We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Holland House
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great room, good price. The Breakfast was ok. The eggs were kind of rubbery, but the ham and the rest of the breakfast was convienant, tasted good, and was well presented. Very good for what the price was.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Nice location, best "free" breakfast at any hotel we've ever stayed at. Clean rooms, nice updated décor, lobby was inviting and nice with movies to watch in your room, games, two pc stations, nice comfy lounge area with hot water and tea selection and fruit bowl and coffee. Very comfortable bed. We got a king room in the part connected to the lobby as we didn't care to stay in the pool building as we had to get up by 3:00 am

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a nice room and did not hear all the noise out side as they was working on the road.. all was good for us, just wish we would of had time for the pool... the breakfast was very good the coffee was to die for and the bed in our room was comforty... we will be more then willing to stay again...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank donnab458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our second stay at this property, and each experience has been wonderful. Pool area is clean, with a lot of seating, including a balcony level. Breakfast is delicious, with plenty of options. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here multiple nights, twice now. Both times, rooms were super clean, modern decorating --- I think it's been recently remodeled. Customer service is great, very attentive to needs. I stay here whenever I'm in DL for work.

Room Tip: I love the fact that I can back my car up to my door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I usually stay here when I'm in Detroit Lakes. The rooms modern, well kept, and very comfortable. Overall it's pretty quite (sometimes there is a little train noise), the beds are comfortable, the internet is usually fast enough to stream videos. The staff is always friendly, and very helpful, I've always enjoyed my stay. However, sometimes in the summer, they require you to book more than one night, at inflated 'summer rates.' I understand, it's a lake town, but I'm traveling for work in the hospitality business, usually on weekends, and sometimes on holidays. Having to buy block days, at inflated rates just doesn't make sense for me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Customer service was terrible. For some odd reason they decided it was acceptable to have a kids birthday party, unsupervised my management. This resulted is screaming kids all day in and out of the pool area, running up and down the halls - Completely unprofessional. When we complained, they acted as if this wasn't the case. When we finally got into the pool (which was the main reason for staying here) it was the evening and there were more kids running and screaming, unacceptable. You need wrist bands to use the poor, nothing short of outrageous and then when you check in they don't even give them to you. Had to return and ask for them later on.

Rooms were very nice, however some smell of I don't know what. The hotel was pretty much empty when we stayed, I would hate to see this place when it's full. Overall overrated and not worth the price. The worst stay in all of the hotels on this trip and this was the most expensive.

Many of us don't want our holiday ruined by children with parents who throw them in the pool for hours with no supervision, perhaps management should realize this.

Will not return.

Room Tip: Top floor is better if you like a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit Lakes hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#3 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
27 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Holland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Holland House

Address: 615 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Holland House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Holland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Holland House Hotel Detroit Lakes
Best Western Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Best Western
Best Western Holland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing