We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olcott House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Duluth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
91
9
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
9
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese fruitus feel at homeb bsamazing houseweekend stayretreat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2010

When we travel we always try to stay in a B&B because we like the personal attention you get. The Olcott House lived up to our expectations. The house is located in a residential area of Duluth that was "the place to live" when the industrial barons were building their gracious homes. The Olcott house is one of these homes. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. You have a sense of total privacy and quiet. It reminded us of some wonderful B&B's we have stayed in in England. The cooked breakfast was creative, not your run of the mill breakfast, and it was served in a charming dining room. There was wine and cheese out when we arrived in the late afternoon and David, the innkeeper, was helpful with directions and ideas as to how to spend our time in Duluth. Overall, we had a great stay. We will return to the Olcott House.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodfan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Olcott House! First of all, the house was amazing. It felt as though I was stepping back in time. It's beautifully decorated and the history that the owners David & Jerry told was fascinating. The food was incredible! I felt extremely welcome and completely at home. I have been to bed and breakfasts that were so stuffy and uncomfortable that I never wanted to leave my room. That was not the case at all here. We were welcome to roam the house and enjoy the gorgeous deck as well as the beautiful landscaping. We stayed in the East Wing Suite, it was huge and the bed was so comfortable. I could not have had a better experience. I'm already asking my hubby when we get to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isabella_8326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Good things first...

Food was excellent. Waitstaff was polite and capable.
Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.
interior of the home was nice and comfortable and furnished with nice period antiques.

Now for the bad....

We could not get in when we arrived (at approx. 6 PM) despite walking around the house twice and knocking and ringing the doorbells. We finally had to call one of the owners on the phone.

I had to fix our toilet, which would not stop running.

The water in the shower alternated between too hot and too cold and was impossible to regulate.

The light next to our bed was broken and the only way to turn it off was to unscrew the bulb.

The television is a 12" computer monitor which is like trying to watch a movie on an Ipod.

Although the Olcott House and the B&B across the street are in nice shape, adjoining properties are multi-family rentals and are starting to look a little run down. The house directly across the street had a pair of car rims in the yard and a beat up taxi was usually parked out front. While we were waiting to be let in we heard someone across the street shouting profanities at someone else.

Despite the Olcott Welcome book advising that street shoes are OK, you are asked (and advised by a sign at the door) to remove your shoes at the door so most guests are barefoot at the breakfast table (not the most appetizing thing in the world)

You are also told that the doors must be locked whenever you enter or exit (the doors are not self locking and need to be locked with a key) This, besides being inconvenient, made me further question the condition of the neighborhood.

One owner, David, was polite and answered our questions, but refused to let us look at the kitchen when we asked (we could see an antique tin ceiling and beautiful wallpaper when the door swung open and were merely curious) We never did see the other owner, Jerry, but were told he was in a bad mood because he didn't like the humidity. All in all, none of our party of four felt particularly welcome but merely tolerated.

If you like beautiful old mansions and want to pay $200 per night for the privilege of staying in one, I would recommend the Olcott House as it is a grand old house, but if you want modern amenities (whirlpool, plumbing that works, bathrooms with counter space and large mirrors, etc.) Your money would be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank copcardrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Based solely on our internet research and the allure of their website, my wife and I decided to take a gamble on the Olcott house...and boy did it pay off! From the graciousness of the proprietors- David & Jerry- to the comfort & elegance of the accommodations, the Olcott House provided everything we were looking for on our vacation. The property, both inside and out, has been impeccably maintained, with particular attention paid towards preserving and celebrating the mansion's- and subsequently Duluth's- rich history.

The weather was characteristically freezing during our visit but the Olcott was always warm & cozy. In fact, although an exploration of a Duluth was our primary objective, we ended up spending quite a good amount of time within the House itself- playing the piano, reading in the parlour/den next to the fireplace, enjoying movies in our room (they have quite an expansive DVD library!) and simply appreciating the vast array of art and historical memorabilia throughout the House.

The owners were very helpful when it came to planning our daily itineraries. They had an extensive knowledge of all the outdoor activity options & directed us to some wonderful restaurants throughout the area. Who knew Duluth has so much going on?!

As for the bed-- the linens, towels, robes, sound permeation and temperature were pure comfort. A discreetly placed flat-screen (w/ cable & DVD player) and omnipresent WiFi access provided modern convenience without disrupting the historically "antique" decor.

And as for the breakfast-- the coffee, tea, snacks and food, etc. would surely excite even the most finicky of palettes.

Veterans of the B&B world in and around New Hope, PA, we'd without hesitation endorse the Olcott House as a getaway experience of the highest order. We've already planned to return this summer-- as much to pursue our burgeoning fondness for the city of Duluth as to treat ourselves to the epicurean splendor that has been nurtured and created at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlejandroJarpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Olcott House last February. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. I felt special in our room as it was so very grand.
I look forward to staying there again. Next time you are in Duluth, stay there!!!


Christine Rosholt
Jazz vocalist and frequent visitor to Duluth

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
Thank christinerosholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews