We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avrille
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Domaine des Forges
Certificate of Excellence
Eastry
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hideous”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Not for young families. The main issue, aside from noise is shade. No shade or privacy on the pitches as vegetation was not established. Crammed in - hearing every single word, snore, etc of the neighbours. There is no shade at the pool or the 'bar' area. Given we were in tents and the temperature s in excess 30 degrees this shouldn't be underestimated. Pool is not really suitable for those under 6 or 7 years unless they can swim. Pool area gets seriously overcrowded. Shop is appalling. Food is overpriced and not nice. Neighbouring village is not really walking distance so limited use in making up for site inadequacies. So glad when the week was up and didn't have to go for drives in the cars aircon for respite. Never ever ever ever intend going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank squiddyEastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
80
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent three weeks on this campsite,and were very pleased with what we found.
The campsite itself was very spacious and very clean. The pitch sizes were very generous. We stayed on the newer part of the site. Noise was not a problem for us. Certainly during the day we heard little, on a night usually Mon-Thurs evenings we could hear music but it was not offensive and did not detract from our stay. I must specifically make a point about the staff. They were the friendliest bunch of people ever and could not do enough to help you. Along with the fact there was a free wifi area, bouncy castles for the kids, ping pong, crazy golf but also a free fishing lake. We had a lovely time here. However we wouldn't go back as we found the area slightly disappointing. The nearest beach was about 6 miles away. The same could be said about supermarkets too. We usually holiday about 30 miles north of the area in St Jean du Monts and think we have been spoilt by this. All in all if you are looking to stay mainly on the site then it's ideal. If you do visit this area Puy Du Fou is a must and tickets can purchased from reception at a reduced price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Stealib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks here. Although the facilities were clean and ample, the rest of the brochure description is less than precise.

You could relax between the hours of 0100 and 0900 if that is all you need but the music starts most nights at 9pm and stops after midnight. It is loud and can be heard clearly anywhere on the whole site. Then, if you fancied a lie in, you are woken every morning at 9am with pool music!

The location is great for most things and the local beaches are amazing BUT the site is NOT quiet as the brochure suggests.

There were a lot of British regulars on the site who all said it is not the place it once was since Franceloc took over last year. I really think they've killed the goose that laid the golden egg for them. I can imagine it was once a place of tranquillity and peace. No more!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was there high season, but the camping areas were hardly used. Mobile homes etc all seemed full. I stayed with my two boys, 5 and 6 for 3 nights in a small tent, which was lost in the large camp spaces. We didn't use the electric, and to be charged an extra 11 Euros for "administration" on top of the already high end camping fees I think is a bit cheeky. To make it worth your while you would need to make use of all facilities and entertainments, eg the kids club; but alot of that is things like mask making, stone painting etc, which my two boys have done to death at school etc. The crazy golf was indeed crazy as some of the holes were identical and others actually impossible to do, regardless of skill levels. The fact that they only had 3 balls was ok as we were the only ones on it at the time. It was free. Table tennis was ok for beginners as the concrete table does not give a good result. Kareoke and other ents did indeed go on until after midnight, and the constant stream of people coming back would annoy those wanting an early night. No shade in the tenting areas did mean we couldn't use the tent in the day.
Good points? The pool was a winner with my two lads, and they both managed the two main slides no problems. It was all they wanted to do. The pools are nice and even though there were lots of people it did not feel crowded in the water. Indoor and outdoor, and baby pools too. The pool edging did hurt my feet and after 3 days they did feel well buffed, and a bit tender. The two bouncy castles were also great, although they did get a few (too) big rough kids on at times. Cars allowed to park by the tents made small tent living easy and despite this, the site did not seem to be bothered by too much traffic. Not may showers/toilets etc, but never had to wait, although we were one of the few tents in our section. The site was clean and well maintained and is set up with avenues/cul de sacs going off of the main road. This is nice as the kids were all able to play out on the roads on bikes etc without car issues. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and were keen to speak the customers' language.
The nearby village is nice to walk to and the local shop keeper is very jolly (well, he would be the prices he is charging). Call in at a supermarket and get stocked up before you arrive.
Overall, A bit of a poor 5 star, and not the place to go for peace and quiet. But it kept the kids happy, so I was happy. Not sure what we would have done if it had rained (gone home I think). I enjoyed it but wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locmeltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked this site as it was advertised as good for young children. I would disagree. We camped in a grande emplacement which was large and more spacious than I have previously experienced elsewhere but it had no shade at all. The temperature was in the high 30's and the lack of shade made it very challenging at times, especially for our young children. In addition, the swings and children's play area advertised on their website did not exist. It had been replaced by some water slides which where great for older children but realistically, not suitable for any child under 6. The swings were missed by our disappointed girls although the free bouncy castle made up for it (but this was too hot to bounce on except in the early morning or early evening)!

We were there for a fortnight in mid August and on 5 nights our sleep was disturbed by loud music that could be clearly heard on our pitch (some distance from the bar area). This music started early, about 8 and went on until midnight. Our children found it very disturbing to their sleep and we found it very disturbing for our evenings. The worst night was definitely the karaoke evening - a peaceful evening ruined by drunk, loud, terrible singing!

The toilet facilities were cleaned at least 3 times daily and were always clean. We rarely queued to use showers or toilets. The pools, again, were very clean and looked after with a good size toddler pool as well as big pool. The inside pools were useful for a break from the sun occasionally. Unfortunately there were two issues with the pool. Firstly, there were not enough sun loungers and people selfishly 'reserved' their lounges with towels when they left the pool area. This made it very difficult to get a lounger if we went to the pool later in the afternoon. Secondly, the ground around the pool was very rough and uncomfortable to walk on (although slip free). Shoes were not allowed in the pool area and we had to carry our little one as the floor hurt her feet too much.

The shop was rarely maned and poorly stocked although there is a decent Co-op in easy walking distance and a good supermarket about 15 minutes drive. The bar and food was ok, nothing special but good enough.

The site had surprisingly few insects and we were rarely disturbed by wasps or mosquitoes - possibly due to there only being one bin area on the site?

There are some lovely beaches nearby, our favourite was Les Conches, about 15 minutes drive away. There is very little in the nearby village but if you want more of a bustle and tourist resort, try Les Tranche Sur Mer, about 30 minutes away.

Despite all our complaints, we had a very enjoyable stay on this site and felt welcome. Staff were friendly and helpful and the spacious pitches meant we were able to chat to our neighbours but not feel squashed together. I would return to this site but would definitely request a pitch with shade (there are a few....) or take at least one gazebo with us. Be warned though, the ground is very hard!

Although I liked this campsite, I do not feel it is worthy of the 5 stars it currently holds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aimee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This campsite promotes itself as a peaceful setting for young families - IT IS NOT, and please don't be drawn in by the website as it is very misleading. In general, the site is clean & tidy with good facilities, (although interestingly Castels class it as 5 star when local signs state it is 3 - perhaps because of issues such as the shop which is rarely open and sells about ten items, the camping pitches which are in the main crammed into one field with no shade or privacy, or the 4 washing machines and 2 dryers for the entire site!) The pool / water slides are great fun & clean, but extremely busy after mid-morning. There is no children's playground - not sure why when it said on the website that there was - but there was a bouncy castle. We asked to be far away from the main area as we have young children - we needn't have bothered as it made no difference in terms of peace & quiet. Although our cabin was nicely situated on the lake, there was only about 3 meters on both sides from our neighbours, so no privacy at all. However, it was at night that the problems really started. To been with, there is noticeably no quiet 'cut off' time as at many campsites. Many older children were still playing out at 11pm/Midnight & there were hoards of French teenagers hanging around the main area every night making a racket until very, very late. The bar plays loud, booming music all day and it's worse at night - so no nice, quiet family meals in the courtyard! Worst of all though was the extremely loud 'entertainment' almost every night (5 out of 7), inc. one when a disco played deafening music across the park until Midnight. The end result was two weeks with two exhausted children and staff who simply didn't care as complaints fell on deaf ears. We won't be returning and I would seriously discourage anyone with children younger than teenagers to avoid this site like the plague.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in one of the new wooden lodges mentioned by one of the other reviewers. (A "Habana")
We were there two weeks at the beginning of August 2012.
In terms of positives -
- the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the girls who work on reception
- the outdoor pool is excellent for families although does get very busy and loungers are at a premium after about 1030
- we thought the site is well looked after, although admittedly we didn't need to use the toilet blocks as we were in a cabin
- the site is really safe for kids. My son learned to ride his bike without stabilisers on the site and there was never any danger from cars etc.
- there are plenty of places to visit in the area. We especially liked rowing on the "Venice Verte" canals and also visiting the "Chateau des Aventuriers"
- there are a lot of nice beaches a short drive away from the site. Be careful of the car parks at the coast though as they mostly have barriers at < 1.9m so no good for any larger car with a roofbox.
- the wifi is really good
Not so good for us was
- my parents spent a week with us and found the pool too busy and noisy for them
- there is nothing in Avrille except for a couple of shops, a pizzeria and restaurant, plus a small supermarket (which interestingly closes between about 12pm and 4pm !)
- the Habanas are indeed too close together. We were in a row of about 8 which were adjacent to the lake. So there is no privacy from either the footpath which runs next to the lake or your neighbours as you are sat outside about 3 metres apart on your decking !
- the late night karaoke etc. was noisy although this did always finish by 11.30 and wasnt every night
- the on site restaurant struggled with timings when they were busy

Room Tip: I would avoid a Habana and go for one of the other mobile homes, unless you don't mind about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T1nners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avrille
5.1 mi away
Camping Le Petit Rocher
Camping Le Petit Rocher
#2 of 12 in Longeville-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
11.1 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#3 of 6 in Chateau-d'Olonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camping La Grand'Metairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Camping Les Blancs Chenes
Camping Les Blancs Chenes
#3 of 18 in La Tranche sur Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
12.4 mi away
Camping Bel Air
Camping Bel Air
#1 of 2 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
18.7 mi away
Camping L'Ocean
Camping L'Ocean
#2 of 5 in Brem Sur Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Domaine des Forges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Domaine des Forges

Property: Camping Domaine des Forges
Address: Rue des Forges, 85440 Avrille, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Avrille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Avrille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing