We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Family Vacation, heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ludlow's Island Resort
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I live in Los Angeles. We fly across the country to come here, and we have done it 4 summer's in a row and plan to go next summer as well. Why? It is pure heaven and I have never experience a resort like it. It is a private Island, so only guests are allowed. There are about 20 cabins on the Island filled with families and kids. It is safe for kids to play alone. To be able to hear a screen door shut behind your kids as they run with sheer joy to play in the lake or fish or make a sand castle as you sit on the screened in porch reading undisturbed and listening to the water lap up against the rocks is priceless. (not to mention all the mornings I slept in till 11!) Truly. There are no tv's, phones, computers, this allows for real family time. The cabins are charming and large and nestled in the woods, you feel like you are away from it all, and you are! The staff is beyond wonderful. They are available all day and all night and are extremely helpful. Not only that, they are wonderful with kids. My kids loved the 'dock boys' who were always so kind to them, fun, funny, joking, playing with them. This Island has been in the Ludlow family for decades and you can tell. There is history here, and a charm that can NOT be duplicated at any cost. The family runs it, live on the Island, and are involved in every aspect of running it, every day, all summer. There are activities for the kids every single day, sometimes multiple activities. You are greeted every morning with a daily itinerary in your mailbox. All the kids participate in the activities, all the families are wonderful, and your kids are guaranteed to make a friend on this Island. I really can't say enough about the un-manufactured charm of this magical place. From the Island mascot Kirby (a British golden lab that roams the Island), to the warmth of the staff, this is a Norman Rockwell summer experience. My daughter is growing up with this tradition of Ludlow's Island every summer, it's the highlight of her year, and will stay with her all her life as one of her sweetest childhood memories.

Room Tip: All the cabins are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've been coming to Ludlows for over 20 years. I've stayed in many of the cabins there, some on the island, some on shore. Lately we've been staying on the north shore, as there is a cabin there that works well for my extended family, and has it's own dock for fishing (we've caught walleyes and bass right off the dock).

The first time I made a reversation there I was looking for a luxury fishing resort (not always the easiest combination). There was no internet to help screen resorts. I spoke with Mark Ludlow who assured me they met this criteria, and that they offered the best there was. It was true---and still is. The cabins are gorgeous (you'll see this in the photos on their website). The service is top notch---always. The fishing is great.

Room Tip: Try spring or fall when the rates are much lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minnesotamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The staff could not have been anymore pleasant, and you can go back and forth from the island as often as you like - and they continue to smile. Unfortunately, the kids activities were not highly participated, so we'd recommend bringing your kids a friend. Also - start when your kids are a little younger, and make it a tradition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We've been going to Ludlow's for the past 3 years. The cabins are excellent - great character and history, and perfectly clean and comfortable. The island is beautiful and the staff go out of their way to provide top notch service. I'm from Minnesota, and I've been on hundreds of lakes. Lake Vermilion is easily the most beautiful lake I've ever been on. Can't say enough nice things about this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissedMuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

At Ludlow's Island Resort our three children had the best time of their lives. Every day there is a children's/family activity such as sand building contest, sail boat making and racing, fishing derby, scavenger hunts to name a few of our children's favorites. This year our son won the fishing derby and he received a trophy which he has proudly displayed in his room. My son's picture with his trophy was on the front page of the island daily news paper the next morning that gets delivered to every cabin. He has been bragging to everyone that will listen. We also appreciated S'mores on the beach and hot dog roasts. Our children participated in movie night every night. Ludlow's also has a couple of unique playground areas, one is a treehouse with swings and basketball court and the other is an old Chris Craft Cruiser Playhouse. My children also enjoyed a riding in the Ludlow's Amphibious Car that drove into the water and around the Island. Ludlow's Island Resort has a beatiful sandy beach for swimming, an 8 foot iceberg to climb onto and a water slide. Our family also enjoyed the kayaks and water bikes that you can navigate around the island.

This is our third year going to Ludlow's Island Resort and our children want to make it a permanent tradition to visit every summer, this is their highlight of the year. The staff at Ludlow's is wonderful and very accomodating to ensure everybody has a great stay. This year we stayed in the four story Dream Catcher cabin and it has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, we would recommend it.

I just wanted to share part of our experience at Ludlow's Island Resort and recommend to anybody looking for an up north experience at a cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I read all of the wonderful reviews - many that praise the service at Ludlows. While we certainly enjoyed our time, the service we received didn't feel exceptional - it was simply okay. For the price paid, there were places service could have been improved. Because we stayed on the island we always had to be back to catch the last shuttle ride at 10:00 pm. My husband and I were interested in checking out a local live band and couldn't do so because we'd get back too late. We wished the $$ we paid would have afforded us a ride regardless of the time. We had a fine vacation but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank preuitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpludlow, Manager at Ludlow's Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

We at Ludlow's are very sorry that our service experience was not what it should have been for this guest. We take pride in our great service and exceptional property.

Our shuttle service to and from the mainland does operate 24/7. It is true that at 10:00PM our scheduled service does stop, but it does continue as needed. From 7am-10pm the shuttle goes back and forth across the 150 yard channel without any hesitation. After 10PM you call from the mainland dock phone and let our live on property staff know you are here and they will come over and shuttle you to the island.

It would be illegal for us to not allow guests to have access to exiting the property at anytime.
Please call us if you have any questions about the logistics of Ludlow's Island operations or services. We would love to have you as our guests. 877-LUDLOWS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Rustic, semi secluded cabins on Lake Vermilion, park your car and do everything by boat....huge, beautiful lake with lots of great fishing spots. The folks at Ludlow's Island are terrific...nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoyjke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ludlow's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow's Island Resort

Address: 8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723-8706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cook
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cook
Price Range: £167 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ludlow's Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 handcrafted knotty pine cabins located in northern Minnesota on Lake Vermilion. Each cabin has a wood burning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, screen porch, deck, multiple bedrooms and multiple baths, on a private secluded island. Fishing, children's activities, boating, skiing, tubing, meetings and weddings. Ludlow's Island Resort has been in the same family for over 75 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ludlow's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludlow`s Island Hotel Cook
Ludlows Island Hotel
Ludlows Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing