We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country wilderness get away”
Review of Eagle Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deer River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Nest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer River
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet country wilderness get away”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Came to Eagle Nest Lodge in the summer of 1974 with family from Chicago. What a nice vacation from the city. Came back in the summer of 2006 from north Florida with my youngest son for our last vacation with my dad. David was 14 and he had a blast swimming, hiking, using all of mom's laundry money in the game room and trying dad's patience out in the boat fishing. Came up last summer with my daughter and another son and my mom. We did some shopping in Deer River and Grand Rapids nearby towns. Melanie and Brad went swimming quite a bit. We are looking forward to having a family get away up at Eagle Nest Lodge in the summer of 2012.
Eagle Nest Lodge is a great place to take your family. The owners Brian and Sue are very accomedating. There is something for everyone to do and enjoy.
This is Minnesota wilderness at its best.

K Durbin
Minot, ND

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy49909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Everything about Eagle Nest is fantastic that's why our family has been going there for 60 years. The current owners are the best owners during the 47 years I've been alive. The only drawback is Karl.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doofus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My family has been going to Eagle Nest Lodge for one week every summer since 1975. It is now a tradition that my children look forward to every year. My son just wrote about Eagle Nest for a school assignment. He said it the perfect summer vacation because there's something for everyone; fishing, hiking, swimming, water trampoline, hydro-bikes, kids program in the summer, relaxing with a book on the beach and the list goes on and on. The owners keep making improvements to the cabins each year and they really care about making our vacation the best it can be. In these times, when everyone is working long hours, it is great to keep going back to a place you can count on to relax, enjoy family togetherness, and have fun!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRose2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Our family, 3 adults, 2 seniors, 2 children, 5 & 8, spent an unforgettable week at Eagles Nest Lodge in Cabin 16. My first visit and my family's 3d. It was spotless and beautiful! Wonderful lake veiws, campfires at the cabin every night, (Tons of wood), private dock and great boat rental.
The Harris Family has a Masters Degree in Hospitality! I have never experienced such warmth, and been made to feel so welcome. Like visiting family!
The kids activities were great fun and also gave Mom & Dad a break everyday. Fun things planned for them at night too!
The resort is in the deep woods and very private. Everything is perfectly maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff is hired for their warmth and friendliness. There is no request that is to big to be responded to, even borrowing Marshmallow roasting sticks.
The owners are always present and ever so watchful of their guests comfort. They even have Marina staff to tie up your boat and clean your fish, which were plentyfull.
The beach was wonderful too, no weeds, and cleaned everyday, with free paddle boats, water bikes and kayaks. Big rafts in the water for the kids to bounce on and jump off. They loved it! And so did we.
There is nothing to compare to the smell of the Balsam Firs and watching the sunsets over the lake.
You will not regret your visit to the North Woods and the Eagles Nest Lodge!
Susan Voss-Smith
Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanVAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Eagle Nest Lodge is everything we looked for in a Northern Minnesota get away. Great location. Great Fishing. A beautiful wilderness setting. Great owners and facilities. We have been going there for many years. If you are looking for a tradional, family oriented summer get away, this is your spot. Bryan and Sue are owners who really care about their resort and your experience. I have recomended Eagle Nest to many family and friends and they all have come back more than pleased with the vacation experience they have had.

Bob Cass
Eagan MN.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcassEagan_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Just returned from another wonderful relaxing week at Eagle Nest Lodge! Caught lots of walleye, enjoyed spending time with our extended family who were also guests there, and had a great time using the beach and other resort amenities. We really lucked out with beautiful weather too!

Sue & Bryan do an excellent job of maintaining and running the resort - it's a true family destination. My kids even became friends with theirs. It's rustic and very relaxing...my family has been going there for lots of years.

Can't wait to return again in next year!

  • Liked — family friendliness, relaxing, outdoors, activity/naturalist program, fishing, remoteness
  • Disliked — distance from my house, lack of dishwasher in our cabin, small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mklein123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagle Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Nest Lodge

Property: Eagle Nest Lodge
Address: 58671 Eagle Nest Rd, Deer River, MN 56636-2639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deer River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Deer River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside Grand Rapids, Minnesota on the north shore of Cutfoot Sioux Lake and Lake Winnibigoshish, Eagle Nest Lodge is a collection of 14 housekeeping cabins. Each are perfect for a family vacation, reunion, or a gathering of old friends. Great fishing, beautiful beach, children's activities, northwoods feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eagle Nest Lodge Minnesota/Deer River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing