the staff are pleasant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I was excited to know there was a Mexican restaurant in Cannon Falls. The food was good, but the atmosphere left something to be desired. The building was an old fast food building with a drive through. If they could fix it up to be a comfortable, cozy atmosphere, it would be a nice alternative for the area. As it stands, the place was pretty empty on a Friday night. The food was tasty and the wait staff attentive. It just needs a big boost in decorating to be a place I'd want to go to again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank iam_intrigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food - gluten free available”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor my friend and I decided to meet at Sol De Mexico (since it was halfway for both of us). I need to eat gluten free and was able to with ease. Our waiter knew the green sauce was gluten free and the enchiladas were as well. The chips / salsa were great and cooked in their own oil so no cross-contamination. The atmosphere is average since it looks like it was a Hardees or something in a previous life, but that's the only downfall. The food was fabulous (all 4 of us agreed) and the prices were very reasonable. I highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“47$ for a group of 5!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Good food, relaxed ambiance, great service, good portions for one! Plus free chips with homemade salsa as an app. 1.50$ for coronitas ;) Would visit if Im around again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PereiraFamily048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great service, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Went to Sol De Mexico on April 22 for my birthday with family. I've driven by this place often but have been ambivilent to give it a try. It was so much better than expected. Likely one of the best Mexican restuarants I've been to! We had a group of 5; each of us ordered something different. Our waiter, Raul, was patient in answering all our questions about sauces, ingredients, and what dishes looked like. He offered his suggestions and they were delicious. The free chips they bring to the table are spicy... you will need a margarita! When Raul found out it was my birthday, he brought a big sombrero and shot of tequila for the group to take a photo of me. It was a good time. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSandSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol De Mexico Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing