We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past month and loved it! The front desk staff gave us fast service and were very polite when we had some confusion about our reservation. The room was very large and looked newly renovated. It was a bummer that the attached restaurant was closed, but we found a lot of other restaurants nearby walking distance. I recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely be coming back to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear your comments. We are proud of the many new updates that have been made. The new guest bathrooms have turned out great!

We are disappointed the restaurant is currently closed, however it is going through a new ownership change and some of the new plans are very exciting.

We look forward to serving you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    35
    19
    22
    25
See reviews for
75
12
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is really good for getting on the freeway. We didn't have a reservation, but were treated very nicely at the front desk. The room was average, but the restaurant connected to the hotel smelled terrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review! We are glad we were able to accommodate you and you enjoyed the service.

We are sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. The restaurant is owned and operated by a different company, however it is going through an ownership change and the new plans seem to be very exciting!

We hope once it reopens you come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to be near Bunker Beach, and it is a perfect location. Check in was easy, and the clerk was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful as we were looking for supper to be delivered. The room was good although the air conditioning fan turned on and off and there was no setting to keep it on. The beds and pillows were great. We were near an outside door, and I would want to be further away if we stayed here again. Breakfast was great with a huge selection to choose from. The indoor pool did not look appealing so we didn't even venture near it. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and it was an affordable and good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopeforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of your comments! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and service of our staff, and we appreciate your comments regarding the pool area.

Your comments helps fine tune our operations, and allow us to strive for the very best for our guest.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

It's difficult for me to write a general review for this hotel. We were here with our synchronized skating team. Between us and another team, we took up almost the entire hotel. (I felt sorry for the wedding party that was also staying here.) Can you imagine scores of pre-adolescent and adolescent girls running amok? Not the most relaxing atmosphere. But the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, letting us use the breakfast room for a party and opening breakfast an hour early on Sunday because we all had to be at the rink. They were awesome.

I wouldn't give as high marks to the hotel itself. It felt a bit worn around the edges. The rooms were adequate but nothing more. The pool was minuscule, and the whirlpool was lukewarm. The hotel restaurant was out of business. I'd never stayed at a Country Inn before, and this one wouldn't encourage me to try another. On the other hand, if I had a large group, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the comments about the staff very much. It was a pleasure to accommodate your group at our hotel.

We apologize for your concerns regarding the hotel. The great news is that we are currently updating all of our guest bathrooms with new tile, granite vanities, paint, mirrors, and lighting.

We just completed the first set of rooms, and they look excellent!

Also, the restaurant has new owners, and should be opening any day now.

We are very excited to be on their huge patio this summer!

Thank you again for your review, and we hope you visit us again in the future.

We think you will really like the upgrades we are making!

Respectfully,
Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our family stayed as part of a group for a tournament. The lobby was updated and bright. The gentleman at the front desk was friendly and the check-in service was good. The pool is small but recently updated and clean. It was surprisingly warm and inviting.

We got a suite, which had a separate living room and bedroom. Both rooms had TVs. The living room had a sofa pullout that was actually comfortable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the pillows were comfortable. The rooms have been kept updated. Despite the busy motel, we didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms at all. The noisiest thing was our heat/AC unit, which was noisy. We shut it off the second night and it was fine.

The only complaint at all was that we left Saturday at 6:30am and put the card into the door for the room to be made up. We came back at 1:30pm and it wasn't yet cleaned. We removed the card and the housekeeper was next door but didn't stop at our room. We decided not to let it bother us, as it must have been an oversight, since the rest of our stay was so good. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Try the suite! It wasn't much more than a standard room and made our stay more comfortable. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We agree with you that the $20 upgrade to suite is a excellent value.

We are glad that you slept well in our comfortable beds, and enjoyed your time at our hotel.

We apologize for the houskeeeping issue you had. That is rare for our hotel, and promise you will not experience that next time you stay with us.

Look forward to seeing you again!

Jay Bhakta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Upon entering the hotle, the lobby reaked of cigarette smoke. The inital ambiance and the fire place was inviting but given that they are accomodating smokers very nearby, bottom floor??, it was definately not an endearing quality.

Our room was very cold and even though we put the heat on right away, it was exceptionally uncomfortable while it warmed up. Glad we are not needing to stay there again. Would also note that although they state on the web site that the actual photos may not adhere to the property, then it would be best to eliminate ones that would suggest otherwise. We paid for the jacuzzi room and the web site pictures were what sold me on booking this room vs. the regular king suite otherwise. Rather disappointing overall given what we were expecting.

Room Tip: Don't advise that you have the jaccuzzi room, top floor, all the way at the end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheffK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Our entire staff would like to sincerely apologize for your experience while you were at our hotel. In most cases we turn the heat on during winter months prior everyone’s arrival, however because of the transitional weather we failed to do so. We are very sorry that you had experience discomfort during your stay. Also, we agree with your assessment of our Jacuzzi Suite photo on our website. We have already made the change, and appreciate you feedback very much. It truly does help us improve our operations. I invite you to give us a a call and speak to myself Jay or Dan, and see if we can make your next experience an a much improve one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September to attend a wedding, The Breakfast was breath taking and the ambience is really wonderful. The staff went above and beyond my expectation. The attached restaurant was great. The best thing about this hotel was the room very very spacious and Pool area is just wow. I am coming back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We appreciate your comments very much. Our staff is estatic to hear your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed the pool area and breakfast. We work very hard to make sure we have the best breakfast in the area. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coon Rapids
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coon Rapids North Metro Hotel
6.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Coon Rapids
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Blaine At The National Sports Center
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Address: 155 Coon Rapids Boulevard NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55433 (Formerly InnPlace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Coon Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Newly Renovated Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids Hotel near Minneapolis Boasting an excellent location and top-notch amenities in a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the new Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids, MN Hotel is delighted to welcome travelers of all types. Key amenities include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, a heated, indoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary breakfast and a Fitness Center. We are conveniently located near the National Sports Center, Northtown Mall and Bunker Hills Golf Club. Book your reservation at the Country Inn & Suites and see what makes us one of the most exciting new hotels in Coon Rapids! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Coon Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Coon Rapids Hotel Coon Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing