We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Crichton's Kitchen - CLOSED

Crichton's Kitchen
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a Cafe Bistro opened in 2012, in Wellesley Road Methil Fife Scotland. We seat 30 and have additional outdoor seating for the warmer months. We pride ourselves on cooking only the freshest local food. We are open 7days a week.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I got a light breakfast and milkshake delivered this morning it was disgusting! This is not the first time either. Beans tasted cheap so did sausage, bacon was brick hard and toast was soggy! Egg was crispy and was not good either definitely Not worth the £7.10 I paid, what a rip off! My son also did not like milkshake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephGrimessmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC1972leven, Owner at Crichton's Kitchen, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Steph

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
Although it is a negative comment, we appreciate all comments, as you are a valued customer, and comments will help us try harder to improve things.
I'm sorry you and your son didn't rate your breakfast delivery.
This is a service which many people use and love, but apologies for yours being sub standard.
Have you tried a breakfast inside the bistro? All our items are top quality butcher meat etc, not cheap low quality food.
I don't want to come across like I'm making excuses, but maybe we should look into maybe putting the toast in another type of container, one which doesn't steam and make the toast soggy...
So apologies from myself for you not enjoying your meal, I hope it doesn't stop you from using us again.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

lovely place to go for breakfast staff are so nice and helpful and cant do enough for u the place its self is very clean and there breakfast are so filling you go in hungry and come out full its my kind of place well done to all the staff for such a good experience will be back again and again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC1972leven, Owner at Crichton's Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you Helen for your wonderful review on Crichton's Kitchen.
We try our best to serve the community with fresh wholesome food, and I'm glad you also noticed the cleanliness of the bistro.
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your visit, and we all welcome you and you're family back anytime.
Thank you
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb steak dinner”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Went to Crichton's kitchen today while visiting relatives had the most delicious steak dinner, excellent service and very friendly staff. If you are ever in Methil in Fife you should pay them a visit very large assortment of meals that everyone could find something they liked from full breakfasts to an excellent steak dinner, also do a variety of rolls, cakes etc well worth a visit. They also do home delivery if your local.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley_20114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC1972leven, Owner at Crichton's Kitchen, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hiya
Im very thankful for you're excellent review on us.
Always good to hear that our customers enjoyed their visit so much, and we hope to see you all back again soon.
Be sure to tell all you're friends...
Thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly enjoyable well worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Having heard good reports Decided to jump in the car and travel the 7 mile for the famous cooked breakfast lovely wee place spotlessly clean breakfast was excellent and not swimming in grease like most places service was quick and friendly excellent quality of food too highly recommended definitely be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missdee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC1972leven, Owner at Crichton's Kitchen, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi there
Thanks very much for jumping in the car and travelling especially to try us out.
That means a lot. I'm glad people are talking about us in a positive way, it really is the best type of advertisement, word of mouth, Facebook also helps.
Even better is the fact that you enjoyed you're meal so much.
We hope to see you back again soon.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methil, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Without a doubt the best place in the area for breakfast amd their meals are top notch and of a great standard for the prices

Helpful?
Thank thehewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidC1972leven, Owner at Crichton's Kitchen, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review on the bistro.
We try our best to serve quality produce at fair prices.
We will be making some exciting changes to the bistro in the near future, and we hope to see you back, and we welcome any comments or feedback you may have.
Thank you
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crichton's Kitchen also viewed

Methil, Levenmouth
Methil, Levenmouth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing