We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is a family tradition for us and our 17 and 27 year olds would not miss going every year!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hideaway on Island Lake
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a perfect location if you want to be able to go to the larger communities, Itasca State Park, and Tamarrac Wildlife Refuge. It is a resort that brings back childhood memories and the fishing is great! We wouldn't miss our summer week.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMUELLER100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway on Island Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

While we knew the cabin was rustic we did not expect everything to fall off the shelves and into the toilet every time we closed the door. The grass was not mowed or the garbage collected for the first week we were there which invited tons of mosquitos & biting flies. the private dock was chocked with weeds and a dead fish. The worst by far was the gnawing we could here in the walls all night & 3 days before our checkout we were woken to bats flying around inside the cabin. Needless to say we spent the rest of the night in the car. We checked out early because of the bats and were offered no apology or refund of the remaining days of our stay. We were told "oh that happens often, you just have to watch out for them". It was a vacation from hell! We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I also don't agree with the poor review by DustBunny. The Hideaway is not a modern resort. At all. They never say that they are. The ammenities are clean and in good repair. Myself and my family stayed at cabin #6 which is by far, the most...we'll call it,"rustic" of all of the cabins. It was absolutely NOT fancy. But, it was clean, it had a working kitchen and bathroom with hot and cold running water. You had your own campfire pit, barbeque and boat dock. All for only $90 a night. Yeah, the cabin was old and the floor slanted way to one side but, who cares? It's a little cabin in the woods 10 feet from the lake. They don't "expect you to clean" like DustBunny says, they ask that you leave the place as you found it. Wash your dishes, and make sure your trash is thrown out. It's really not all that unheard of. The staff was VERY friendly and considerate, They quickly learned my 3 year old daughter's name AND nap time and made a point to try and not do any noisy work by our cabin at those times. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay-not a 5 star luxury resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristianeFolliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was rather put out by the above comment from dust bunny. Sadly this person over looked one of the most important experiences of a lake vaca and that is famIly! The Hideaway is a great place to get away. While rustic, the cabins are as clean as one would expect for a fishing cabin and if an issue needs addressed the owners are always more than accommodating. She refers to her disgust with the "unraveled" rope between the logs, however if she would have asked she may have found out that it is in fact bear fur, which we find rather cool and only adds to the ambiance of this rustic adventure! The fishing is great as well,and we always have plenty of fish to take home to Ohio! Please do NOT pass up this great family vacation based on someone's opinion that was anticipating a turndown service and chilled wine in the fridge. Come and enjoy this awesome cabin experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCBoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We made the mistake of choosing this resort for our fall getaway and ended up in Cabin #1. It was a far cry from "completely modern" as it was described in their website. I would give it a zero rating if it were possible. We felt grubby the whole time we stayed there, and my alergies were in full swing. The bedrooms are a nightmare--its hard to sleep when your head is inches away from filth, not to mention holes that bugs can crawl in through. The log walls of the bedroom are chinked with some sort of dirty/dusty fibers---like someone unraveled a thick rope to stuff between the logs. The walls themselves need a good scrubbing with a power washer. You can look outside between the spaces where the fibers didn't fill. The second bedroom has dusty burlap bags poked between the sheetrock wall and the log wall. The rest of the cabin and furnishings are old, but quaint. You must clean the cabin before you leave (would be smarter to clean it when you first get there)...which may indicate how much the owners hate cleaning. That said, having the lake right at the back door and the view from the cabin is outstanding--but the bedrooms make the $120 per night off-season rates highway robbery. Who can enjoy your stay if you are afraid to sleep at night and have to do major cleaning before you can even get settled in? Don't bother with this one unless you are fishermen or hunters and love to rough it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustbunny247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit Lakes hotels
16.7 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#3 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
237 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland House
Best Western Plus Holland House
#2 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
58 reviews
17.0 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
27 reviews
17.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway on Island Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway on Island Lake

Address: 25574 E Island Lake Road, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-8106
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Detroit Lakes
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing