We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service, So-So Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, So-So Accommodations”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It's difficult for me to write a general review for this hotel. We were here with our synchronized skating team. Between us and another team, we took up almost the entire hotel. (I felt sorry for the wedding party that was also staying here.) Can you imagine scores of pre-adolescent and adolescent girls running amok? Not the most relaxing atmosphere. But the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, letting us use the breakfast room for a party and opening breakfast an hour early on Sunday because we all had to be at the rink. They were awesome.

I wouldn't give as high marks to the hotel itself. It felt a bit worn around the edges. The rooms were adequate but nothing more. The pool was minuscule, and the whirlpool was lukewarm. The hotel restaurant was out of business. I'd never stayed at a Country Inn before, and this one wouldn't encourage me to try another. On the other hand, if I had a large group, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the comments about the staff very much. It was a pleasure to accommodate your group at our hotel.

We apologize for your concerns regarding the hotel. The great news is that we are currently updating all of our guest bathrooms with new tile, granite vanities, paint, mirrors, and lighting.

We just completed the first set of rooms, and they look excellent!

Also, the restaurant has new owners, and should be opening any day now.

We are very excited to be on their huge patio this summer!

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you visit us again in the future.

We think you will really like the upgrades we are making!

Respectfully,
Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    19
    23
    28
See reviews for
78
13
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SD
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our family stayed as part of a group for a tournament. The lobby was updated and bright. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and the check-in service was good. The pool is small but recently updated and clean. It was surprisingly warm and inviting.

We got a suite, which had a separate living room and bedroom. Both rooms had TVs. The living room had a sofa pullout that was actually comfortable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pillows were comfortable. The rooms have been kept updated. Despite the busy motel, we didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms at all. The noisiest thing was our heat/AC unit, which was noisy. We shut it off the second night and it was fine.

The only complaint at all was that we left Saturday at 6:30am and put the card into the door for the room to be made up. We came back at 1:30pm and it wasn't yet cleaned. We removed the card and the housekeeper was next door but didn't stop at our room. We decided not to let it bother us, as it must have been an oversight, since the rest of our stay was so good. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Try the suite! It wasn't much more than a standard room and made our stay more comfortable. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We agree with you that the $20 upgrade to suite is a excellent value.

We are glad that you slept well in our comfortable beds, and enjoyed your time at our hotel.

We apologize for the houskeeeping issue you had. That is rare for our hotel, and promise you will not experience that next time you stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you again!

Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Upon entering the hotle, the lobby reaked of cigarette smoke. The inital ambiance and the fire place was inviting but given that they are accomodating smokers very nearby, bottom floor??, it was definately not an endearing quality.

Our room was very cold and even though we put the heat on right away, it was exceptionally uncomfortable while it warmed up. Glad we are not needing to stay there again. Would also note that although they state on the web site that the actual photos may not adhere to the property, then it would be best to eliminate ones that would suggest otherwise. We paid for the jacuzzi room and the web site pictures were what sold me on booking this room vs. the regular king suite otherwise. Rather disappointing overall given what we were expecting.

Room Tip: Don't advise that you have the jaccuzzi room, top floor, all the way at the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Our entire staff would like to sincerely apologize for your experience while you were at our hotel. In most cases we turn the heat on during winter months prior everyone’s arrival, however because of the transitional weather we failed to do so. We are very sorry that you had experience discomfort during your stay. Also, we agree with your assessment of our Jacuzzi Suite photo on our website. We have already made the change, and appreciate you feedback very much. It truly does help us improve our operations. I invite you to give us a a call and speak to myself Jay or Dan, and see if we can make your next experience an a much improve one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September to attend a wedding, The Breakfast was breath taking and the ambience is really wonderful. The staff went above and beyond my expectation. The attached restaurant was great. The best thing about this hotel was the room very very spacious and Pool area is just wow. I am coming back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We appreciate your comments very much. Our staff is estatic to hear your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed the pool area and breakfast. We work very hard to make sure we have the best breakfast in the area. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Country inn and suites. Wonderful service and if any issues arised the hotel took care of them at the next possible moment. The staff are willing talk to you to make you feel like your their best friend. I've stayed at many hotels for work reasons, because of the staff and the fantastic breakfast layout. This is my favorite hotel of this year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewied9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are estatic to know we made you feel at home. I am proud of our staff and look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family for several nights. We had read that the hotel was recently renovated, and we were a little disappointed that the renovations to the guest bathrooms were not yet completed (as of August 2012). Everything else looked very good, and the service was excellent. The family enjoyed the pool and hot tub.
We plan to use this location again after the bathroom renovations are complete.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your comments!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The bathroom renovation will begin in Dec of this year with plans to be completed in the Spring. Guest bathrooms will be receving new paint, tiles, granite vanties, lighting, and mirrors.

We are very excited for to be completed! We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It's hard to beat the service Dan, Jay, and Boni provide; they are excellent. And if you seek a northern location away from twin cities traffic, there is a variety of restaurants in this less busy area. The pool and hot tub have unusually extended hours, and a few cookies are put out a couple times a day, though they don't last long. The breakfast was just okay--which Jay tells us he's now pursuing, so I'm betting on improvement. The waffle maker was an upgrade over the usual pancakes, but we just couldn't eat the eggs, and the donuts and danish were a bit refrigerated. You'll find tea/coffee and a small fridge & microwave in the room. An acceptable stay, as a whole. Thanks for noting if this review was helpful.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter much, but rooms to the back face the divided road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HepAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and suggestions. Comments like yours help us improve guest experiences at our hotel. I made sure Boni and Dan heard you nice comments. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coon Rapids
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coon Rapids North Metro Hotel
6.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Coon Rapids
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Blaine at the National Sports Center
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Address: 155 Coon Rapids Blvd NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55433-5812 (Formerly InnPlace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Coon Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Newly Renovated Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids Hotel near Minneapolis Boasting an excellent location and top-notch amenities in a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the new Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids, MN Hotel is delighted to welcome travelers of all types. Key amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary breakfast and a Fitness Center. We are conveniently located near the National Sports Center, Northtown Mall and Bunker Hills Golf Club. Book your reservation at the Country Inn & Suites and see what makes us one of the most exciting new hotels in Coon Rapids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids Hotel Coon Rapids
Country Inn And Suites Coon Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing