We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go unless you're with the Wedding or Confernce”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaska
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you're with the Wedding or Confernce”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked a quick stay during the weekend for a short getaway for my wife's birthday. We were going out to eat at Terra Waconia (Great food) and to do some star gazing out at the MAS on Saturday night, and didn't want the hour long trip back to the cities.
I would not recommend going to this hotel, though.
This is a former corporate headquarters for Ameri-prise, I think. They did not tell us there was going to be a wedding there that night, and the wedding group basically took over the whole place. First, there is no valet parking. You have to park in the lots and walk which isn't that bad, but then don't say valet parking on your website. The restaurant was closed due to the wedding (don't they have a ballroom?) but the lounge was open, although disappointing to say the least. The staff is lackadaisical and seemed to want to do only the minimum. The rooms are small and not worth $124/per night. This is a $89/room max type of hotel. Minimum amenities, no in-room safe, or fridge/mini-bar, outdated furniture, old TV, small pillows. Our "lake front" room had a beautiful view of trees, no lake. When we first arrived, we thought we'd take a walk around the lake path. We went to the front desk to ask how to get down to the lake, and the first lady said "Oh, it's a mile and a half walk, did you know that?" Of course we did. It's not that long lady, we're pretty fit, besides. She said to go down the steps and out the door. There was a large group of people gathering on the patio for the wedding so we said we didn't think that was appropriate, and she said it wasn't a problem, the wedding wouldn't start for awhile. So we went down the steps and were greeted by the Bridal party in front of the door primping the Bride in a white dress. We immediately turned around and went back. As we were walking back we spotted a hotel employee and she stated we could always go around the north side of the building were there was a path through the woods that would take us down to the path. We did do that, but it was quite a bit out of the way, and fairly steep. After we got our walk in, we went back to the room and got ready for dinner. My wife had a cup of coffee from the Keurig (that was a nice touch) coffee maker. The set you up with two regular coffee k-cups, one decaf and one tea. I took a shower and we were off to our night out. When we returned around 11:30, still no valet, and we were greeted by drunken wedding guests smoking in the front entrance. One you enter the front entrance all you hear is the booming dance party from the two story atrium/restaurant where the wedding was being held. Our room, 207, was right down the hall from this. We approached the front desk and inquired if we could move because of the noise. We were told that every room was booked and that would not be possible. She stated the dance music would stop about 12:30 or 1pm and offered us ear plugs?!? We said no, but since my wife had made one of the regular coffee k-cups that afternoon, she requested another one for the morning when we woke up. The front desk lady went into her cupboards and looked, but then came back and let us know she was out of regular coffee and but she had some decaf. I don't know about you, but my wife and I looked at other and broke out laughing. What type of hotel runs out of coffee?!? In any case we went back to our room and watched some stupid movie until 1 pm when the booming music stopped.
I'm sure this would have been a fine place if we were there with the wedding. However, if you simply looking for a night or two away, skip this place altogether. Turning a corporate headquarters near a lake into a hotel sounds like a good idea, but it's really not.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikesmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
36
2
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Attended a outdoor family wedding in August 2013 at this facility and was amazed at the grounds(beautiful lush setting) the clean, comfortable rooms and delicious food. Great morning after breakfast buffet too.
They did an excellent job meeting the needs of guests and were well prepared for the day long event. There was another large wedding going on at the same time but event issues never interfered with each other. Staff was adequate and focused on our event....no shortage of attention! Good location with great results.

Room Tip: Hallways are long and tangled....ask for a room not too far down the hall but somewhat away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertgirl389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel and conference space joined by 2 level lobby and upstairs bar seating area. Hotel is out of the city, some visitors took ( based on available driver and first come first serve) hotel shuttle van to small shopping (target,kohls, qudoba fast food ) about 1/4 -1/3 mile done busy highway . Hotel has gravel waking path nice as featured. Buffet changes daily and staff very helpful ( retail Buffet pricing is about 18$ FYI). Room was quiet and conference area nice and very accessible. conference provided awesome snack area hot drinks unique snacks(vegetarian, desserts, traditional chips salsa) - easy to over eat here.
I liked it very much, but you will need a rental car from airport if you plan to go back into city.
Took us 50 minutes to return to airport on Friday night via hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

What keeps bringing me back to this place is the delicious food. The breakfast and brunch buffets are among the best I have tried in the Twin Cities and are a definite must-try! If you want the secret behind the recipes ask for the sous chef she is delightful!

The hotel is also a great place for weddings- a quiet, open beautiful space overlooking a wooded lake. There is not a pool but a ton of recreational facilities available for planning a that the management is happy to convert for a special event. The weddings I've seen there are stunning!

Overall you MUST try the Seasons restaurant and consider Oak Ridge if you are holding any large special event!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Customer service and food choices rival five star resorts. The rooms are very basic but extremely clean. Lovely fireplaces and a beautiful woodland setting. I have stayed at Oak Ridge three times over the past 18 months never disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms with a nature trail or court yard view on the third level have the most enjoyable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpenasandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have stayed here twice. It is on a small lake and has the feel of being "out in the countryside." We had vouchers both times for discount on a room w. breakfast and drinks included. Otherwise it would be out of our price range. We love it there. The staff is great, the breakfast buffet wonderful. Rooms on the small side but lovely. Walking paths. No pool tho. Big fireplace to read or dine by. Fitness/Exercise room.

Room Tip: This is a large conference center type hotel, so a room can be a long ways from the front desk. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revgmb4689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We recently stayed at Oak Ridge with a living social deal and the value was outstanding. We wanted to visit the Mall of America and looked for something relatively close. My wife and I stayed here with our two year old. There is not a pool, but there is a gym with plenty of sports equipment to use, so our little one got a kick out of that. The food at the Seasons Restaurant was excellent and the view was amazing. We hope to get back in the fall to enjoy the wooded view and lake. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We missed the time slot for breakfast by 15 minutes and the staff and kitchen kindly remained open a little longer. This would be a great destination for a couples or marriage retreat, especially during the summer when everything outside is available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelieveM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaska
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chanhassen
3.8 mi away
Chanhassen Inn
Chanhassen Inn
#3 of 4 in Chanhassen
59 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Chanhassen
AmericInn Chanhassen
#2 of 4 in Chanhassen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chanhassen
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Eden Prairie
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 1 Oakridge Dr, Chaska, MN 55318-1030
Region: United States > Minnesota > Chaska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 130 wooded acres on Lake McKnight in Chaska, Minnesota; just 25 minutes from downtown Minneapolis and the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport; featuring 147 guestrooms including executive and junior suites. Our award-winning Seasons Restaurant features full hot Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner buffets and our fabulous Sunday Brunch. Relax in the evenings in our Lakeview Lounge. Enjoy our fitness center, gymnasium, racquetball courts, locker rooms, saunas, bonfire pit, outdoor patios, softball diamond, volleyball courts, jogging/walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Ridge Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Ridge Hotel Chaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing