We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation in Minnesota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Ruttger's is on Bay Lake near Brainerd, Minnesota.
It's an old lodge that has been updated nicely. The Minnesota's summers make this a perfect, relaxing vacation spot.
Bay Lake is a smaller, perfect lake that does not offer the hub-bub of nearby Gull Lake or some of the busier lakes in the area.
There is plenty to do here. The lake has a nice beach that the kids love. There is a nice pool. The hotel runs plenty of activities for kids during the summer months. There is also a golf course. You can do it all or do nothing. Our favorite things to do is rent on the many boats and fish or just relax on the lake.
There are many room options here. We have stayed in the regular hotel style rooms. They were good, not great. The room we had was in need of updating. We have also stayed in the cabins which were rustic but fine. We had a wonderful lake view. Recently we stayed in one of the newer townhouses. These are deluxe and perfect for a family. They have a nice kitchen and plenty of space. The decor is similar to a private townhouse.
The restaurant in the main lodge is great and hosts a lot of functions. I enjoyed the wild rice pancakes each morning.
There are several interesting shops and a coffee house just off the property. It's a nice, relaxing way to enjoy a Minnesota summer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

We tried this resort on a last-minute deal. We stayed in one of the lodge rooms - great room- queen lofted, perfect for a family. The grounds were beautiful!! The service was very personable - everyone was friendly and accomodating.They had fun children's activities. The outside pool was nice.
The beach was very small, however, this was due to unusually high water. The kid's still had fun swimming and jumping on the water tramp.
The lake was excellent - we caught many large fish - just about 100 yards from the resort. The only thing I would worry about if we visited again, is if the weather was bad. This resort is quite a drive from any family type activity/shopping/movie. As well as the indoor area of the resort is rather small, basically just a small pool area and restaurant.
Overall beautiful, relaxing resort!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went to Octoberfest at Ruttgers and it was great!
I was impressed with everything they had to offer.
Great resort!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

First time staying at Ruttgers. We stayed three nights this fall with our two smaller dogs in the pet friendly room in the West Lodge. Weather was not too cooperative but we were using Rutgers a base for some day drives to see fall colors in the state parks and area so we actually were able to drive out of the rain during the day. The room was super clean and comfortable with nice amenities such as small refrigerator, sofa and a screened porch. The property is large with many activities on the lake, golf etc. and lodging options ranging from the hotel type lodge rooms and condo/townhouses to individual cabins. Dining options on site are good. As it was the end of the season the main dining room had a limited menu but there are numerous options nearby.

Room Tip: Pet friendly options are limited to a couple of lodge rooms, three smaller cabins or some condos man...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We first found Ruttger's last year. The entire resort is great. The greatness starts at the front desk with your check in. They were helpful numerous times when we called down for directions to neighboring towns & to get additional items or maintenance requests.
We had a door knob not working and a maintenance worker was at our room in about 5-10 minutes to fix it. The response time was more than wonderful.
The rates are good for the amount of space that you get. We stayed in the golf course condos & had both the downstairs & upstairs rooms. There is an adjoining staircase between the 2 rooms. we felt safe enough to have our young teenagers stay upstairs "on their own", with the doors open between the 2 rooms.
I told my son that I was going to write this review & what could I put for "bad or needs improvement". He said about the only thing he could think of was that there were too many Asian beetles in the stairway (it was getting cold out & the little bugs were starting to migrate inside). We were very hard pressed to find anything majorly wrong with this resort.
The owners are genuine & humble. They can be seen working the grounds right along with the employees.
Housekeeping was extremely accommodating when we asked them to come back since the teenagers were still sleeping.
We were there for Oktoberfest & they had many fun things for families to do.

Room Tip: We loved the golf course condo suite (upstairs & downstairs together)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycampers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We took our 2nd trip to Ruttgers in late June - my parents, my siblings and all our kids. Our group of 23 ranged in age from 5 to 73, and Ruttgers didn't disappoint! There is so much to keep everyone busy. There are daily activities that will please all members of your group. We stayed in the newer buildings closer to the road, and we were very pleased with the modern and spacious accommodations. The ladies all got pedicures at the spa - highly recommended. The sand castle contest was a huge hit, even though the kids came in second again this year. We'll get them next time. The food is great - if you have time, order off the menu. We found the freshly prepared food to be higher quality, especially at breakfast. Ruttgers is not inexpensive, but we love it and will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aws1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Fun spot, with both old and new accommodations. We stayed in an old lake side cabin, very fun....feels like something out of a movie.
Definite shows it's age, but I think that's part of it's beauty.
Room was very rustic, but had AC, and it's own deck.
Restaurant lounge were nice, outdoor pool area is kinda small, but has a large beach area on the lake.
Has pontoon and ski boat rentals but I'd reserve in advance, cause nothing was available the weekend we were up there.
Golf course was fun, nice club house there, with great outdoor dining off the back deck.
Would like to go back and bring the kids!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimstooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
24.0 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
283 reviews
23.9 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
439 reviews
18.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
50 reviews
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
22.1 mi away
Grand View Lodge
Grand View Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nisswa
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444-8544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run resort on Bay Lake is over 100 years old and offers programs for children. The property is open between April and November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing