We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, has potential to be more though...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad, has potential to be more though...”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites recently in one of the whirlpool suites. The bed was a good size and not terrible for comfort, an average hotel bed. The whirlpool was OK but was just a glorified tub more than anything else. The room had a lot of space but a lot of it was empty...overall the room itself was just eh, not bad. For the money it was a tad overpriced and a little dated. Service was good though, we had an issue with a package deal we ordered through the hotel and they remedied the situation right away.

The breakfast was decent, the waffles were good as always but the fruit selection was terribly lacking. We had breakfast around 8:50 (ended at 10:30) and a majority of the good stuff was picked over. They still had a variety of items though so we got along just fine. Don't want to sound picky but for the price and what the hotel COULD be it was a little disappointing. The stay went just fine with no issues but they could do just a couple more things to really make it a great experience for future guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    45
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
96
20
3
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

If you are looking for a quiet,comfortable hotel that is sparkling clean, serves a wonderful breakfast (free!), and has an awesome staff...this is it. This is the second time in two years that we have stayed in this hotel and we usually do not write reviews. However, we were so impressed with the service at this hotel that we were compelled to share. The pool was great for our kids...although the cookies at the front desk may have ranked a close second. You will actually be able to sleep here!!! The rooms are quiet and the bedding is soooo comfy. Thanks and keep up the great work!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RBade, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments! We look forward to seeing you again!

Renee Bade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My husband and I stay at this hotel every time we're in Cottage Grove visiting family. It's clean, nice and very cozy. The staff is nice, the indoor pool is great for the kids, and we've never had any issue at this Country Inn. The breakfast could use a little more selection, but overall - very nice for the price.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Movie2max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stay often at different Country Inn and Suites locations and this hotel met our expectations of this very predictable, standardized chain. The one-bedroom suites are good for families, with a separate bedroom door and some basic kitchen facilities. The services - breakfast, pool, fitness room are all typical of the brand; nothing outstanding, but all quite acceptable.

We found the service here quite good. We asked for a ground-floor suite and when there were none available, we were given a larger room. Checking out, we discovered we were eligible for a discount and it was happily given to us.

When approaching the hotel from the 10/61, watch out for the roundabouts at the exit - confusing the first time. The hotel is a quick drive to various stores and services with more just up East Point Douglas Road. Cottage Grove is about 15-20 minutes from the core of the city and the Mall of America, but it was no problem getting around on the many freeways in the Twin Cities.

Don't forget to go to downtown Minneapolis and see the Mary Tyler Moore statue at 7th and Nicollet!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My room was nice, beds fine, feathered pillow was old & empty except for hard feathers - I used a rolled up towel. It should have been thrown out. A relative in another room had a good one. The front desk ladies were fine. No problem. Breakfast was crappy however - not as advertised on their website. There was no assortment of breads, muffins, bagels as they advertised. One refined white flower bagel, one kind of muffin - cake, one kind of toast and that was probably white refined flour too. Never saw hot cereal. Cold was garbage - fruit loops. Do they actually think people go out for that crap, or even eat it in their homes? Fresh fruits were either an orange or a red delicious apple - not my kind of apple. No assortment at all. The yogurt was not real yogurt. It was sugared Yoplait - the ingredients told me not to bother. Some people don't mind eating plastic. I do. They could not provide any egg except a hard boiled egg. Their reasoning - they order those in, preserved in vinegar. However, it was the oldest egg I've ever tasted, with the flavor of vinegar. Absolutely horrible. I have never tasted such an OLD egg in all my life. Fortunately it did not make me sick. I left the other half. The only good thing I can say about breakfast here is that they have real maple syrup for the waffles and the waffles were very good, even though probably refined that I would not ordinarily eat. The vat was empty every morning and I had to wait at least 10 minutes for someone to show up to get the waffle on one morning. There were mozzarella cheese sticks - can't go wrong there. Coffee & tea, 2 percent milk were fine - standard. Fresh orange juice from a machine tasted very good. Their website says... and much more. There was no much more. There was nothing more and there were no berries for the waffles as their website shows. Expect not much more than the bare minimum and not what they advertise because it isn't accurate. There is no kitchen. Nothing is made fresh and they don't know the meaning of the word assortment. If I made it sound awful, it wasn't that bad. Fortunately for the waffle and maple syrup. I really enjoyed that.

  • Liked — The room was fine.
  • Disliked — The breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Great service at this place. All the staff are so friendly - saying hi to you as you walk by. The kids loved the pool. Breakfast was a good selection and the woman who ran it was very friendly and kept it stocked and spic and span.

One day my mother -in law found her towels foldeed in the shape of elephants - a very fun touch. We were very impressed at the artistry of the cleaning staff and even took some pictures of the towels.

Clean, affordable, great service. You can't go wrong.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank lincolnwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

I have always found Country Inn and Suites to be nice motels. This one in particular was very clean. We did have a problem with the AC when we got to our room, but were immediately offered a new room and the front desk clerk even brought us the key to the new room. The pool area was excellent and the kids absolutely loved it. The breakfast can't be beat. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dilbert65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottage Grove
23.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
6.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Inver Grove Heights/Minneapolis
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Inver Grove Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
6.2 mi away
Envision Hotel St. Paul South
Envision Hotel St. Paul South
#1 of 1 in South Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
Best Western Plus Campus Inn
#1 of 5 in River Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Eagan
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Address: 8350 E Point Douglas Rd S, Cottage Grove, MN 55016-3324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Cottage Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottage Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove Hotel Cottage Grove
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Cottage Grove
Country Inn Cottage Grove
Cottage Grove Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing