We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparse but clean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenwood Resort and Motel
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very sparse on amenities, but a good value for the money. Clean but a bit old. Just not a place to take your wife for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bbruce9789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Gardenwood Resort and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place has a lot of history and charm. Pam and Lee were nothing but generous and kind folk who made the trip even more enjoyable. Every minute I was there, i was enjoying myself. whether I was just staring at the fire or talking to the locals I learned so much and have nothing but good things to say, so I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants an affordable and truly unique experience. THANK YOU PAM AND LEE!!!!! SEE YOU GUYS SOON!

- Michael and Becca

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

If you want a great place to stay where it feels like you are visiting your friends Pam and Lee and not staying at a resort then this is the place for you.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My fiance and I have stayed at Gardenwood many times and each stay is better than the next! Lee and Pam are extremely hospitable and the rates can't be beat. 5 short miles north of Duluth on scenic Highway 61 you are within driving distance to many local attractions. Gardenwood is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagine_peace20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Liked the spot easy to leave and go to. The cabin was cute clean and well equipt. The owners were nice and stated we could stay as long as we wanted to the next day because no one was checking in. They even gave a guest a ride into town cause the taxi didn't show. I would stay again and will on my next trip!!!!!
Jessy of Mankato

Room Tip: I liked cabin # 2 stove top and large fridge and coffee maker Big nice new bed and futon
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We felt very relaxed and at home. The owners are knowledgeable about the area and had recommendations about restaurants that were great to eat at. They also know about activities that are family friendly as well as things that we could do as just a couple. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandakrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our hosts were polite and very accomadating, we arrived on a friday night and left sunday morning and the entire length of our stay was fantastic. The cabin was clean and comfartable. We look forward to visiting again very soon in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doylee16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duluth
16.9 mi away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
439 reviews
10.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
514 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
10.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
14.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Two Harbors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenwood Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenwood Resort and Motel

Address: 5107 N Shore Dr, Duluth, MN 55804-2924
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Duluth
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gardenwood Resort & Motel is located 10 miles from Downtown Duluth, MN on the Scenic North Shore Drive. Our comfortable resort accommodations include 13 cabins and a 4-room motel settled into the woods next door to the McQuade Small Craft Harbor on Lake Superior. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing