We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Allergy Alert” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelson Brothers Restaurant & Bakery

Nelson Brothers Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food Allergy Alert”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

When asked if they had any items on menu that would be gluten free they said no. When I asked if they could make something they said "NO IF THEY HAD TO MAKE EXCEPTIONS FOR ONE THEY WOULD HAVE TO DO IT FOR ALL." Hard to believe in this day and age that this still happens. Avoid if you have food allergens.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    58
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clear Lake, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome Bakery! Fabulous Artesian Bread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fabulous artesian breads-5 or 6 different types baked daily and all are amazing. The deli service is efficient and offers a substantial number of choices of breads, hot and cold sandwiches and great soups, especially the wild rice(this is MN!). Rolls and muffins are monster sized and made to be shared. The cinnamon and "sticky buns" are huge, soft and buttery. The bakery and deli can be very crowded but service is usually fast. Fair prices for the quality and portion size.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suedrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OMG Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had breakfast there and it was the best breakfast I had in forever the fritter french toast is amazing. Well worth the wait to get in. Staff was friendly and also allergy aware.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Wow, what a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

After passing by this place a hundred times, I finally stopped in after hearing from my co-workers how awesome this place is. On my first visit I couldn't make it past the bakery! The baked goods were delicious and SO big, almost a meal in themselves....the apple fritter, wow. My next visit, I had to shield my eyes as I walked by the bakery so I could check out the made to order sandwiches...the bread they make is heavenly, I have yet to try any other than the multigrain bread...it's that good. I purchased a loaf of their apple fritter bread (finishing the last bit of it as I type) and it's wonderful...I bet it would be delicious turned into French toast.
There is still more to check out, their soups? If I can make it past the bakery and the sandwiches I'll try more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, North Dakota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New Lounge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have been stopping by this place for years. The "lounge" was always a joke of this little counter area. Within the last year or so, they have made some AMAZING improvements. Friend and I sat in the lounge, enjoyed the big screen TV's and of course the most amazing food ever.

On this trip, I had the garlic burger on a garlic bun. Wonderful! Just don't plan on kissing anyone later. Fried pickles are the best I've had in a long time. Also were super fast to the table. A gotta try is the Crabby Eggs Benedicts. Served on your choice of bread (of course baked that day on site), Covered with two huge crab cakes, two perfect eggs and of course holiandaise sauce. OMG, must try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rkeytec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelson Brothers Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Clearwater, MN
 

Been to Nelson Brothers Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing