We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Successful Week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another Successful Week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Returned this year with group of 16. Great time! The golf course was in superb condition, even with rain dump one night. Front desk very accommodating. We had 3 villas. Dined at Otis, adults did WIne Down, kids swam in pool & lake, pontoons, kayaks, volleyball, horseshoes, campfires, and grilled.

Puzzled by some of the complaints. SLL is a resort on a lake, it's not the Ritz! Is the food fine cuisine? No, but we didn't have to cook! Pool too small? Go jump in the lake! Our group found resort had something for everyone.

I'll give you the wi-fi complaint--but kinda nice not to be plugged in all the time. Oh, yeah, and one villa was missing some forks and the weather wasn't as warm. We survived. And will return!

Room Tip: Love the golf course villas, but the Lodge rooms are new and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
13
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had planned on staying at Sugar lake lodge for four nights but left after only two. Stayed in a vills on golf course and the place was very rundown. The bathroom door wouldn't stay shut or lock, the kitchen and bathroom drains smelled terrible and the one bedroom upstairs had no air at all. The aircondtioner upstairs made so much noise we were up most of the night.Had to complain three times before somone would come to look at the air condictioner . They still couldn't fix and they didn't offer us a different Villa so we left the next day.. The pool was very small and crowded and the food at Ottis was just ok. But if you golfed I guess you would be ok because that's all they seemed to catered to. I certainly wouldn't spend almost $300 a night for what we got.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just got back from a long weekend at Sugar Lake Lodge. The room was large and clean although did not sleep well as the bed was extremely hard. The pool was old and small with uneven cracked concrete deck but at least warm. Almost too warm as it was like swimming in a bath tub. Nice beach area for the kids. Complaints would be that we were attacked by bees the entire time we were swimming at the pool. In fact in some pictures I took of our kids at the pool there are bees on their heads. Also while playing in the sand at the beach the kids became covered in small black bugs so that ended our fun at the beach for the rest of the weekend. They have a very small kids playground that did not hold my kids interest long. The metal slide was very hot and burnt their legs. We tried their free bike rental but all of their kids bikes seemed to be in need of repairs. We did not golf so can't comment on that. Probably will not go back as we have stayed at nicer resorts. This one seems to be in need of some updates especially in their outdoor areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

A great experience from beginning to end. The staff are very accomodating.

Room Tip: The Asplin Suite is a great space for a small group. Self contained, private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgbChaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here as part of a three day work conference. They had a group checking out that morning and all of us that night (but it still kept them at pretty low occupancy - around 80 guests). The front desk was unable to accomodate an early check in for our specific room, which I guess is understandable. You could tell they were at a skeletal crew for cleaning, dining, and front desk. The front desk girl was very "blah" about her job, not even a smile. Seemed like she was hung over both mornings. Anyway, once we did get in (Suite 607) was very nice, it had a full kitchen stocked with all of the pots, pans, dishes and silverware, papertowels, towels, salt and pepper, everything. Full fridge, microwave, oven, stovetop. The sitting room had a gas fireplace and a huge deck overlooking the lake. The deck had a nice rocking chair, table and chairs, and even a huge gas cooking grill. The only thing that sucked is that room had a really really small tv (like maybe the size of my computer screen). The bedroom had a queen bed or smaller, another tv (this one bigger) and a dvd/vcr player. The room also had a huge hottub, but the jets didnt work and when I called Mrs. Happy at the front desk she didnt offer a solution, so we just did without. It would have been nice customer service skills to apologize or offer maintenance or another room (not that we would have wanted to move at that point, but still). The bathroom is very small but clean and well equipped with lots of towels and a nice shower (water pressure was a little weak). The food servce for our meetings was great and they had really nice breakout snack options too. Overall I was happy with the stay and would recommend this place. I think it would have been all the better if not in the slow season. It is quite a ways from town though, probably at least 10 miles.

Room Tip: long windy halls, ask to be close to a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed in a golf villa, very nice, lots of room, nice patio. Everyone at the resort was struggling with access to cell phones and wifi. You would see people wandering around like zombies looking at little screens and watching for signal indicators.

Great place if you are on vacation and don't need to be connected to the outside world. Very frustrating if you need to be in contact with your office, etc.

Room Tip: Villa's are nice, lodge rooms are pretty standard budget hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I met my family at this resort for a long weekend. From the moment we arrived we felt completely at ease and welcome, not to mention, the scenery and resort is beautiful. Our room was a small lodge room, however, this was not an issue as my parents got a larger suite which provided A TON of room for everyone. This resort is located on Sugar Lake which was surprisingly not horribly busy, which fit our needs perfectly. It was nice to rent a fishing boat and spend the morning on the lake without having to worry about huge wakes and big pontoon parties. We spent the whole weekend at the resort, except for a short trip into Grand Rapids for supplies and a trip to the Judy Garland Museum, and we were never bored. The lake was great, the beach was perfect for everyone including the 18 month old in our group, the food was great, and the service at all points of the resort was fantastic. The two changes I wish I could make would be having later bar hours (bar closed around 10) and allowing pets.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneSt_Paul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cohasset
6.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
6.8 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Lake Lodge

Property: Sugar Lake Lodge
Address: 37584 Otis Ln, PO Box 847, Cohasset, MN 55721-8940 (Formerly Ruttgers Sugar Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cohasset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Lake Lodge is 14 miles SW of Grand Rapids Minnesota and overlooks Sugar Lake. The resort offers a variety of accommodations from Cabins, Lakefront Villas and Golf Course Villas. There a 18 holes of Championship golf on-site, out door heated pool, white sand beach, marina and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttgers Sugar Lake Hotel Cohasset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing