We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Willard Munger Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Pier Inn on the Canal(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
32
30
11
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
30
11
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspirit mountainzoo passesfire pitstate trailmom and pop moteltake advantage of the freefree bikes to ridedouble bedcookie cutterlouis rivercomfortable place to staychain hotelsgreat amenitiesnorth shoreliving roomwould definitely stay here againthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We love this place, especially with all the updates to the rooms and grounds. Very comfortable and peaceful destination with wonderful trails and the St. Louis river nearby. The fresh fruit with the continental breakfast was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here in October of 2011, and really enjoyed biking with the use of the free rental bikes, and walking down by the bay. We also took advantage of the free zoo passes. The cool autumn evening was spent by the fire pit. It was a comfortable place to stay, and we just booked it again for a visit in August. Can't wait to enjoy a little bit of summer in Duluth!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've stayed here twice. It is located in an older, industrial part of town and may look like the Bates Hotel from the outside, but the rooms are quite nice, although not spectacular. What sets this motel apart is its location near a ski area for winters and on a great paved bike trail with FREE bicycles to use to go exploring in warmer seasons. There are also some nice hiking trails, the river, and free passes to the zoo across the street besides all the Duluth attractions. The complimentary breakfast is not elaborate, but saves the price of a restaurant meal. Also, they are pet friendly, have nice grounds, a fire pit, etc. Add to that this is a family run motel with historical roots in Minnesota and they have a friendly staff. It is not your typical cookie cutter chain, but has it's own unique charm. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chl0e48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

First off I admire Willard Munger and what he did for Minnesota. That's the only reason I even looked at this place. What I experienced can only be described as sad. Yes, there is a great "shrine" to Willard in the lobby with some fascinating photos and news articles depicting political greats from years gone by. Yes, the waffle breakfast was good. Yes, our room had a lock and nobody broke in. Here's the bad: even our newly remodeled room looked outdated and awkward, the night clerk (we arrived around 10pm) had the personality of a snake, and our bedsheets were as thread-bare as I've ever seen. The "ski deal" is no good on weekends. But the coupe de gras was this: at 3am the dog in the room next door started growling, barking, and complaining. I have no problem with pets but old motels with paper thin walls should not allow pets. I hope they remodel and high professional management.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidWschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We visited the inn at the end of November. The place was cozy and our suite was very nice. Breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews