We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We tried this hotel again with the request that we not be put on the 4th floor with the smoking rooms. I must say MUCH improved! The beds are very comfortable, the room was nicely cleaned and spacious for a hotel room, and there is a microwave and a small fridge in the room, which is a great amenity, the TV's are very nice. Our room was on the first floor not far from the pool, and it was quiet in our room even though there was plenty of people making noise in the hallway. The pool area could use some refurbishing, but it certainly is sufficient for a quick dip. The breakfast is fair, but nice to have as an option. I am happy that we gave this hotel a 2nd try, but I continue to encourage them to go 100% smoke free!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SUMR_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facility. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience and have stayed with us again! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities that are available in all our rooms. Also, we do pride ourselves on the commitment of our staff to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, thank you so much for noticing. Once again thank you so much for your kind words about our facility and we hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coon Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I want to first thank Shelly, Jorge, Sara, Max and Natalie, (front desk) for making my 25 night stay incredible! I was always greeted with a warm smile and friendly conversation as soon as I entered the lobby. My room was immaculate and comfortable. The wifi worked flawlessly, except during a particularly heavy storm :) The pool/spa area was always kept clean and tidy despite the back to back weekends of soccer kids running about. The hot breakfast was always fresh and inviting on my early mornings...I would recommend this location to anyone who is staying for a single night, or a extended stay... go for it! ...Craig W.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig19742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facility. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. Also, we do pride ourselves on the commitment of our staff to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, thank you so much for noticing. I truly do appreciate the fantastic compliments about Shelly, Jorge, Sarah, Max and Nathalie. The front desk staff really does try to make all of our guests stay a great one. Once again thank you so much for your kind words about our facility and we hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coon Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I really want to give this hotel a "5" because their service was excellent. The room was very clean and the usual amenities were available. Breakfast was typical of HIE and everything was fresh. And there were a couple different kinds of fruit available. Nice folks at the front desk on every shift. The only odd thing about this HIE is that the entrance has no drive-thru portico where someone can unload luggage conveniently or where a ride can pick up a passenger without getting into the weather (which in the winter can be pretty brutal in MN). There is one parking spot near the walkway for drop off - but not covered and in my case it was occupied. So you park and pull your luggage over curbs. It's just an inconvenience getting in and out. Otherwise, the great service and professional personnel make up the difference and it's always been a great stay for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarvinB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facility. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. Also, we do pride ourselves on the commitment of our staff to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, thank you so much for noticing. We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience with our entrance. Once again thank you so much for your kind words about our facility and we hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coon Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The room, hallways, and lobby areas are all very clean. The bed was comfortable enough and noise was not an issue despite a nearly full hotel on a Friday night. The breakfast was nice. There was variety as far as I could tell, although there was no fresh fruit. The closest you'll get is either orange or apple juice.

Our room was on the odd-side of the 2nd floor. This room faces the main parking lot where bright lights dominate all night long. This would not be a problem except that there are no light-blocking curtains that extend across the entirety of the window. We had to sleep in a room bathed in light for two nights.

The pool was both heavily chlorinated and not necessarily well-maintained. On the second day we opted to keep to the hot tub as there was vomit visible in the water of the pool. Stuff happens but it was gross, nonetheless.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room on the even side of the hallway to avoid the parking lot lights at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear wonderfunk,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and the bed.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the curtains, swimming pool and the hot tub. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

When we have a choice we always go with Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Staff is always friendly and helpful (they even offered us homemade Christmas cookies). Breakfast offers a good selection of fresh food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facility. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. We try our best to make our hotel feel like a home away from home during the holiday season, and we do appreciate the fact that you noticed. Also, we do pride ourselves on our breakfast selections and our coffee, thank you so much again for noticing. Once again thank you so much for your kind words about our facility and we hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coon Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent two night here. The staff was very friendly and professional. Check in was quick and easy. The room was very clean and nice looking. I wish the breakfast offered more items with less carbs but overall was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalS299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our facility. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience. Also, we do pride ourselves on the commitment of our staff to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, thank you so much for noticing. I am happy to let you know that we are currently updating our breakfast selections so that we are able to offer more choices that are healthier options. Once again thank you so much for your kind words about our facility and we hope to see you again soon at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Coon Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We statyed here for the USA Cup soccer tournament and the location is great for that purpose. The price we booked at was not bad either. However, we made our reservations for a non-smoking room nearly 1 year in advance and still got stuck with smoke. Our room was on the 4th floor of the hotel which has one side non-smoking rooms and the other side smoking. We were not informed of this upon check in. The smoke from the smokers side of the hallway is everywhere on this floor. Both of my children and I became ill with respiratory symptoms during our stay, which we attribute to our allergy of smoke. All of our personal items smelled of smoke and had to be washed and aired out. When informing the front desk staff of our situation, we were offered nothing. The breakfast was decent, nothing special. There is only 4 floors in this hotel, and we felt it was generally quiet compared to others we have stayed at during this tournament. Our mattress was saggy in the middle. The pillows were comfortable. The housekeeping staff was very nice. The pool is small but useable. If you are a non-smoker and want to stay at this hotel, make sure you are in a room on the first 3 levels of the hotel!

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker DO NOT allow the hotel to put you on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUMR_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear SUMR_88,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry for the problems you experienced in your room and regret our hotel fell short of your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coon Rapids
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Coon Rapids North Metro Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Blaine at the National Sports Center
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Coon Rapids
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Minneapolis-Northwest
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis Coon Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids

Address: 9333 Springbrook Dr NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55433-5854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Coon Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coon Rapids
Price Range: £87 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Coon Rapids is located just minutes from The National Sports Center in Blaine, Northtown Mall, and many fine restaurants and shopping centers.Upon entering the hotel you will be warmly welcomed by our friendly staff and newly renovated interior. We also offer free hot breakfast with our trademark cinnamon rolls. Enjoy our newly remodeled and spacious guest rooms. Sleep in comfort on our new plush beds featuring the Simply Smart Bedding line. All guest rooms are equipped with wireless high-speed Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, 2 phone lines and voice mail. We offer a variety of room types, including two queen beds, one king bed, king-size with a Jacuzzi, extended stay suites with a full kitchen, handicap accessible rooms and parlor suites with a separate bedroom. All guest bathrooms feature the exclusive Stay Smart shower head by Kohler and larger, more plush towels. All our rooms have 25-inch TVs with in-room movies, remote and cable including HBO. We have an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, valet laundry and business services. Our hotel is located on the corner of Springbrook Drive and Coon Rapids Blvd just one mile from the 610 Bridge and only 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis. Accept our invitation and make your future reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids. We can't wait to see you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Coon Rapids Hotel Coon Rapids
Holiday Inn Coon Rapids
Coon Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing