We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lakeside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Sartell
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeside Inn”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I had excellent service our entire weekend stay.
We got rooms through IHG points. We booked online and it said we were going to get two standard rooms. We ended up with a King Suite on the 3rd floor, and a King whirlpool room, beachside. Wow! We couldn't have been happier with our accommodations.
There were paddle boats and kayaks for guests to use, and rental pontoons and boats.
We watched many "locals" come and go for supper, and to meet friends and family. Great location! We were told that the Holiday Inn is the only "boat-in" property on the lake.

Room Tip: We had a beach-side room. It had a beautiful view on the main level. It was very loud after bar cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Jessie K, thank you for such a wonderful review. We do have a great hotel right on the lake with over 700 feet of beautiful sand beach. It's also a great place for a winter get-a-way with hundreds of miles of groomed snowmobile trails and Detroit Mountain ski area is opening up this winter with a terrain park and cross country ski trails. Thank you again for the nice review.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    54
    21
    13
    12
See reviews for
75
56
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Beds are very comfortable. Nice water pressure in the shower. Great location right on the shore of Detroit Lake--has a great seating area outside.
Downside is that it is a bit dated. A/C is very loud in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rs-cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
re-cate, thank you for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor community. We do have a great location with one of the best beaches and patios in the area and all the toys to go with it. That said, we went through an extensive remodel about 5 years ago and are continually working to keep our property clean, fresh and updated. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your continued patronage.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My DH & I stayed here in July. We loved our room, facing the water with a nice little balcony. The room was quiet, spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We also enjoyed the live music at the outdoor bar. Fun setting. The downside, the elevator was horribly dirty and the hallways were dirty also. Not sure why the housekeeping in the public areas is so bad.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Water facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you Marsig for providing some very nice comments as well as some valuable feedback for us from a guests perspective. We have addressed the areas of concern and look forward to your future patronage, we appreciate your business.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Detroit Lakes holiday Inn for two nights while attending a high school reunion. The views of Big Detroit Lake were wonderful, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very polite, accommodating and attentive. The beach area was very nice and well maintained. But there is no place in the room to comfortably sit and read or relax and the beach area outside the room was fairly noisy until almost midnight. Our overall impression of the stay was mixed. I think the Lodge and Lake Detroit is a better alternative for the money with more spacious rooms and quieter outside in the evening. But, while on the lake, the beach area at the Lodge on Lake Detroit is not as nice as the Holiday Inn's. So stay at the Holiday Inn if you have small children who want to swim and play at the beach.

Room Tip: Stay here if you don't mind staying up late and if you will not do much reading or relaxing in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandjoan124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
bobandjoan124, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have made every attempt to provide an environment for people to enjoy "lake living" without the cost of ownership. On the positive side we have an awesome beach and are also busier because we have so much to do (kayaks, canoes, paddle boards, bikes, etc.) which means there are more people having fun and... on the downside, making more “noise” than at the other properties. We will continue to strive for the right "balance". Thank you again for your feedback.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel has four choices for a wheelchair accessible room. Some lake view, some beach side, ours was a king bed room in the back, no view, but a bit less expensive and nice and dark for sleeping. Good sized room, had decent turning radius on one side of the bed. The Bathroom was large and had great handrails. The shower seat was at the opposite end from the controls so you have to set up the water before transferring. Concrete construction so it's very quiet. Room as a fridge and microwave. You can walk to Zorbas in 25 minutes or take the shuttle. We ate twice at the hotel and it was good, we also spent Saturday night in the hotel bar, danced to the live bad till 1AM, had a great time.

Detroit Lakes on the 4th of July, shoot off fireworks from a barge in the middle of the lake, spectacular! Very busy weekend people everywhere. No deals to be had this weekend, hotel was top dollar, even Zorbas charged a $10 cover.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Denise-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jim-Denise,
Thank you for providing such a comprehensive, positive review. Sounds like you had a great time during a very busy time of the year for us. Next time make sure you check out the paddle boats, canoes/kayaks or bikes, free to guests for the first two hours every day.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Holiday Inn only honored the online price quoted of 159 per night for the first 2 nights of our stay, then increased the price of our room to 229. Not cool, front desk manager on duty was not helpful saying go get your email confirmation and bring it to me, Im sure he is aware the email confirmation didn't list any prices on it, simply a reservation number my name butchered and the nights I had reserved. On top of this , this is the worst food we have ever eaten at a restaurant affiliated with a holiday inn. The breakfast is a plate of grease, 2nd year we've tried to eat on location, horrible to say the least with a 45 min wait for food. FOOD SUCKED, Service sucked. Our first day of trying to enjoy the beach, their crew came driving down the beach with a backhoe right into the swimming area kids were playing in. Then he proceded to get it stuck , all the while we are all moved up to the grass loaded with dog poop waiting for them to leave! They get the back hoe stuck in the kids swim area water, they bring a pickup in to pull out the backhoe and spin sand at us from the back tires, which they inturn also get stuck in the sand. This was over a 2 hour ordeal of our beach time. So ridiculous!! Be warned any major holiday they will jack the price of your room regardless what the onine price states and over the phone. I confirmed online and over the phone and was charged 70. additional per night on the 3rd and 4th!! There was one good thing, the woman in housekeeping was exceptional, lightening speed to take care of any needs! She should go work at the lodge!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sobetraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug_Anselmin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sobertraveler2014,
I apologize that we that we did not meet your expections on your recent stay with us. As you had numerous issues, and I need additional information, I would like the opportunity to discuss them with you personally. If you would be willing to contact me at the hotel toll-free, 877-847-2121, I would like to work out some sort of resolution with you. Thank you for your feedback.
Douglas Anselmin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The restaurant inside the hotel has poor service and mediocre food. We waited 40 min for our appetizer to show after ordering. The waitress also forgot to place the order for one of the meals. I would avoid ordering the bruschetta unless you like iceberg lettuce and soggy bread.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BootStomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear BootStomper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Lodge on Lake Detroit
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
0.4 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#8 of 10 in Detroit Lakes
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
19.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
24.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes

Property: Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Address: 1155 Highway 10 E, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Detroit Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the north shore of beautiful Big Detroit Lake. The hotel has one hundred and three sleeping rooms. There is a seven hundred foot stretch of sandy beach and free docking facilities available for our summertime guests to enjoy. We are adjacent to miles of beautifully groomed snowmobile and cross-country ski trails. Our indoor recreation center offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, Sauna, video arcade and fitness center. Our outdoor amenities include children's playground, picnic area, bicycles, kayaks, canoes and paddleboats. We also offer pontoons and fishing boats for rent at our marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes Hotel Detroit Lakes
Detroit Lakes Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing