We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice getaway and great golf package”
Review of Sugar Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Nice getaway and great golf package”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

This is our first time here. Overall experience was very good. My only dissatisfaction was with our room. I was expecting a larger room with more amenities and a little more upscale. Was very small and basic bed and bath. Bed was uncomfortable and split into twin beds. Could hear everything our neighbors were saying at a regular speaking volume. TV did not work well either. The course was in great shape despite all the rain we've had. Staff was very friendly. Great views and food. Chris was exceptional!!! Very customer focused and always found a way to make us feel welcome and no request was out of the question. We had a great time and may visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smello7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
13
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Spent 1 night in a room on the 18th fairway. My wife and I were celebrating our 41st Anniversary. We stayed in a small room with a king size bed. The bathroom was huge and had a jet tub. We also had a private patio. The room was very clean and comfortable. We played their 18 hole golf course in the afternoon. It is a challenging but "fair" course and each hole was very scenic. They allow you to use bikes, canoes and kayaks for free. The lake is absolutely beautiful. They had a great staff and great service. If you are looking for quality that is affordable for a couple or a family, this is the place. We will go back again.

Room Tip: There are many room options available. Go on line and choose the best one for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 609walterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I spent the weekend at Sugar Lake Lodge near Grand Rapids, MN and found that the staff was super great in handeling our women's retreat. The food was excellent!!!! The snow made everything like a winter wonderland. We had a nice townhome to stay in with a fireplace to keep us cozy. Mostly, I really want to congratulate the staff as everyone was super nice to us all weekend long. I sure hope I can get back there this summer to see it in a green setting and enjoy the lake.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms mostly look over the lake and the cabins are on the lake. The townhomes mostly look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I'm not much of a golfer but my husband certainly is and he would not stop talking about how great their golf course it is. I chose Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge for the great reviews they have on their golf course. Come to find out it is a championship golf course with 27 holes! It was definitely a full day of fun for all of us and such beautiful scenery. After golfing we did some fishing on the dock and just hung out by the pool. It was a relaxing time and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the kids their separate room to give everyone a little space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam3251010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had a nice suite in the lodge that had a walk out patio with a grill. The room had a jacuzie tub and a full kitchen. We did some grocery shopping ahead of time and had everything we needed to stay in and have a nice quiet weekend. They built us a bon fire down by the lake each night we called and requested. It was the quiet season so not many people around... perfect :)
The boats were still in the water to use, kayaks and canoes were free for guests to use the motor boats came with a rental fee, unfortunately it was to windy to use any of them.
It was a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the main level so you could walk out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goaliewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for a weekend family reunion in July. We stayed in one of the 2-storey townhouse units near the golf course. Our overall experience was good. The townhouse was clean and had lots of space. Having stayed at other northern MN resorts (Cragun's, Madden's, etc) this was a cut above some, but not the nicest. There are plenty of activities for kids, and the golf course was well-kept and lovely but not tournament-quality. The lake is beautiful and there are plenty of opportunities (canoes, paddleboats, jet skis) to get on the water. Staff is very friendly and the price is competitive. The food was good. Certainly worth considering for a terrific "northern Minnesota" vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echem, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family has been spending two weeks at Sugar Lake Lodge nearly every summer since our children (15 and 17) were born. Coming from Germany, it is a long trip for us, but it is always worth it. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The children loved Kids' Kamp when they were younger. We all enjoy the spectacular golf course, lake with beach, and pool. We stay in a golf course villa with a spectacular view of the lake.
The units are well equipped. In the past we sometimes had trouble with the wi.fi, but this year it worked great.
Everyone who works at SLL is friendly and extremely helpful. It is always a pleasure dealing with the employees. They do their very best to make our stay pleasant.
About Grand Rapids: When we first started coming, there was not much there - KMart and a grocery store were just about it. The city has really grown since then, with all the modern conveniences. Good selection of shopping and dining.
We would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms/cabins/villas, so it depends what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cohasset
6.5 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Grand Rapids
6.8 mi away
AmericInn Grand Rapids
AmericInn Grand Rapids
#4 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Rapids
Hotel Rapids
#5 of 11 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Super 8 Grand Rapids
Super 8 Grand Rapids
#2 of 11 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Lake Lodge

Property: Sugar Lake Lodge
Address: 37584 Otis Ln, PO Box 847, Cohasset, MN 55721-8940 (Formerly Ruttgers Sugar Lake Lodge)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cohasset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Lake Lodge is 14 miles SW of Grand Rapids Minnesota and overlooks Sugar Lake. The resort offers a variety of accommodations from Cabins, Lakefront Villas and Golf Course Villas. There a 18 holes of Championship golf on-site, out door heated pool, white sand beach, marina and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sugar Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttgers Sugar Lake Hotel Cohasset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing