We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wonder why it was SO cheap.”
Review of Allyndale Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allyndale Motel
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Okay not really cheap, but this was the only "hotel" that was available for us this weekend due to the Grandma's Marathon. 1st. our pressure for our shower was low, so low that the water just tinkled out on you, 2nd- our friend's ( who slept in the next room ) their pressure was so high in the shower, that their skin practically came off. 3rd- our freezer did not keep cool, and 4th- the one thing I will never forget- the breakfast bread had MOLD on it and I even consumed some! The whole loaf, and no one came to check on it/ or change it until I called the lady at the front desk. It was disgusting. Oh yeah, and the beds were very uncomfortable. I normally never take the time to write a review on anything- since I don't have time, but I decided to write one on this motel because of the horrible experience we had. I will NEVER come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Allyndale Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at the motel on Easter weekend while visiting our daughter. We usually stay in Canal park but it's so expensive and for a short visit we didn't want to spend that much money. I found the Allyndale Motel online and we decided to try it for the one night in Duluth. It was one of the cleanest rooms we've ever stayed in, comfortable bed, had everything we needed and the price was right. We'll stay there again and hopefully the snow will be gone so we can do some walking!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My mom and I have stayed at the Allyndale motel a few times, and we always enjoy going back! The woman who runs it is so friendly (and we both share a love of dachshunds!) And she always makes you feel welcome. I have to say that if you are used to pristine brand new hotels, this isn't for you. The rooms are dated, but exceptionally clean. The motel itself is a bit difficult to find at first, but we just called the owner and she gave us step by step directions to get there. The Allyndale offers great rooms at great prices, I highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I like that it is not to far from places I like to go.
A beautiful nature setting for with challenging hiking trails for you pets.
The barbecue grills are a nice anmity for those who find the duluth restaurant
scene tired and redundant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88snowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

You will never regret staying here. The owners are genuine, friendly and hoestly care about you enjoying your stay. They have suites, rooms, grills available and 3 of the cutest little long haired dachshunds to meet as well. Quick to interstate and downtown. Won't find a better value or place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l0renbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This isn't a chain and that is the best part about the Allyndale. The rooms are a little dated, but it lends itself to the "cabin-type" feel of the place. Kind of like being in a cabin but not having to go that rustic. The rooms are comfortable and CLEAN. The people are nice and prices good. We travel with our dogs and they have a great hill to exercise the dogs on. The deer come down there and sleep at night, so the wildlife is very close. You just feel rested after staying here. We've stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are separate from the main building the best.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommasavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My name is Don and I work in Duluth quite frequently and whenever Im there I stay at the Allyndale Motel, Personally I wouldnt stay anywhere else, The Location is great, easy access to the freeway and shopping and to the Duluths sights, The rooms are cozy and clean, theres room to walk outside and do activities like grilling on the property, walk your dog, look at wildlife that come through the area like deer, Some coworkers and I even had a fishfry while we were there! The owners Chuck and Suzanne have 3 dachshunds that are just adorable, I have a dachsund I have to leave at home when I travel, very friendly accomodating people run this Motel, Bottomline, Just a Down to Earth, Cozy, Relaxing place to stay, Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have kitchenettes in them with a table and chairs and actually a small kitchen, s...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
4.9 mi away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#25 of 31 in Duluth
358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#4 of 31 in Duluth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Duluth
Super 8 Duluth
#20 of 31 in Duluth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allyndale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allyndale Motel

Address: 510 N 66th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55807-1171
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range: £71 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Allyndale Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, peaceful, 5 acre nature setting. Exceptionally clean rooms, all with cable TV, A/C, refrigerators microwaves, coffee makers and FREE wireless internet. Winter plug-ins. BBQ/Picnic Area. Kitchenettes, Family and Extended Stay Suites available. Large Parking Area for trailers. Continental style breakfast. All rooms Nonsmoking --- Centrally located, minutes from Canal Park,(8), Spirit Mountain,(4), Miller's Hill Mall and Hermantown,(9). Lake Superior walking trail and "Keenes" Creek boarder property. On snowmobile trail connecting to Minnesota and Canadian trails. ________________________________________________________________________________________ The Allyndale Motel includes rooms with: Single queen beds, Doubles, (two queen beds), Single kitchenettes, Double kitchenettes and Family Suites, (queen bed, full bed, twin bed and some have pull out sofa too) and a full size eat in kitchen. Reservation desk is open from 7:00 am till 10:00 pm daily. Cancellations: 24 advance notice, (special events require 3 days. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Allyndale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allyndale Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing