We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Gate Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cloquet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Gate Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

They seemed to have remodeled since the last reviews because I see no mold in my room. Beds are comfy. The owner is the sweetest, we had a tornado watch last night and she told us we would go in her basement. Which was a relief since I have a 2.5 month old baby. I love this motel, sure its not fancy but if you're looking for fancy go to the Marriott or something.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st.cloud
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This would be a last resort for a place to stay! The motel attendent was friendly enough but they should have paid us to stay there! We were in a crunch when we booked the three rooms at this motel. We booked it for a party of 6 bikers who just needed a place to stay for one night. The rooms were literally falling apart. Tiles falling off of the bathroom walls mold everywhere in the bathroom, celing, walls, shower, toilet, floors. I would think the state would be interested in seeing this place condemned! We had to ask for kleenexes and toilet paper, because the three rooms together couldn't fill a roll of toilet paper. There was no door mouldings around the doors, and the heater vents were falling off the wall. The light bulb in the bathroom had to be turned in and out to use it, because the pull string was broken. Needless to say, I refused to take a shower for sanitary reasons.
Like I said.... Run away!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cloquet hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Golden Gate Motel is terrible! I hate to say that, because the owner (who lives onsite) is really nice. In fact, she gave me a refund with no hassle. What can I say: there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling, rust around the bathtub, the frame of the 30-year-old microwave was coming apart, the walls needed about three more coats of paint, the carpet had to be about 20 years old (very dirty and gross to walk on), the fridge (no little freezer) had crumbs all over the inside, the owner said the beds were "brand new" - but they were hard as a rock and very thin...as soon as I discovered that the air conditioner and brand new deadbolt lock didn't work (at midnight, two hours after I got there), I asked for a refund. The owner did say that she had all new air conditioners waiting to be installed, but that didn't help me at all. The weird thing is, it was packed! There were no other rooms available - not that I would have taken one... I went to Black Bear Casino and paid an extra $30 for a room in the tower there. Definitely worth it. I couldn't have imagined waking up in the room at Golden Gate!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is definately THE worst motel i have ever stayed in.. and i have stayed in some pretty seedy motels.. From the moist carpets, to the 1960s old pillows, disgusting bathrooms and not to mention the seedy bar next door, with its patrons retiring to their rooms right next to yours, fighting and screaming for hours on end.. this is by far the worst place to stay.. spend 30 bucks more and stay at the americinn!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Nataleigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Where do I begin? With the strip club next door? Or the windows without screens that wouldn't close? Or the bugs or the dirt? Need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MplsDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloquet
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
16.5 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
16.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
14.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Motel

Property: Golden Gate Motel
Address: 3202 River Gate Ave, Cloquet, MN 55720-2896
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Golden Gate Hotel Cloquet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing