We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT Vacation Home! GREAT HOSPITALITY!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Serenity
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serenity
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Serenity
Rough life
Hottubin
Sunset
Winter Wonderland
Master Bedroom
View from the loft
Entertainment
Family dining
Granddaughter with nice bass
living room
Deck
Bar time
Kitchen
laundry
Bedroom #2
Whirlpoolin
Work? Why?
View from loft
View from the shore
Welcome tree
Deer in the front yard
Pontoon at the dock
Pontoon interior
Smudge relaxing at the lake
View thru the trellis
Big ball of Twine
Cabin in the woods
Cabin in the woods
Nice!
Front view
Winter wonderland
Winter lane
Puppy love.  Even the animals like to vacation
Not bad. Good eating
Incredible views
Nice fish!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Darwin, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gflonski
Fullerton, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This was a great place for me and my family to stay. The house is beatiful and was very well equipped. We did have some issues and that is why it only got 2 stars. The firewood was scarce and we ended up buying some in town. We were quoted $75/day for pontoon rental and when we got there he told us he had to raise it to $195/day because the previous renters had damaged it and he had to recoup the damage. Not our fault. He did give us a 10% discount and said being we were veterns he would give an additional 10%. We only got one 10 % discount. The information that I received show a damage deposit (refundable) of $49.99 which at this time has not been returned to me. My rental on the pontoon was overcharged by about $200 and my deposit was not returned. This is why the three stars. Great place but beware of the numbers.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review.
We enjoyed having you and your family as our guests. You were great guests and we thank you for you and your families service to our country.

In regards to the issues you had with our rental and policies. We try and address all issues when they come up and accommodate our guests whenever possible. We do supply some firewood for the fire pit. If the renter uses all supplied we will try and provide more if we have it available. Please remember it is a long season and we have many other renters to provide for. Most rentals do not provide firewood for their guests and we consider this one of the perks to renting our home.

In regards to the pontoon rental and your feeling of being "overcharged". Due to negligence of renters, rising costs of maintenance and fuel and to bring it in line with the going rate of local rental companies, we were forced to raise our rates. If you had asked for the original quote we would have gladly honored it. As for the discount. We gave a 10% discount because of your service and because of the rate increase. At no time did we quote 2 10% discounts. We apologize for any misunderstanding and again if asked we would have gladly given you the additional discount. We also waived the $15 dock fee for your PWC because you did not actually keep it at the dock.

The $49.99 was a "non refundable" insurance offered by Tripadvisor/Flipkey at the time you booked and is no longer available from the website. Also since you payed the balance by check and not through the website any deposits or booking fees were not refundable. Please reference the cancellation policy in your original booking. We did not charge you a deposit so you were not eligible for a refund. We also did not charge for your "extra" guests or the after dinner cruise around the lake. That was a courtesy we provided free of charge because of your military service and we want our guests to enjoy their vacations as much as possible.

In order to avoid any other misunderstandings We will no longer accept private bookings by check. All bookings will be through the website.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will consider our Vacation rental again for your family. We would love to have you back as our guests.

Sincerely
Your Stoney Brook Resort staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much.
We look forward to having your family back next year.
See you in 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and property amenities.
Liked least: Not enough snow, which owner has no control over.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kris R
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It is just as the pictures show, in the forest. Its peaceful and beautiful, it was not to far from town if you needed anything. The owners were outstanding when we added another day. Definitely will rent again when we come home. The beds were very comfortable, the cabin was clean and the wood was beautiful. I could retire in a home like this.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twila J
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Beautiful Place! Very accommodating!”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The place was beautiful and very accommodating. There are games to play in the yard, a nice firepit with wood stockpiled... also games WI games for the kids to play. Loved that there was something for everyone. Eric was great at showing us around and making us feel at home.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“The PERFECT escape our entire family needed!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Eric & Pauline were the most accommodating owners we could have rented from. The house had everything we needed. From kitchen gadgets to activities for kids they had it. The house was more than big enough for all of us to fit and still have our own area even at max capacity. Any issues we had which were minimal Eric was just across the road to help us. Even with them being across the road they respected our privacy fully. Our 2 most favorite parts were the lower brick patio that was covered and had a fire pit and hot tub. Our 2nd and most favorite was the pontoon boat. I HIGHLY recommend renting this for the week. The most fun we had all week was taking in an afternoon with everyone swimming and taking in the sun on what seemed to be a lake we were the only ones using throughout the week. The small town feel was great and the local's were very nice to talk to. We did take in Minneapolis 2 days visiting the Mall of America and an afternoon Twins game which was only an hour drive. I HIGHLY recommend this rental and after renting several houses this was the most inexpensive one we have stayed at but yet our favorite!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pontoon Boat
Liked least: That the house wasn't right on the lake
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
Thank you for your great review. We loved renting our home to such wonderful and respectful people. You and your family are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millers10...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well equipped - truly a home from home.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful family holiday at this cabin. Lake Washington was vast and dreamy (see pic) . Eric kindly showed us where the fish were and also an excellent sandy bottomed area perfect for swimming. We BBQd, hot-tubbed and toasted marshmallows, this holiday will live in the memory for years to come.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing