We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ludlow's Island Resort
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place deserves all the praise they receive. Our family enjoyed our Northwoods adventure immensely. The cabin had every amenity. You know you have had a great vacation while as you travel home, you think about when you can return. The staff are top notch and any request was happily filled. I can not say enough good things about this place and feel very fortunate to have had the experience of staying with them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This year was our 6th year at Ludlow's. We are from Los Angeles and fly across the country to come here, it is that special. It is the highlight of my daughter's year, not just summer. It is such a special place.There is someone to assist you at every turn, for anything you may need. The staff cater to the children, and adults, 24 hours a day. Nathan and Mike are the 'dock boys' and the patience, care and kindness they show your child is just above and beyond. There are activities for the kids every day, as well as most evenings. Never a dull moment, so you actually get to relax and not entertain the kids. I just can not say enough great things about this beautiful, special Island. Thank you to everyone at Ludlow's for bringing us into your family!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a last-minute trip before school started for the kids and we stayed in the Northside cabin. We had kids who ranged from 6 - 18 years old. We loved how each person was able to enjoy the resort from simply relaxing in a lakeside cabin to enjoying the activities the resort provided. We are planning to go back & making our stay longer than before! - Thanks Ludlow's!

Room Tip: Loved how it had a washer & dryer for use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I just returned from another great week up on Lake Vermilion and Ludlow's Island Resort. I started going up to Ludlow's in the 1980's when I was in college, and over the past several years have returned with my teenage kids and it is by far their most favorite place to vacation in North America! Paul, Kelly and Laurie (the Managers) do an amazing job and are always one step ahead of you - whether it is delivering your warm Sunday morning croissants, or your daily newspaper they are available to assist you in anyway that they can. The guys that work in Guest Services (Nathan and Mike) have been together for three years and they will do anything that they can to make sure that you, and your family have a great vacation. (This year I had a flat tire while in town and out of nowhere on his day off Nathan appeared and changed my tire, Paul helped me get it fixed, and Nathan changed the tire again when it was repaired!!)

Fishing was good this year and we caught plenty of bass, bluegills, Northern and even a walleye! Mike is very helpful with guiding you in the right places to fish on the lake, and Nathan is waiting to clean them when you come back in!

This is a must vacation spot if you are looking for a luxury resort in Nothern Minnesota/Wisconsin!

Room Tip: We have stayed in Northern Lights, Dreamcatcher, Stardust, Dawn and Daybreak and they are all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottpstuckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We enjoyed another great week on Ludlow's Island. Their helpful, friendly attitude and overall level of service is absolutely the best thing about staying there……well maybe it’s second to the sunsets, but it’s really good!

Green Features: Ludlow's does a great job of "being green".
Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our family enjoyed a 6 night stay at Ludlow's and we all loved it! We joined 4 other families in a week of relaxing, swimming, tubing and of course fishing! My husband is still on cloud nine because of the 51.5" musky he caught! We are booked again for next year and I am sure a few more families will be joining us. The kids are already making plans to spend a night a Camping Island! Thank you again to the Ludlow Crew! You make the trip memorable! See you next year!

Room Tip: All the cabins have their unique features! There is a cabin that fits every personality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maelee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our family has gone to Ludlows for 5 straight years, and already have plans for next year's visit. This is a unique island getaway in the North Woods, that provides excellent accommodations and great service in absolutely beautiful surroundings. We really appreciate the peace and quiet that seems to be part of the package. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Ludlows for either a couple's, or especially family, retreat. It sits on the expansive Lake Vermillion, which has some of the best fishing in Minnesota.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in all the cabins, but they're all on the lake, so they all have a great vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Our family really appreciates the "green" efforts this property makes. There is an ample recycling bin for each cabin. I believe it it the first property in Minnesota to have on-property gray water and sewage treatment so as not to harm the lake.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cook
5.8 mi away
White Eagle Resort on Lake Vermilion
19.1 mi away
Birch Forest Lodge
Birch Forest Lodge
#1 of 10 in Orr
60 reviews
19.3 mi away
Cabin O' Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#4 of 10 in Orr
19 reviews
24.2 mi away
Northern Comfort Bed & Breakfast
19.6 mi away
Grey Wolf Lodge
Grey Wolf Lodge
#5 of 10 in Orr
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludlow's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow's Island Resort

Property: Ludlow's Island Resort
Address: 8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723-8706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cook
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ludlow's Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 handcrafted knotty pine cabins located in northern Minnesota on Lake Vermilion. Each cabin has a wood burning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, screen porch, deck, multiple bedrooms and multiple baths, on a private secluded island. Fishing, children's activities, boating, skiing, tubing, meetings and weddings. Ludlow's Island Resort has been in the same family for over 75 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ludlow's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludlow`s Island Hotel Cook
Ludlows Island Hotel
Ludlows Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing