We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Place in the World”
Review of Willard Munger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willard Munger Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Greendale Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest Place in the World”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Munger Inn Duluth is my favorite place to say in the world. Okay, the Hilton Daytona Beach does have certain advantages, but for a down-home North Country feel, very clean and comfortable rooms, beautiful Up North surroundings, free waffles that you make yourself, and a super-friendly owner and staff, the Munger Inn is numero uno for your Duluth visit. They have a variety of room types from small basics, to big whirlpool suites, kitchenettes, living rooms, decks, and the list goes on. Plenty of gleaming wood everywhere you look. Their location has ski hills to one side, and biking trails to the other. And where else is a bike rental free? I visit ever year to get away from it all. Doesn't that sound nice?

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the courtyard are very nice. Otherwise, even their basic small room is perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrobby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
29
33
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! It is not the cheapest place, but well worth the few extra dollars! The place has been family-owned for decades and is in a great location with access to the ski hill and tons of walking trails!! Just far enough from downtown Duluth to avoid parking problems and noise, but close enough if you wanted food delivered it's not a problem!
My room, a jacuzzi suite, was clean, comfortable and well-stocked with plenty of towels, a fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, and free wi-fi. Continental breakfast has waffles, french toast, cereals, juices, plenty of hot coffee, and free newspapers all nicely laid out in a window-filled, wood-heated room, and the walls covered with the incredible history of Willard Munger, Sr.
I will be back during the summer weather to take advantage of the free walking trails, bicycles, firepits, and canoes available to guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My family, friends, and I have stayed at the Munger Inn a number of times. It is reasonably priced, offers unique extra's and is owned by a family with a long history of dedication to the environment and bicycling.

Willard Sr. was a long time Minnesota State Legislator and the driving force behind the creation of the Munger Trail: a 74 mile paved trail that goes from West Duluth to Hinkley, Minnesota. It is a gem and not to be missed...

The Inn is at the start of the trail and offers among other things free use of bicycles, a BBQ area, free Zoo passes, and lots of good practical advise. Please do make it a point to talk with Will Jr. about the trail and outdoor activities.

Looking forward to my next stay and bicycling the Munger Trail.

Room Tip: I like the large fireplace suite on the East end of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

For your money, location and accommodations, Willard Munger Inn is your best bet. Rooms are modern, clean and well maintained. The price is right, too. Continental breakfast includes waffles and french toast. Wifi and cable tv and free newspaper everyday. Across from Lake Superio zoo with complimentary tickets, across from Spirit Mountain Skiing, and great hiking on the Munger Trails. Free bikes and canoes are a bonus. And great fishing on the St Louis River. I have stayed here in the spring, summer, fall and winter months. It has always been the best experience. But, the nicest thing is the owners. The Mungers. They and their staff are great people. I will continue to go back.

Candace

Room Tip: Lower unit rooms have private door to deck and grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfagenak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mankato mn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here while skiing at spirit mountain. Quite a pleasant place with the old fashion northwood charm very much reminding me of staying along the north shore in some of the older small resorts years ago. The staff had the room I stayed at extremely clean, much appreciated as I have been staying at some fairly expensive places lately that were just not nearly as nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drake r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My wife and I have been staying at the Willard Munger Inn whenever we visit the North Shore over the last 30 years or so. We've experienced the evolution of the Inn from a basic economical place to stay with minimal amenities to a cabin themed motel that promotes use of the nearby Willard Munger Trail, Spirit Mountain skiing and the Lake Superior Zoo (located just across the street). We've done a fair amount of traveling over the years and it's the only place we've ever stayed where (in the summertime) you can leave the room's window open and hear the lions roaring at the zoo! We've experienced their basic single rooms and most of their suites and have found them all very nice.

For instance, this past weekend we invited another couple to join us and we booked adjacent suites and spent a couple of days visiting our favorite Duluth shops, restaurants and entertainment spots. The weather was cold and rainy, but the Inn was bright, warm and welcoming. The suites were clean, quiet and spacious and, yes, some might say the showers are small but they're certainly adequate.

The owner (Will), his wife and staff were gracious and accommodating. And, as always, it was waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee, orange juice and a Twin City or Duluth Newspaper for breakfast.

We and our guests felt the room rate for a suite was more than reasonable and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This place doesnt look like anything special from the outside, but when checking in the workers were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are remodeled in a cabin like style and are very clean. Comfortable beds, flat screen tv, kitchenettes and some rooms have a deck which is nice if you are staying around your room. You may not be in your room much because of the hiking and biking trails directly behind the inn. The inn also has bicycles and helmets free to use to ride the trails. The host at the inn even offered us free tickets to the zoo which is very close! Breakfast was better then some continental breafasts. The real french toast not just french toast sticks were good with the freshly sliced strawberries. There was more to eat but thats what I had. Also I did enjoy the free newspaper that you get at breakfast. This was a great place to stay at a more than reasonable price for what you get. Location is 5 minutes from attractions downtown like the aerial bridge.Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevensadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
5.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
481 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.0 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#9 of 33 in Duluth
363 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard Munger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard Munger Inn

Property: Willard Munger Inn
Address: 7408 Grand Ave, Duluth, MN 55807-2151
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Willard Munger Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Willard Munger Inn is located right on the Willard Munger State Bicycle Trail, Western Waterfront, and Superior Hiking Trails. We provide complimentary bicycles, canoes, zoo passes and continental breakfast with your stay. Our Inn features 22 units -- from standard economy rooms to suites with decks, fireplaces and whirlpools. Enjoy hiking, biking, fishing, birding, & other activities when you stay at the Willard Munger Inn. Newly remodeled rooms. Large rooms with fireplaces and kitchen studios for groups. Or, relax in one of our whirlpool suites. All of our rooms offer flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, coffee makers with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, refrigerator and microwave. Enjoy conversation and complimentary continental breakfast around our wood-burning stove in the lounge. Or, cozy up around one of our many outdoor firepits. Take in our flower and rock gardens throughout the property. All rooms smoke-free. Pet Friendly designated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Willard Munger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing