We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bookers Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Pointe Resort
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Whitewater, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bookers Beware”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Be advised that they charge a booking fee that they do NOT disclose up front. If you cancel your reservation, even with 24+ notice, they will nick you for $50. It is a lovely area, but with the challenges of traveling up north in the winter, beware of booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We appreciate every guest stay and believe that each and every experience with us should be all positive. We apologize that your expectations were not met, and if you’ll give us the chance, we would like to try and make it right. Please contact the General Manager Chris Gaylord through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    72
    44
    32
    15
See reviews for
113
168
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a weekend with 7 friends to ski and hangout. This was great because each couple had their own bedroom and bathroom AND there was ample common living room/kitchen space to hang out together. We loved it!! Underground heated garage parking much appreciated during winter in Duluth! 3 BR penthouse was so spacious with full kitchen, comfortable king beds, nice linens and pillows, Jacuzzi tubs, beautiful views, full kitchen. And the heated pool and hot tub were great amenities. We will be booking here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nea4pipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it when our guests reach out to everyone to tell them about Beacon Pointe Resort. We pride ourselves in the quality of hospitality service that we provide and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My impression of Beacon Pointe - albeit after just one stay - is that it is a vacation property that doesn't quite know what it wants to be when it grows up. Although titled as a "luxury" "resort," as far as I could tell there were no resort amenities on the property, leaving a solidly average condominium complex (that could be great with some work) in a super location.

The location and views of Lake Superior are incredible. Each morning's sunrise was stunning. I was skeptical whether a view of the lake is really an amenity in the frozen winter, but I was wrong. One could pass the entire day watching the ice flows and crashing waves. The room itself was spacious and had ample amenities - hot tub, full kitchen etc. But there were also some significant drawbacks.

First, the walls are paper thin. We heard everything, including the crying baby, in the next room. We asked to move the next day, which the staff readily accomodated. But even then we could still hear conversations next door. Second, the housekeeping was poor to average. Our first room was simply not cleaned very well. There were crumbs on the floor and we had to wipe out the hot tub before wanting to get in. It was not terrible, but it was certainly not good or to luxury hotel standards. Daily housekeeping was no better. The attempt at making the bed looked, as an earlier reviewer said, like a child's first attempt and the floors clearly had not been swept or vacuumed. Third, the air conditioners in both rooms had been disabled, likely because it was winter in Minnesota. But without them the thermostat read in the high seventies for hours after using the hot tub. Finally, the beds and linens were dated and subpar. All of this is forgivable, even expected, at an economy property, but harder to overlook at a "luxury" property that Beacon Pointe advertises itself as.

The lake is the attraction, and I would not rule out returning to Beacon Pointe. However, the decision to return could have been made a lot easier with some higher maintenance standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenyon, mn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

it was a very quiet place to stay. the views are incredible. the room was very nice even though the bedspread was very dated. the continental breakfast wasn't bad, but could've been a little more expansive. would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked a room here a year in advance…we were so excited to stay here. The property is beautiful but the carpet in our room was beyond disgusting. I have never seen anything so dirty and stained. Really….I can't believe they could accept guests into such a visibly dirty space. There were no glasses or cups in our room and we there was no refrigerator as advertised. The staff was friendly, but the service was terrible. They never made up our room and when we told the about it, they just pulled up the covers and tossed the pillows on top of the bed. It looked like a child's first attempt at bed making. I can't believe we paid well over $100 per night for this and waited for a year to stay there. Sure wish I read the reviews first. It is a shame that such a beautiful property is so poorly maintained.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless it gets a make-over and new management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marketmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. As is common in the hospitality business furnishings and carpet do take a lot of abuse. We are happy to say we are doing some major updating this fall to keep our property the best in town. This includes a new breakfast area, new bedding, paint and carpet, among other things. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Was looking for a non-chain hotel to stay with my wife while visiting family for thanksgiving. Room was lovely and quiet. Top-floor penthouse suite living room had a awesome vista of Lake Superior with the lift bridge and downtown Duluth lights off to the side. Suite had a small fridge and microwave, and a jacuzzi-style tub also with a view of the lake. The bedroom had a not-so-awesome view of the I-35 offramp, but closing the shade made that problem go away. No highway noise, much to my surprise! We'll probably stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor penthouses have a great view of the lake and big windows to enjoy it. Go up if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Front Office Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comment about your recent vacation at Beacon Pointe Resort. We hope the memories you made here last a lifetime – or at least until you come for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again at Beacon Pointe Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The location of this place is worthy of a 5-Star rating, but several other items do detract from the overall rating. The mattress in our king-bed room showed two very noticeable "body-divots", the carpet was old and bubbled in a couple of locations, the bathroom appeared somewhat recently renovated, but the vanity countertop was low and the towels looked worn. The room was not overly large, and the fact that there was a table and other furnishings in the room made the room seem cramped, even more so with two suitcases in the room. The underground parking was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasoned_Traveler084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy M, Manager at Beacon Pointe Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, it is our goal that every guest experiences a level of service and accommodations that exceeds expectation and we apologize to you for not meeting that goal. If you’ll give us the opportunity to make this right for you, you may contact the General Manager Chris through the resort’s “Contact Us” web page. We would appreciate hearing from you directly and encourage you to get in touch. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.4 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
489 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
246 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Pointe Resort

Property: Beacon Pointe Resort
Address: 2100 Water St, Duluth, MN 55812-2134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Pointe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacon Pointe accommodations are the finest in Duluth. Options include condos with fully-appointed kitchens, balconies, fireplaces, and separate sleeping quarters. Also available are penthouse suites with roof-top balconies, lakeside suites, and guest rooms. Whether seeking adventure or decompression, Beacon Pointe Resort is the perfect base for your Duluth experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beacon Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Pointe Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing