We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave It Another Try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chanhassen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I reviewed this hotel last year. There were issues, but we liked it enough to try it again. All the positive comments of my last review still apply. The website had been updated to more accurately represent what the hotel offers, but some of the negatives have not changed. The carpet in the room we were in was very, very stained and the bedspreads were still stained. When we made the reservation we requested a room not on the ground floor. We were given a ground floor room, and when we mentioned our request, we were told by the front desk clerk that she had been too busy to look at requests and had just finally had time to assign reservations to rooms. She did fix it and put us on the second floor. If you showered at night, there was plenty of hot water, but when I showered at 7:30 every morning, the water was barely warm. Three of the five days we were there, breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room was spotless. On the days the same attendant from last year worked, the food was burned, dried out, and seldom replenished and the counters were never wiped off, garbage wasn't emptied...big difference. The room was clean, but if you have a special housekeeping request, it is difficult to get that request filled. For example, I always pull the bedspread off the bed and keep it off the entire trip. I then get a clean flat sheet from the front desk and put it over the blanket. Everyday I would either personally ask the housekeeper or leave a note on the bed requesting that the sheet be left on the bed when the bed was made and the bedspread remain off. Out of the five nights we stayed, this request was honored once. Three of the days the sheet was gone and the bedspread was put back on the bed and one day the beds weren't even made and the only thing done in the room was the towels were taken and the garbage emptied. This was reported to the front desk, who did nothing. Depending on the time of day, staff can be friendly or not. Everyone in the morning was always smiling and pleasant, but we usually returned to the hotel early evening and by then the mood had changed. Most everyone at night always appeared overworked and frazzled, plus they were never at the front desk. You always had to wait for them to come from the back. One night I waited 10 minutes for someone to come out just to get towels. I know they were in the back because I could hear them, but they never came out, even after I said "Hello?". Something that really bothers me and I know it is a minor, petty thing to complain about is cookies. I know cookies are just a courtesy the hotel puts out, but if your going to do it, be consistent. Have enough for more than twelve guests, put them out every night or just Monday -Friday, not only if you feel like it. If you have a consistent flow of customers requesting cookies, make some more. I witnessed four different groups of guests ask if there were more cookies and the answer was always no. Cookies are even shown on the key cards, so if you advertise it, have it. If it's too much work, don't have them or put up a sign saying when they are available. Last year I said I didn't know if we'd return. This year we decided to give it another try. Will we stay again, I don't know. Through Country Inn promotions, we can get a better rate here than other hotels in the Cities. There are no major problems, just minor issues that bother me because I am so picky. All in all, this is a nice place to stay that I would recommend you should give a try.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JADols, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

On behalf of my entire team, I would like to extend my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not more enjoyable. Our goal is to exceed expectations, so the stay you describe simply isn’t good enough for us. While we appreciate that some aspects of your experience were good, your feedback has allowed us to focus on improving our service in the other areas you mentioned. We have just recently gone through a renovation to the entire hotel. We will do our best to make sure we are taking care of carpets and bedspreads as they become a problem. Additionally, we’ve changed our breakfast room procedures to insure more consistent food delivery during our breakfast hours. Feed back like yours is important because through it we are able to provide better service to all of our guest’s . Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the unit and the service of the maids and desk personell. What a great place to stay. Alll were very helpful and knew their jobs well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCloudEast, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us earlier in July. We hope that you were able to enjoy some of the beautiful Minnesota weather while you were here also. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you come to the area.

Sincerely,
Lyn Kaczmarek, CHSP
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Hotel is in a great location that is within walking distance to a variety of stores and eateries. The staff was exceptionally friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateH46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCloudEast, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Kate,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our property location being close to lots of restaurants and shopping in Chanhassen. We looking forward to having you stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Chanhassen.

Sincerely,
Lyn Kaczmarek, CHSP
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My visit was for the NPC Gopher State Figure Competition. The entire staff was very friendly and very accomodating to our needs! After the show we stopped by the lounge and the bartender was very kind to stay open and serve us! The next morning the breakfast was fantastic!! Hit the spot after 20 weeks of training and dieting!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCloudEast, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Thank you for staying with us during the NPC event this spring, first of all we hope that we can see you again this fall during the NPC Northstar Event. As the 2010 Global Hotel of the Year for Country Inn & Suites we enjoy hearing from our guests that they enjoyed their stay, had a great time in the High Timber Lounge and that our breakfast hit the spot. We are constantly improving all aspects of the hotel and believe that with feedback from our guests we can continue to be the best place to stay in Chanhassen. We look forward to seeing you again in September hopefully!

Sincerely~
Lyn Kaczmarek, CHSP
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

A great hotel, a great staff, very helpful with a ready smile. This was done in conjunction with the Chanhassen Dinner Theatre - walking distance. We are making this a regular short winter getaway, and we look forward to it!
Thanks for your hospitality.
Bill and Mary Miller
New London, MN

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillNewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StCloudEast, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Bill & Mary~
It is always nice to hear that couples are able to make a great little getaway to our hotel and the Chanhassen Dinner Theatre during the winter. It is great all year long, but especially during the long, cold winter. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel this coming winter for Hairspray or Forever Plaid. Please let us know when you are coming to visit so we can be sure to welcome you back.

Sincerely~
Lyn Kaczmarek, CHSP
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

oh man, what a great little lounge this is attached to the Country Inn and Suites!!! Drinks are tasty and cheap and the ambiance is fantastic.

Thur and Fri nights they do karaoke, and the place gets packed!!!! it gets a little wild sometimes too! once i ended up backup dancing for someone singing baby got back... IN PAJAMA PANTS!!! HAHAHAHA!!! and another time a man serenaded me with a pink floyd song!

Great little spot, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinSIkkink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This hotel is right next door to the Chanhassen Dinner theatre which we attended. The hotel is very clean, amazingly quiet, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of table space in the breakfast area and a fun little bar attached for a glass of wine before bed. I wish every hotel stay would be this perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryPierreSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chanhassen
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Chanhassen
AmericInn Chanhassen
#2 of 4 in Chanhassen
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanhassen Inn
Chanhassen Inn
#3 of 4 in Chanhassen
61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chanhassen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Eden Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen

Address: 591 W 78th St, Chanhassen, MN 55317-9677
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Chanhassen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chanhassen
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll have you saying "I Love this Country" after you stay with the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen, MN. Our newly renovated, award winning hotel is pleased to provide our guests with the highest quality of service along with spacious and comfortable gueatrooms and suites. We are located within walking distance to the world famous Chanhassen Dinner Theatre along with a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment in downtown Chanhassen. Our guests enjoy our complimentary "Be Our Guest" hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool, fitness center, High Timber Lounge and complimentary weekday shuttle service to local companies including Emerson/Rosemount, Supervalu, General Mills, Lifetime, Snap Fitness, LSS Data, Eaton, Exlar, Entegris and others within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Our High Timber Conference Center offers meeting space able to host meetings and events from 5 to 100 people with catering available also. We look forward to welcoming you to the Country Inn & Suites Chanhassen, MN and having you say "I love this Country"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson _ Chanhassen
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson _ Chanhassen Hotel Chanhassen
Country Hotel By Carlson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing