We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly snooty and borderline rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fitger's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fitger's Inn
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Valley, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overly snooty and borderline rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We inquired about a room at the front desk and were basically laughed at. The price on trip advisor was different than their actual prices. No problem. However, when we casually mentioned the difference an employee (who was not who we were speaking with) shouted in our direction, "We've never had rooms for that price! Hahaha." The first woman helping us was kind and polite. We might have stayed if not for the snooty comments. Taking our money elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Awodarcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at Fitger's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Awodarcz,

Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for the misunderstanding you had with my staff on Wednesday. We certainly did not mean to come off as snooty or rude, however the rate your were telling us you saw for Fitger's Inn was not accurate, and we were trying to correct the situation.

We do not list our room rates with Trip Advisor or any other travel site. The only rates that are publicly available for Fitger's Inn are on our own website at www.fitgers.com, so unfortunately the $74 rate you were indicating you saw posted on Trip Advisor, was not possible.

It is certainly possible that you may have been confused with the Edgewater as they are currently offering rooms at that rate through Trip Advisor, and listed alphabetically, Fitger's is listed next on the list.

I am very sorry for the misunderstanding that led you to post this review. If you would like to discuss this issue further, or like to visit Fitger's Inn in the future, please contact me at 218-722-8826.

Jim Makitalo - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    81
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
172
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Fitger's Inn is a hotel placed in the original Fitger's Brewing building and it holds all the charm and old fashion appeal that we really enjoy. Extremely comfortable, beautiful views of Lake Superior, a wonderful pillow service and great shops and restaurants within the same building. Favorite place to stay when we visit Duluth and we do it often

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingChicks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed a night in a lake view room and it was lovely. One tip is to make sure your curtains are open so that you can see the beautiful sunrise on the lake. We were upgraded to a lake view room, but if we went back I would pay to reserve the lake view-- it is totally worth the money!

I was pleasantly surprised by how historic and charming the Inn was. They've kept it in very good shape while maintaining the history of the building, and it was fun to wander through the shops and restaurants in the attached complex (as our trip was in January, it was even nicer that it was all connected by indoor walkways). The ladies at the front desk were also very helpful when we asked about things to do around Duluth.

Definitely worth a stay if you're travelling to or through Duluth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Awesome shuttle service . Service awesome in general. But kind of a mix on "luxury" elements. (I'm SPG gold and spend 20+ nights a year in hotels, often westin). Although very clean, Lakeside "luxury" king was showing wear and tear...worn carpets that were luxurious a decade ago. Desk and side tables were cheap plastic veneer that was worn off the edges--tacky. Bed linens worse quality than Sheraton. Bed was worn down too, not that comfortable. Bath linens were great, Aveda products always appreciated, and turbo powered hair dryer great. Duluth hotels are so expensive for certain times of year, the options are very limited, so this is on par with the other nice hotels I think, what can you do. The view is awesome and the location and shuttle service are outstanding . I would stay again, but won't expect luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnesota_margot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frontenac
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Two decades after our honeymoon, we returned to Fitger's Inn in Duluth for a celebratory trip. From the moment we opened the front door to the moment several days later when we left, we were in good hands. There's free valet parking, though tipping is not forbidden. Our room on the lakeside provided breathing-taking views of Lake Superior at its best---a constantly changing window of sun and shadow and motion where ore-boats appeared and disappeared into the fog by day and, at night, turned into island cities of light that seemed to float in the darkened sky. We received coupons for $10 off dinner at the Midi Restaurant, browzed the shops and the brew pup, but mostly spent time in our room thoroughly enjoying the gifts of the occasion. Our room was spotless, quiet and with a little re-arranging provided wonderful view of "Big Blue". Because it was very cold outside, the large window which drops below the heating unit provided a "drop in cooler" which kept beverages cold without freezing.
We hope to return soon when the temperature is above zero so we can enjoy board walk excursion into downtown Duluth. If you care about the way the history and care intersect to produce "quality", Fitger's Inn is a premiere destination in Duluth. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra dollars to stay on the lakeside; ask for AAA/AARP or commercial discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I didn't know what to expect but it turned out to be a wonderful experience as the staff were helpful, especially helping locate my misplaced credit card. The room was beautiful and all the amenities were perfect. The Inn was centrally located to plenty of restaurants and attractions and is only a 15-minute walk along the Lakewalk from Canal Park and all it attractions. Won't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper_gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We've stayed at Fitger's several times. Each time, we're impressed with the service and the property itself. The hotel was developed in the building that originally housed Fitger's Brewery, and a great deal of attention was paid to maintaining the historically significant parts of the building. Rooms are clean, quiet, and very comfortable. Sleep is never an issue - the beds are very comfortable. The property also houses a restaurant, a brewery, a brew pub, and a host of shops. We've stayed in several different rooms and suites. All are fantastic.

Room Tip: Views of Lake Superior are awesome, but don't panic if they only have city-side rooms - ALL of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1031dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
1.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.7 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitger's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitger's Inn

Property: Fitger's Inn
Address: 600 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-2222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitger's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored to faithfully maintain the architectural integrity of the early 1900's and gracing the shore of majestic Lake Superior, this premiere historic hotel is located within the renovated Fitger's Brewery, and is listed on the National Register. Feel pampered by classic European-style service, gracious hospitality, fine cuisine, and luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms and suites boast a wide array of character and personality. Many of the amenities available include balconies, fireplaces, skylights, whirlpool tubs for two, multiple windows, split-levels, 16-foot ceilings and spectacular views of the water. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast daily in the privacy of the original board room. The large complex is also home to three great restaurants, two night clubs, a micro brewery, day spa and salon, and many unique retail shops. In addition, the convenient downtown location offers direct access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fitger's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitger`s Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Hotel Duluth
Fitgers Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing