We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Mexican cuisine”

Sol De Mexico Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Cannon Falls
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is not a chain restaurant, it is a small family-owned and -operated business. The staff are mostly from Mexico and are extremely friendly and wanting to meet and serve you. Their food is modeled after genuine Mexican cuisine, not "Americanized". The pricing is affordable, and the portions are quite generous - we can't always finish what is served to us. We often go home with a take home box. There is Mexican and / or Hispanic (Cuban, Dominican, latin) music playing whenever we are there, which adds to the ambiance. The building previously housed a fast food "hamburger joint", and it has not been totally renovated to reflect what we often expect to see in a Mexican restaurant. But the business was started from meager means, so maybe some day . . . . It is a favorite dining place of ours, and we have made great friends with the owners and staff. We would take any of our friends there, to meet the staff and, of course, for the great food. This is a great asset to a small "meat and potatoes" town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst. Service. Ever.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Went there when we were in town for a barrel race. Got there earlier than our group of friends...when they arrived we had already eaten but wanted to move by th to continue to enjoy happy hour and socialize. Well, our waiter never came by so we could tell him, but there was plenty of tables open and the place is small, so clearly he saw us move. He comes around to take their drink orders and food orders and never looked at us....then brought their drinks...finally I said "we moved to be with out friends but still want to keep our tab open and drink so can we order?" And he said "well you didn't ask permission to move" and begrudgingly took our drink order. Horrible service, meh food...left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, Dear”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

How hard is it to screw up a simple enchilada order? They found it an easy chore here. Well, the staff are pleasant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I was excited to know there was a Mexican restaurant in Cannon Falls. The food was good, but the atmosphere left something to be desired. The building was an old fast food building with a drive through. If they could fix it up to be a comfortable, cozy atmosphere, it would be a nice alternative for the area. As it stands, the place was pretty empty on a Friday night. The food was tasty and the wait staff attentive. It just needs a big boost in decorating to be a place I'd want to go to again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank iam_intrigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food - gluten free available”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor my friend and I decided to meet at Sol De Mexico (since it was halfway for both of us). I need to eat gluten free and was able to with ease. Our waiter knew the green sauce was gluten free and the enchiladas were as well. The chips / salsa were great and cooked in their own oil so no cross-contamination. The atmosphere is average since it looks like it was a Hardees or something in a previous life, but that's the only downfall. The food was fabulous (all 4 of us agreed) and the prices were very reasonable. I highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol De Mexico Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing