We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We've been taking a summer family vacation at Ruttger's for several years. It is perfect for families with young kids. Our boys will remember these Ruttger's weeks for the rest of their lives. Highlights are the meals at the main lodge and the Kids' Kamp for kids 4-12. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2008

The lovely lake lodge on beautiful Bay Lake near Mille Lacs Lake, The hotel has a main lodge with bar, restaurant and pool. There are several options to choose from.
There are lodge rooms that are basic hotel rooms, but some do have a nice screened porch overlooking the lake. The rooms are standad and are nothing too special.
The next option are the cabins, they are a bit old, but they do have a certain Minnesota lake charm about them. The bad news is they don't have complete kitchens.
The next option are the new villas - well worth the price with patios, fireplaces and complete kitchens.
The resort offers full lake options of canoes, boats, pantoons and paddle boats. There is so much to do. The grounds are beautiful and most of the staff is great. There are a lot of local college kids who work here who have youthful energy and pride, there is a willingness to please. However we did find the older front desk staff to be very unfriendly and very unhelpful. We stay here each summer and each time there is some problem with what was booked and what we are given. It seems each summer at check in you have to fight the uncaring front desk. However once in, it's a wonderful place to stay.
The restaurant is great and I urge you to try the fresh blueberry pancakes - outstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

This was our 6th stay over a 30 year span - and with the family growing the cottages were becoming small. This year they opened 8 - 3 bedroom 'villas' keeping with the log home feel - but with all the new features other resorts are now offering - fireplaces, in room refrigerators, a full kitchen in the main room - plasma TV with DVD and Cable, whirlpool bath in the master, huge walk in shower (for 2) . Overall the offerings were better that we were expecting. The kitchen stocking(pots, pans, utensils were on the light side so if you are looking to do fancy cooking you may want to bring more pots and pans.

The rest of the resort has not changed, a great duo of golf courses, the MAP plan is optional with the villas so we only ate there once - but ws a great as we remembered.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WeloveB-Bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2004

We loved the beautiful grounds, the main lodge, both golf courses, the indoor pool, and all the scheduled activities (water skiing, bingo, talent show). They even built a fire for us in one of the outdoor fire pits and provided skewers for our marshmallows. We stayed in the golf condos accross the street and my only complaint was that I was nervous letting the kids cross by themselves. Cars seemed to drive anywhere between 30 and 50mph on that road. The condos were fully equipped which allowed us to cook all our breakfasts and lunches to save money. The layout was kind of funky. The bottom floor had a kitchen, living room with sleep sofa, and one bedroom with a bath. The second floor had it's own locking door and was just one big bedroom with 2 double beds and a single sleep sofa (chair) and one bath. Units were very clean. They also have condos at Bay Point but that is at least 2 miles from the main lodge. The cabins were scattered along the waterfront.

1  Thank frozenfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2004

The fourth generation of the Ruttger family continue to provide the best resort experience in Minnesota.
The resort's grounds are beutiful, the cabins are clean, the food is outstanding, the golf is great and the beach is very nice.
Don't miss out on this resort!

2  Thank ptbanda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerwood
24.1 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
23.8 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
455 reviews
18.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
16.8 mi away
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
21.9 mi away
Grand View Lodge
Grand View Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nisswa
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge

Address: 25039 Tame Fish Lake Rd, Deerwood, MN 56444-8544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Deerwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Deerwood
Price Range: £67 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet side of the Brainerd Lakes area, this family-run resort is the oldest continually owned family resort in the state of Minnesota. The Ruttger family has been welcoming guests to the shores of Bay Lake for 120 years. The property is open between April and November. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruttger`s Bay Lake Hotel Deerwood
Ruttgers Bay Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing