We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food with an Up North Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Deerstand

The Deerstand
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Deerwood
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food with an Up North Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my dad's birthday here on a Wed night, which was senior night, where they had 7 meals for $9.99 ea. We stopped by the bar first for happy hour drinks and appetizers. We had excellent cheese curds, spinach dip and chicken dummies. For our dinner courses we tried BBQ ribs, chicken oscar, French dip sandwich and a deluxe homemade pizza. All entrees were tasty, but the ribs won the "best of the night" award! They allowed us to bring in a birthday cake which we shared with the staff. In the past, we have had problems with service, but our waitress was excellent and did a great job! Thank you for making it a memorable night!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

A great place to eat. Great food, great value. Good steaks and ribs. . . . . . . . . . . ,. , , , , , , ,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler123572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The place for Walleye!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A local couple recommended the Deerstand for Walleye, a menu goal during our trip to Minnesota. There were several choices and all four of us enjoyed our meal of Walleye, each cooked in different styles, with wild rice, of course, and a nice side salad. The server was friendly and efficient and the manager (owner) came to our table, offered to take pictures and afterwards brought a yummy chocolate dessert to the table for us to share. A favorite dining experience of our two-week trip and one of the reasons we prefer non-chain, moderately-priced restaurants when traveling. The place was packed on a Wednesday night, so obviously a favorite of other travelers and locals as well. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doni137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice dinner last night at the Deerstand. It was nearly full on a Monday with much of the crowd enjoying a casual game of bar bingo with dinner. The pan fried walleye was wonderful, served with a baked potato and side salad. Others in our group had the strip steak special, served with side salad or chicken tortilla soup, fries or baked potato and green beans - all for about $14. A full bar is available.

The service was friendly, efficient and knowledgable. The up north ambiance with knotty pine and wildlife was pleasant and the noise level was quiet enough to carry on a conversation even with the bingo going on. All in all, a nice evening that would have been even better if we'd won at bingo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Deerstand also viewed

 

Been to The Deerstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing