We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rural Scottish retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kirkconnel, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kayliegh...
2 reviews
“Perfect rural Scottish retreat”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We returned a couple of days ago from a weekend at Darna Tighe and we are all still raving about the cottage. The pictures do not do it justice. From the moment we walked in we could not fault it and Malcolm and Lorraine ensured we felt completely at home. They had kept the heating on for us all day until our arrival which was a blissful escape from the cold Scottish November air. They also left us milk and fresh eggs (from the chickens outside), together with a range of cupboard items including cereals. We didn't expect any of this but it certainly helped during our stay. The cottage was impeccably clean when we arrived and was furnished with everything we needed for our weekend stay, from kitchen equipment, through to board games and books. Malcolm and Lorraine even invited us to the bonfire party they had arranged with their neighbours where we were fed and watered to our heart's content. We will definitely be returning!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Hi , so pleased you enjoyed your stay, our aim is to give our guest an enjoyable experience.
We look forward on welcoming you back next time in the area.
Kind regards Lorraine & Malcolm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNorfol...
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvellous cottage for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nicely located for getting to all parts of Dumfries and Galloway and also Ayrshire. This cottage had everything we needed, even including a lovely welcome hamper to get the holiday off to a good start. Spacious and very comfortable. Malcolm and Lorraine made us feel very welcome. We'd recommend Darna Tighe to anyone. We certainly hope to be back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thank you for the lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oggybear
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Third fantastic stay.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Just stayed for four nights at the weekend. Once again excellent. Couldn't fault a thing. Fixtures and fittings were of the same very high standard as our first visit three years ago. Very well maintained. Amazing powerful shower and constant piping hot water. As other reviews have mentioned there is now a washing machine but we didn't have the need to use it. Lorraine and Malcolm are super hosts and take great pride in their lovely cottage. Can't wait to return. The Baccleuch & Queensberry Arms Hotel at Thornhill was well worth a visit for a quality good value meal following a recommendation from Malcolm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thanks once again for your lovely comments and for returning to Darna Tighe. I'm glad you find the cottage as your first visit, and find new places to go to in the area. We look forward to your return, hopefully soon, and thanks for the chocolates!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vix2035
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage and amazing stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our third time staying at Darna Tighe and it was just as amazing as the last two visits. This time there was an added bonus of a washing machine which was a great help after a rather long journey (getting lost) from Edinburgh through the hills with a small child.

The cottage was lovely and clean and welcoming especially the Chicken eggs that we hadn't had before. My daughters thought this was amazing and were allowed to check the coop each morning for fresh eggs.

The owners were very accommodating as always and we certainly would recommend this beautiful cottage and location. We will be back again !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thanks for finding the time to write a review.
Lorraine & Myself are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, and look forward in welcoming you back if your in the area again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thanks for your review, Lorraine and I sure so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward on welcoming you all back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vix2035
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay once again”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We decided to back to 'our cottage' (as my children call it) for a post Christmas break. Although all the national parks were closed that didn't bother us as at. We just relaxed, went for walks and had lovely family time. Once again the cottage was spotless and beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Our hosts were brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for them even when we needed a washing machine urgently. (There was not one in the cottage at that time)

We shall certainly be staying again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Hi so pleased you enjoyed your stay over Christmas.
We have since put a washing machine in.
Look forward on meeting you again.
Regards Lorraine & Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing